We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Nice Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel to your Saves list
Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   415 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Capitol Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast Included in DC
Ranked #72 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location, Nice Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

This hotel was very nice and very close to many Washington DC attractions. Union Station is right around the corner of the hotel and so are many wonderful restaurants. The customer service was wonderful from the booking to the check out. We were notified on Twitter as soon as we booked, they assisted us with delivering a fridge to our room to keep leftovers cool, and they told us the best way to see the DC attractions (the double decker buses at Union Station-about $40 per person but worth it!!!). Parking is NOT included in the price of the stay. The garage located at the entrance is $50 a night and does not accommodate SUV's or trucks. The garage around the corner of the hotel is $22 per day-when we went to leave after 3 days we only paid $13. Be forewarned they search your vehicle before they allow you to park. The hotel is currently under construction but that did not cause any issues for us at all. The bathroom is a little small. If you want a fridge you must request it but they will bring it to you and set it up very promptly. Overall very good stay. The hotel is very pet friendly too. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger A, General Manager at Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear J G,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us here at The Liaison Capitol Hill. I am so pleased to hear that you and your family truly enjoyed your stay. I couldn’t agree with you more that our location is great, and, I’m pleased to hear that you were able to take advantage of our proximity to Union Station to get around the city.

I will be sure to share all of your feedback with my team here, especially with regards to the service you received from our team. Service is our number one priority and it’s wonderful to know that you received such friendly and efficient service from our team from the beginning of your stay until the end.

We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again the next time you are in the area. If there is anything I can do for you, please let me know.

All the best,

Roger Aberth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    909
    846
    303
    112
    75
See reviews for
594
641
121
535
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We checked reviews before we arrived and were concerned about what we might find. So here goes. Our check in was fast and staff very friendly. The room was clean modern and well maintained. Our king size bed was comfy. The food was excellent too. The pool was open and accessible and in use. Free WiFi and helpful staff. Yes we had to enter the hotel by the restaurant door, but as this is a few metres from the reception desk it's not really a problem. We've just checked out and this was fast. We'd recommend this hotel especially as it is so close to the capital building and union station.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger A, General Manager at Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Anna H,

It sounds like you really enjoyed all of the amenities we offer during your recent stay with us. I’m so pleased to hear that you were able to experience our Rooftop Pool, Art & Soul restaurant, and the friendly service we have here at The Liaison Capitol Hill. Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your time with us. It’s wonderful to know that your interactions with our team in every department provided an experience that was “good all around.”

We look forward to having the opportunity to host you the next time you are in the area. If there is anything that I can do for you, please let me know.

All the best,

Roger Aberth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Overall a well appointed hotel with good attention to detail. The rooms are very clean and I personally liked the modern decor. The front entrance is under construction and it can get a little loud early in the morning. There is very little to do or anywhere to go nearby in the evening but a short cab ride will get you to the action in no time.

Beware: Parking...$50/night...If you don't need access to your car and you want to save a few dollars park at Union Station...its only a few blocks away from the hotel and will cost less than 1/2 of the hotel parking rate.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger A, General Manager at Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Dually11,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. It’s so good to hear that you and your family enjoyed a comfortable stay while visiting the nation’s capital. I will be sure to share all of your wonderful feedback with my team here, especially with regards to how comfortable you found the room.

We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again the next time you are in the area. If there is anything I can do for you, please let me know.

All the best,

Roger Aberth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

This boutique hotel is located in a perfect spot between Union Station and all of the Museums. The bed was very comfy and while I have read a lot of reviews about the noise levels, did not find that to be an issue (What do you expect in a big city???) The rooftop pool and bar was really nice - unfortunately there was a "baby accident" in the pool and we could not go in it when we got back from a long hot day of site-seeing. The staff was quite polite and apologetic, even though it was not their fault. By the time we got back the next night the pool was already closed, but we enjoyed laying on the beds and having a drink on the roof. We unfortunately did not have an opportunity to dine in Art and Sole, the hotel Restaurant and bar, but it looked great. This hotel was great for the price - would definitely stay here again - Let's just hope the babies aren't in the pool!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger A, General Manager at Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear martinigirlmina,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us here at The Liaison Capitol Hill. I’m so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time while visiting our nation’s capital. I couldn’t agree with you more that our location truly is a special one and I’m glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of our proximity to Union Station and the Smithsonian museums to get around the city with ease.

I will be sure to share all of your feedback with my team here, especially with regards to the service you received from our team here. Service is our number one priority and it is good to know that despite the accident in the pool, our team made sure you were taken care of.

We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again the next time you are in the area. Hopefully next time around, you’ll be able to enjoy a meal at Art & Soul- with our seasonal menus, there is always something wonderful and new to try. If there is anything I can do for you, please let me know.

All the best,

Roger Aberth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Popped down to Washington DC on a whim, as I wanted to visit the Smithsonian Museums on my own time and schedule. I flew to BWI and took the train into DC.

Got this hotel on Hotwire, and couldn't be happier. It is 1.5 blocks from the train station and 1 block from the capitol. The hotel is very unique, with friendly staff.

