We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel near the Hill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel to your Saves list
Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   415 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Capitol Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
A Winter Wonderland
Ranked #70 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great hotel near the Hill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Great location two blocks from Capital Hill. Nice rooms with updated decor. Front desk staff were friendly and attentive. Rooftop pool area is very cool! Great views and lounging space. The conference hosted a cocktail reception on the roof which was incredible. Workout area wasn't huge, but had both cardio and weight training equipment. The lobby restaurant has outdoor sidewalk seating, which just adds to the hip vibe of this downtown DC hotel. I would most definitely stay here again for business or pleasure.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger A, General Manager at Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Michebill,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to the Washington, DC area. It is wonderful to hear that you were able to experience the Rooftop Pool & Bar for the reception you attended with your group. I am so pleased to hear that our team took such good care of you. We pride ourselves on delivering excellent service and I look forward to sharing all of your feedback with my team here. We look forward to hosting you the next time you are in the area. If there is anything I can do for you, please let me know.

All the best,

Roger Aberth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    783
    756
    258
    98
    64
See reviews for
525
564
112
457
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Our association held a small conference here last month, and was very pleased with this choice. The rooms are lovely and well-appointed. The event spaces were ready when we needed them. The hotel food, both for our group meals, and in the Art & Soul Restaurant, is very good. The service is a real stand-out. My first contact with The Liaison was with Monique Harrison in Sales who handled our initial agreement. My direct contact in setting up the banquet event order was Bryan Turner. He helped to select the meeting rooms as well as menus. I was treated to a fantastic lunch while there. During the conference, Cesar Mendez, our personal server for meals, was extremely attentive. He was a delight to work with. Ashok Dhoop, Director of Banquets, was available during our meeting to provide service and answer questions. Augustina, at the Front Desk, helped print out materials for our meeting (when the Business Center computers were temporarily down), and even offered to collate our packets. She was incredibly gracious.

The hotel's location just minutes from, and with a view of The Capitol, was perfect for our group. It is also located just a few blocks from Union Station.

Our group hopes to return this Fall.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger A, General Manager at Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Cindy A,

I am so pleased to hear that you and your group had a great experience with us at The Liaison Capitol Hill. Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay, and, for all of your wonderful feedback regarding all who were involved in helping to make your stay a great one. We pride ourselves on delivering excellent service and I look forward to sharing all of your feedback with my team here. It is so wonderful to hear that you found our guestrooms to be so comfortable and enjoyed the food our restaurant Art & Soul has to offer.

Once again, thank you for your review and recommendation of our property. We look forward to having the opportunity to host a future stay with us again the next time you and your group are in the area. And if you can, please be sure to visit us during the summer when our Rooftop Pool and Bar are open. If there is anything my team or I can do for you, please let me know.

All the best,

Roger Aberth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Great location, walking distance to union station . Beds are very comfortable.Entire staff very professional and helpful. Housekeeping is the best.A great experience.special thanks to Katherine and Bryce at the front desk.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger A, General Manager at Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear TrainAce,

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting the Washington, DC area and found our location and guestrooms to be such a great experience for you. Thank you for your review and recommendation of our property. Katherine and Bryce, both, are great assets to our team and we are lucky to have them. We look forward to having the opportunity to host a future stay with us again the next time you are in the area. And if you can, please be sure to visit us during the summer when our Rooftop Pool and Bar are open. If there is anything my team or I can do for you, please let me know.
All the best,

Roger Aberth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights -highly recommend. Room is lovely. My only criticism is that the bar in the lobby was constantly crowded. We had a free drink voucher but didn't bother because of the crowds constantly in the bar. Moving to New York Shelburne tomorrow - hoping for the same quality room but less crowded lobby. Not much point giving free drink vouchers if impossible to redeem!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger A, General Manager at Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear lynmore58,

I’m so please to hear that you enjoyed your time with us while visiting Washington, DC. Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at The Liaison Capitol Hill hotel. Our Art & Soul restaurant is very popular among both guests and locals of the area and can get very busy, especially during our weekly happy hour. I’m sorry to hear that you weren’t able to use your drink voucher during your time with us, but, if you decide to stay with us in the future, please feel free to contact my office directly and I’ll personally ensure you’re able to enjoy one of our restaurants signature cocktails.

