We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, better rooftop pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel to your Saves list
Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   415 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Capitol Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park with Us for Just $10
Ranked #68 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great location, better rooftop pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Gave this property a not so great review a few years ago, but what a difference! The halls even looked brighter Stayed the Fri before Labor day with family..Check-in was fast and easy. Marie? or Mary? mentioned it was the last night for restaurant week, and I'm glad she did as my wife and daughter wanted to go there. See separate review.Doormen and parking guys are very helpful.Parking is expensive, as it is in most DC hotels. There's a lot around the corner that's $22 for 24 hrs, $10 on weekends. Or park at Union Station a few blocks away. Hotel is very clean, and modern looking. Lobby is always crowded, due to the free WiFi there. Oddly, the business center a few feet from the lobby charges for WiFi on their computer! Although printing boarding passes are free.Room was big enough for the four of us, bathroom was very clean and had a nice selection of soaps and lotions. The bed was the most comfortable I've ever slept in. But the pillows were a disappointment, and I tried all of them from the pillow bar! Sure it was just me. Nice to have the earplugs, as it tends to get noisy with the firehouse next door. Didn't bother me so much as I live in a noisy city, but others may need to use them. Even if you're not going swimming, the pool area is spectacular! Lovely cabanas, and a beautiful view. We loved it up there so much, we asked for a later check out, and pushed back our sightseeing to enjoy it even longer. Too bad it closes after Labor Day, it really is a gem in the City, and the crown for this hotel.While I still don't think it should be the same star rating as the Grand Hyatt, if you get a good internet deal, like I did, this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back. Noise from the doormen hailing cabs from the hotel across the street, and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger A, General Manager at Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear ranjet,

What a difference a few years make! I am so pleased that you gave The Liaison Capitol Hill another chance, and even more thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your experience with us the second time around.

Thank you for all of your positive feedback regarding your stay. I will be sure to pass it on to my team here.

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Rooftop Bar and Pool. It really is quite a gem and it is good to know that you and your family enjoyed it so much.

We look forward to hosting you the next time you are in our nation’s capital. If there is anything I can do for you, please let me know.

All the best,

Roger Aberth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    838
    796
    281
    104
    68
See reviews for
546
601
117
497
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
limavady,Northern Ireland.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My wife and I visited Washington DC for the first time from 22nd - 24th September 2013 and stayed in this excellent hotel within sight of the iconic Capitol Hill. We were so pleased that we decided to stay here. The hotel is a short walk from Union station and very convenient for accessing the City sights using the Open top bus tours. They depart from the front of Union Station and cover the entire City and even Arlington Cemetery where the Graves of JFK and the Kennedy family are sited.
The staff in The Liasion Capitol are very helpful and professional,the food is good and rooms extremely comfortable. We couldn't fault it. It was a pity that the rooftop pool was closed as our weather was beautiful and we wold have enjoyed a swim after all the sight seeing.
We enjoyed the atmosphere in The Dubliner Irish pub just around the corner from the Hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed adequate for a city visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger A, General Manager at Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear sgreilly21,

Wow! Thank you very much for you wonderful review regarding your recent stay with us here at The Liaison Capitol Hill. I am very pleased to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your time with us and were able to take advantage of all the sightseeing in our nation’s capital.

I will be sure to pass all of your positive feedback on to my team here who will be just as happy as I am to know that you think we’re an “excellent” hotel.

We look forward to hosting you again the next time you are in the area. If there is anything I can do for you, please let me know.

All the best,

Roger Aberth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The hotel did not provide great service. They charge an exorbitant rate for parking, though that may be par for DC hotels. Internet is not included, TV didn't work right, no instructions anywhere for anything, blow drier only partially worked. BUT Eng-Jordan, the maintenance guy (and other maintenance guys), was great. Very, very nice and even more helpful.

Room Tip: THe rooms were so dry it was difficult to breathe after a while. And I had a humidifier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger A, General Manager at Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Susan S,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. I truly appreciate all feedback we receive from our guests as it helps us to continuously improve on the service and amenities we offer. All of your feedback is being reviewed by my team here, especially your positive kudos to our engineer Jordan. He is a valuable asset to our staff, and we are lucky to have him.

I am very sorry to hear that your stay was not an enjoyable one. If you would be so kind as to reach out to my office directly so that I can get to the bottom of the many issues you experienced, it would be greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. If there is anything I can do for you, please let me know. I look forward to speaking with you soon.

