We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lincoln Memorial and Reflecting Pool

Lincoln Memorial and Reflecting Pool
National Mall, Directly west of the Mall in Potomac Park, Washington DC, DC 20242 (National Mall)
202-426-6842
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #3 of 249 attractions in Washington DC
Type: Monuments/ Statues
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The majesty of Daniel Chester French's 19-foot high statue of Lincoln is complemented by Jules Guernin's 60-foot high murals depicting the Angel of Truth on one side and Fraternity and Charity on another.
Michigan
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
84 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is a grand statue. The reflecting pool is wonderful. You can see the washington memorial and the capitol buildings from here.

So we tried to walk to here...we were all the way at the by where the declaration of independence is and we walked to the white house; and then over to the washington monument. From seeing pictures I guess I didn't think it was that far...but let me tell you that this is the farthest of the monuments and we just couldn't do it. We ended up walking all the way back and driving. There is free parking along Ohio drive; other than that there is no where to park and the ohio drive fills up fast!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,748 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,359
    1,117
    219
    35
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lincoln”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

What can anyone say? You stand in front and marvel at the edifice itself and then climb the steps and see the great man himself and tears flow.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“History; Knowledge, Inspiration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Of all the memorials in DC and there are many, this is most likely the best for the grandeur of the statue, for the location above the eflecting pool, looking back out over to Virginia and looking at the Capital across the National Mall area. very view is a beautiful sight no matter what time of year. The most beautiful time may be during Cherry Blossom blooming, but anytime is nice and winter gives a stark beauty of a magnificent city. And everywhere you look are the inscribed words of one of our greatest presidents and thinkers. Inspirational and hope based upon us all coming together and forging a better country

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This place is amazing, we just sat down with the kids and looked over the pool for about an hour. So much history. Try to resist the temptation to yell out "Jenny", we couldn't.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband and I saw this twice during our stay as it is such a beautiful area! We were lucky enough that there was water in the reflecting pool even though it was dirty on the ends. It was great to finally see this place in person!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lincoln Memorial and Reflecting Pool also viewed

 

Been to Lincoln Memorial and Reflecting Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lincoln Memorial and Reflecting Pool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lincoln Memorial and Reflecting Pool to your Saves list