We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lincoln Memorial and Reflecting Pool

Lincoln Memorial and Reflecting Pool
2 Lincoln Memorial Cir NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (National Mall)
(202) 426-6841
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$40*
and up
Washington DC Capital Sites Bike Tour
Ranked #2 of 234 Attractions in Washington DC
Type: Monuments/ Statues, Landmarks
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The majesty of Daniel Chester French's 19-foot high statue of Lincoln is complemented by Jules Guernin's 60-foot high murals depicting the Angel of Truth on one side and Fraternity and Charity on another.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Amazing view of the Washington Monument from this end and a must see. The reflecting pool is huge, and so much history to think of when you are there. We had beautiful weather too which really made the day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

7,719 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,871
    1,521
    273
    38
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“What a great tribute to Lincoln”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Start your national mall experience with the Lincoln Memorial and the reflecting pool. It is a great tribute to an important statesman. No words can reflect the magnitude of the architecture.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Defining heritage - a must see.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The view, the location, the structure, the statue, the quotes and photographs; all easy to understand and can be seen fairly quickly. You can take your time, however. Even when it is crowded there is so much space, it welcomes you to stay and contemplate the history and events that added up to this nation making such a statement.

I was surprised that hidden within the memorial for Lincoln was almost a memorial for Martin Luther King and all that he and Lincoln dedicated their lives for. Prior to my visit, I did not realize that one of the stone slabs visitors were casually walking over had a worn out inscription indicating the location of Martin Luther King when he made his famous speech August 28, 1963. Standing on that spot and looking out over the mall, drawing upon my memory of newsreels of his speech had quite an impact on me.

Be sure to go under the memorial to the left as you face it (on the way to the bathroom facilities). There is a room with Lincoln quotes, photographs and other displays. It is not extensive, but packs a lot of information into a ten minute visit. One of the quotes struck me and I will attach a photograph of it. It is as pertinent today as it was when President Lincoln said the words. How far today's government has strayed from his message.

During my visit there seemed to be several bus loads of visitors from Asia, I would guess China. I also heard other languages spoken by groups of visitors. Lincoln and the ideals he set forth have had an impact on the world for generations to come. His memorial really is a "must see".

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very moving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This memorial is very popular, but it is very moving. The look on Lincoln's face is powerful and the words written inside the memorial are even more powerful. I love this memorial very much and the view from the inside is beautiful.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Iconic View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

It doesn't get much better then standing on the steps and looking back at the Washington Monument and The Capitol. Enjoy the statue but also take time to read his words on the walls inside.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lincoln Memorial and Reflecting Pool also viewed

 

Been to Lincoln Memorial and Reflecting Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lincoln Memorial and Reflecting Pool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.