All the best,

Roger Aberth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainsboro, New Jersey
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I did not actually stay at this hotel but used many of their amenities as I spent a full-day conference there. I was extremely impressed by the beauty of the hotel. The service and food (from the chefs at their restaurant) were impeccable. Everyone was extremely professional and helpful. I felt very taken care of even though I didn't stay there. The downstairs areas (including conference rooms, lobby, bathrooms, and business center) were all very modern and well-taken care of. I would have loved to stay there but it was very expensive! The hotel is very close to everything, including Union Station.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger A, General Manager at Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Shelly R,

Thank you for your wonderful review about your time at The Liaison. I appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience with us during your conference. I will be sure to pass on your comments about the service you received to my team here.

We look forward to hosting you as a guest in the future the next time you are in the area. If there is anything I can do for you, please let me know.

All the best,

Roger Aberth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

When touring it is such an advantage to stay in a hotel which is close to all or most of the attractions on your agenda. Plus, the Hop-On-Off Bus stops right outside and the main Railway Station is only five minutes walk away. We agree with all the positive comments about quality of both the rooms and the service. Minor gripes: we found the restaurant very noisy and were disappointed at the daily WIFI charge of US $13, when every other hotel we stayed in during our world trip provided it free. But otherwise we were very impressed and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone planning to visit Washington DC as a tourist.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger A, General Manager at Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Peter M,

Thank you for such a wonderful review about your recent stay with us. Coming all the way from New Zealand, I’m sure you wanted to take in as many sights as you could, and it sounds like you were able to!

I couldn’t agree with you more that our location is really special. Our proximity to Union Station and tour buses like Hop-On-Off really makes it easy for our guests to get around the area. I am very pleased to hear you were able to take advantage of that.

We look forward to hosting you the next time you are in our nation’s capital. If there is anything I can do for you, please let me know.

All the best,

Roger Aberth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and I recently spent 4 days at this gem of a hotel in Washington.
Great location.
Well priced.
Super decor.
The highlight for me was the staff and service. In particular a large shout at to "Jordan" a hotel
engineer. Faced with a washroom issue, he responded swiftly and resolved the problem with
speed and charm.
Everyone was 5 star. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger A, General Manager at Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Lawrence D,

Thank you for your review of The Liaison Capitol Hill. I am very pleased to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us. I want to thank you for all of your positive feedback about our service and amenities. I will be sure to pass it on to my team here, especially Jordan from engineering. He is a valuable member of our team and we are truly luck to have him.

We look forward to hosting you the next time you are in the area. If there is anything I can do for you, please let me know.


All the best,

Roger Aberth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was my first time at an Affinia hotel, and I was pleased to discover the brand. The hotel has a modern look, the rooms are clean and comfortable, and the service consistently friendly (front desk, room service, valet). I got a double queen room, which felt a bit tight; there is also very little counter space in the smaller-than-average bathroom. But the hotel compares favorably to other 4-star hotels I've stayed at. Hotels in bigger cities often have smaller rooms, so I didn't take exception to the room size. I'd gladly stay at an Affinia hotel again, and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger A, General Manager at Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear tgd721,

Welcome to the Affinia brand! I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Liaison Capitol Hill. I will be sure to pass on all of your positive feedback to our team here and let them know what a wonderful first impression they made.

We look forward to hosting you again the next time you are in the area. If there is anything I can do for you, please let me know.

All the best,

Roger Aberth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel

Address: 415 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Capitol Hill , Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connect with comfort in one of our 343 newly renovated guest rooms! One of the top boutique hotels in Washington, DC, the Liaison Capitol Hill DC is inviting guests to experience our newest hotel updates. Our recent redesign completely transformed all guest rooms and corridors featuring modern lighting and sleek furnishings, creating an ambiance of timeless, contemporary living. The decor is inspired by our location in the heart of Washington, DC, highlighting the prominence of the capital city and its political landscape through bold colors. The result, in addition to a newly, renovated DC boutique hotel, is a sophisticated hot spot for politicians and the like to gather and socialize after a long day of tending to the affairs of our nation, providing guests with a powerful connection to the city as well as an urban hideaway away from prying eyes. The rooms feature flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi, iHome docks, modern furnishings, upgraded signature Affinia bedding and remodeled bathrooms. The hallways have been refurbished with new carpeting, wall decor and lighting to match the new guestroom decor and offer a transition between the buzz downstairs and the privacy upstairs. Boasting a prime location on Capitol Hill, The Liaison is the closest hotel to the U.S. Capitol. The Smithsonian, the National Mall, Union Station, and dozens of the country's most visited museums and monuments are within walking distance. The Capitol Hill hotel is both a powerful bond to the nation's capital and a comfortable escape as well. At in-house restaurant Art and Soul, celebrity Chef Art Smith lovingly creates his award-winning Southern-modern "food for the soul." Our seasonal rooftop pool and bar make another spectacular setting, with views that highlight The Liaison's central location between Union Station and the Capitol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Priceline, Amex, EasyToBook, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and BookIt.com so you can book your Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.