We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new twist on an old story” 4 of 5 stars
Review of United States Holocaust Memorial Museum

United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
100 Raoul Wallenberg Plaza SW, Washington DC, DC 20024 (National Mall)
202-488-0400
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$39*
and up
Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour
Ranked #7 of 234 Attractions in Washington DC
Type: History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A memorial and museum detailing the rise of Hitler's Germany and the horrors of World War II.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Abu Dhabi
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A new twist on an old story”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Very enjoyable and whilst telling the Holocaust facts it does it in a modern and different way which appeared to appeal to many younger attendees. Another free to entry museum and should be well up on any DC visitors list.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,666
    588
    151
    45
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Presented different to what you think”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Free entry and very well presented facility. Was not on our original plans to vist but glad we did. It is quite moving. There were lots of school kids there and i think this is who the facilities caters for. You have to line up to get in but it moves pretty quickly.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A MUST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Very touching experience, too bad I didn't have enough time to go through everything as calmly as I would like. We were here on a Monday in early June. We arrived at 1:45PM and got a ticket to enter the main exposition from 2:15 to 3:15 (that time is just to enter, you can stay for as long as you would like). During the 30 min we had, we checked out the rest of the museum, it had a very touching temporary exposition about this little boy's story that made me cry. The main exposition has 4 floors and it is just breathtaking: we took 1 1/2 hours to go through it because that was all the time we had but I wished we had allowed double that time. The museum has a great selection, and is well organized. I don't see anyone leaving without reflecting on themselves and the world around them. Highly recommended for all cultures and ages teen and up.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Of course, this museum is meant for visitors to reflect and appreciate the sacrifice of others...it is not "fun" but I was certainly glad that we visited. We arrived just before opening on a rainy day. There was a crowd but the staff was very organized as far as tickets and timing goes so that made the process of entry very smooth! This is full of many exhibits that are not child friendly and they are marked as such, however, the obvious nature of the museum lends itself to older children. I was a little annoyed with the groups of unsupervised school children who would carry on and rough house. That seemed very disrespectful but certainly not the museum's fault!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“an emotional and touching experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

It's an emotional experience! Even if you know a lot about all this tragic episode, you will still learn many things. The permanent exhibit is very well organized. I thought the temporary exhibits were a bit confusing though, without many signs to guide you around.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed United States Holocaust Memorial Museum also viewed

 

Been to United States Holocaust Memorial Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.