We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of United States Holocaust Memorial Museum

United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
100 Raoul Wallenberg Plaza SW, Washington DC, DC 20024 (National Mall)
202-488-0400
Website
Improve this listing
Visit United States Holocaust Memorial Museum like an insider
Special Offer
$78*
and up
Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley...
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A memorial and museum detailing the rise of Hitler's Germany and the horrors of World War II.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very cool experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This museum required a lot of reading. We were pleased to find out it was free (along with everything else in Washington DC, we had just thought there was a fee). The most impactful moment was walking around a corner and seeing the thousands of shoes. It was a very neat museum, unlike any of the others that we visited. Although sad, I enjoyed it.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,999 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,077
    671
    179
    51
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“So much history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Go! You will learn SO much. It is amazing how they have put the timeline into the museum to truly tell a story. Interesting artifacts all throughout the museum and it has definitely changed over the years. It was completely different 10 years ago when I came. I still enjoyed this museum and the history that it was ale to portray.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Hard to get through but powerful history lesson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I had a tough time with this museum, so did my husband. We found ourselves consoling, then being consoled by strangers. I would not recommend for children under 13. My two kids would never have been able to handle this (under 10).

But worth bringing a teenager. The atrocities of mankind are difficult to teach or understand. The Holocaust Memorial was well thought out, executed and factual. I will bring my children here when they are older.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Close at 5:30 pm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This place closes at 5:30pm and they say you need 2 hours to see the three floors. Before boarding the elevator they have IDs of old survivors to take with you on your journey.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“So much information yet not enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This museum was an important stop for me visiting DC. My senior thesis in college focused on the rise and fall of Nazi Germany. There was a lot of information to intake - perhaps a little too much. Many of the artifacts and plaques on the wall I feel could have been left out. It's like they were trying to cram and entire history book into two floors. It was so much information yet they never mentioned certain aspects of the why Holocaust happened - just the how. It could be that I know more information than what they are explaining to people but it seemed that some very important facts were left out of the museum. It is information overload for someone who wouldn't know much about the era. Now, this is one of the few museums with most helpful staff. It has a coat check and the service agents in maroon are super helpful. The gentlemen who puts you on the elevator explained that this is a learning experience and to not take your time would defeat the purpose of visiting. I think everyone (over a certain age) should take the time to visit this museum.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed United States Holocaust Memorial Museum also viewed

 

Been to United States Holocaust Memorial Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.