Once again, thank you for your review and your recommendation of our hotel. Enjoy your trip to New York, you are sure to have a wonderful experience at The Shelburne. We look forward to hosting you the next time you are in the area. If there is anything I can do for you, please let me know.

All the best,

Roger Aberth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I recently ran the Nike Women's 1/2 marathon and looked for a place near the start line. And what a place I found. The Liasion's location is hard to beat, within walking distance of virtually everything. Its spotless, comfortable and the room was amazing. The staff goes out of their way to keep you informed and will help with anything you need. The cleaning staff always has a smile and good morning, ask how your stay is, and if they can get you anything to make your stay more comfortable. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, you will be amazed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger A, General Manager at Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear paulab619,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to the Washington, DC area while participating in the marathon. It’s so wonderful to know that you were so pleased with our location and guestrooms while with us. Delivering excellent service is a priority for us and I am so happy to hear that our team took such good care of you and helping you feel right at home. Once again, thank you for your review. We look forward to having the opportunity to host a future stay with us again the next time you are in the area. If there is anything my team or I can do for you, please let me know.

All the best,
Roger Aberth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, ca
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights last week. Its a ok hotel, but close to union station, Capitol Hill. Beds are comfortable, their house keeping is best. We got a room next to some generator room or something, was noisy. Staff are good.

Next time will try different hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger A, General Manager at Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear swamyb,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to the Washington, DC area. I’m so pleased to hear that you found our guestrooms and location to be great. It’s wonderful to know that the team was helpful during your stay. I look forward to sharing your feedback with them. I’m sorry to hear that your guestroom was a bit noisy. It's important to us that each of our guests are comfortable during their stay. You are welcome to always reach out to me or a member of my team and we will do our best to move you to a quieter room. Thank you once again for your review. We look forward to hosting you the next time you are in the area. If there is anything I can do for you, please let me know.

All the best,

Roger Aberth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

I stay at The Liaison frequently for business, and I have always found a comfy bed and a clean room. The location is convenient to transportation, and if you're like me and prefer walking in this beautiful city it a convenient walk to the national mall. Katherine, Bryce, and the rest of the fine folks at The Liaison will certainly make you feel welcome when you arrive. The service there is top notch.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger A, General Manager at Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear JTR013,

It is so nice to have the opportunity to welcome guests back who frequently stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that you consistently have such a good experience when you visit The Liaison Capitol Hill. I will be sure to share all of your feedback with my team here, especially Katherine and Bryce who are both an amazing asset to our wonderful team.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again the next time you are in the area. If there is anything I can do for you, please let me know.

All the best,

Roger Aberth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel

Address: 415 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Capitol Hill , Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connect with comfort in one of our 343 newly renovated guest rooms! One of the top boutique hotels in Washington, DC, the Liaison Capitol Hill DC is inviting guests to experience our newest hotel updates. Our recent redesign completely transformed all guest rooms and corridors featuring modern lighting and sleek furnishings, creating an ambiance of timeless, contemporary living. The decor is inspired by our location in the heart of Washington, DC, highlighting the prominence of the capital city and its political landscape through bold colors. The result, in addition to a newly, renovated DC boutique hotel, is a sophisticated hot spot for politicians and the like to gather and socialize after a long day of tending to the affairs of our nation, providing guests with a powerful connection to the city as well as an urban hideaway away from prying eyes. The rooms feature flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi, iHome docks, modern furnishings, upgraded signature Affinia bedding and remodeled bathrooms. The hallways have been refurbished with new carpeting, wall decor and lighting to match the new guestroom decor and offer a transition between the buzz downstairs and the privacy upstairs. Boasting a prime location on Capitol Hill, The Liaison is the closest hotel to the U.S. Capitol. The Smithsonian, the National Mall, Union Station, and dozens of the country's most visited museums and monuments are within walking distance. The Capitol Hill hotel is both a powerful bond to the nation's capital and a comfortable escape as well. At in-house restaurant Art and Soul, celebrity Chef Art Smith lovingly creates his award-winning Southern-modern "food for the soul." Our seasonal rooftop pool and bar make another spectacular setting, with views that highlight The Liaison's central location between Union Station and the Capitol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Amex, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.