Rooms are quiet, beds were great and comfortable. They comp'd me the WiFi at the front desk, otherwise there is a $9.99 charge, which is a stupid practice and annoying about up-scale hotels. The $49 dollar gives you free WiFi, but the $500 wants to bill you for it.

There is a great roof top deck and pool area. Nice area with tables and a full service bar.

Very nice hotel, and I would seek it out on future trips.

Complaints: Charging for WiFi
Room AC was underpowered and did keep room cool enough for me. Also has sensor thermostat which shuts air off if you are not moving around (like say, SLEEPING)
Bathroom had automatic light. That means FULL BRIGHT if you get up in the night.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger A, General Manager at Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear pikster,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us here at The Liaison Capitol Hill hotel. I’m so pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and that our location, guestrooms, and Rooftop Pool made us a “great hotel” for you. I will be sure to share all of your feedback with my team here about how wonderful your stay was. Service is our number one priority and it’s good to know that you had such friendly interactions with our team.

We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again the next time you are in the area. If there is anything I can do for you, please let me know.

All the best,

Roger Aberth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and enjoyed the hotel, especially being able to lounge by the swimming pool at the end of a hard day's sight seeing. The central location makes all the main attraction around the National Mall very accessible. The staff are very welcoming and were very helpful when we needed a room change.
Top tip# 1: try the Art and Soul restaurant next door. Very deserving of its good reputation.
Top tip #2: avoid floor 10 - it was the smoking floor before the hotel became non-smoking but the smell still lingers in the air con and can't be masked by the air freshener.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger A, General Manager at Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Eddy2Names,

I am so pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us here at The Liaison Capitol Hill. Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. I couldn’t agree with you more that we do have a “good location.” I’m glad you were able to take advantage of our proximity to Union Station and the National Mall to get out and see all of the sights DC has to offer and cool off after a long day at our Rooftop Pool and bar.

Once again, thank you for your review. I look forward to sharing all of your feedback with my team here especially about the service you received and how great you found Art & Soul. I hope you were able to enjoy the fried chicken!

We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again the next time you are in the area. If there is anything I can do for you, please let me know.

All the best,

Roger Aberth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for one night with my boyfriend. We got a deal on secret escapes and the rate was very low. Keeping that in mind, I was happy with the hotel. The service was friendly and efficient. I liked the fact that they texted when our room was ready.

However, there were a few things that weren’t quite right… The biggest downside for us was the fact that our room was located directly under the gym and we were promptly awakened at 6 am when a hotel quest decided to go for a run on a treadmill. Not good at all! Another mildly annoying thing for me was that there was no complimentary water on offer – only pricy bottles of Fiji water for purchase.

If you get a good deal, go for it but make sure you request a quiet room.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger A, General Manager at Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Marjuliini,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that you received such wonderful service from our team and I will be sure to share your feedback with them about how friendly and efficient your interactions were. It’s wonderful that you were able to take advantage of our check in program with the option to receive a text once your room is available. We are continuously working on making sure our guests arrival experience is a comfortable one, and I am so glad to hear that you appreciated that touch.

We would love to have the opportunity to host you again the next time you are in DC. I am sorry to hear that your room presented noise issues, but, if you do decide to stay with us again, please feel free to reach out to my office directly and I will personally ensure you are given a quiet room.

All the best,

Roger Aberth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Downtown / Chinatown
The George
The George
#13 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,653 reviews
National Mall
Phoenix Park Hotel
Phoenix Park Hotel
#48 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill
Downtown / Chinatown
Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
JW Marriott Washington DC
#77 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel

Address: 415 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Capitol Hill , Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connect with comfort in one of our 343 newly renovated guest rooms! One of the top boutique hotels in Washington, DC, the Liaison Capitol Hill DC is inviting guests to experience our newest hotel updates. Our recent redesign completely transformed all guest rooms and corridors featuring modern lighting and sleek furnishings, creating an ambiance of timeless, contemporary living. The decor is inspired by our location in the heart of Washington, DC, highlighting the prominence of the capital city and its political landscape through bold colors. The result, in addition to a newly, renovated DC boutique hotel, is a sophisticated hot spot for politicians and the like to gather and socialize after a long day of tending to the affairs of our nation, providing guests with a powerful connection to the city as well as an urban hideaway away from prying eyes. The rooms feature flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi, iHome docks, modern furnishings, upgraded signature Affinia bedding and remodeled bathrooms. The hallways have been refurbished with new carpeting, wall decor and lighting to match the new guestroom decor and offer a transition between the buzz downstairs and the privacy upstairs. Boasting a prime location on Capitol Hill, The Liaison is the closest hotel to the U.S. Capitol. The Smithsonian, the National Mall, Union Station, and dozens of the country's most visited museums and monuments are within walking distance. The Capitol Hill hotel is both a powerful bond to the nation's capital and a comfortable escape as well. At in-house restaurant Art and Soul, celebrity Chef Art Smith lovingly creates his award-winning Southern-modern "food for the soul." Our seasonal rooftop pool and bar make another spectacular setting, with views that highlight The Liaison's central location between Union Station and the Capitol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.