We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parking warning” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Liaison Capitol Hill, An Affinia Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Liaison Capitol Hill, An Affinia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Liaison Capitol Hill, An Affinia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   415 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Capitol Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romance or Retreat
Ranked #67 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Clifton Park, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Parking warning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Only problem we had was our car would not fit in the garage. We have a nissan murano SUV and had a cargo box on top of the roof rack because we were on our way back to ny from myrtle beach vacation. Car was to tall to fit into garage and there is no other parking options except the street. Luckily while waiting around in from of hotel trying to figure out what to do a space opens up on the street right in front of the hotel. Had to pay the meter until 630 pm but then it was fine to sit overnight until 7 am. Worked out great and saved $48 parking fee.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reggie C, Manager at The Liaison Capitol Hill, An Affinia Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Mlucas2,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience following your recent stay. Feedback from guests like yourself is extremely valuable to us.

I sincerely apologize for the difficulty parking your SUV in our garage, and that we were not able to find a solution for you more quickly. I'm glad to hear that you were able to find a spot right in front of the hotel, but please feel free to contact me directly the next time you return to Washington, DC. I would be happy to make sure that we can accommodate you prior to your arrival.

All the Best,

Reggie Cox
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    720
    241
    97
    56
See reviews for
510
528
108
435
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had a great stay at the Affinia liason, Rooms were great the beds were really comfortable. The Hotel is near the capital buildings and museums,you can walk to them all,the pool on the roof was great after a long day of touring museums .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reggie C, Manager at The Liaison Capitol Hill, An Affinia Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Joseph B,

Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay with us at The Liaison Capitol Hill, an Affinia Hotel!

It is wonderful to hear that you and your family had such a nice time in the hotel and visiting museums. I'm glad that you enjoyed the rooftop pool after your day of sightseeing and were comfortable in our guestrooms.

I hope you will keep us in mind the next time you are touring the nation's capital!

All the Best,

Reggie Cox
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband and daughter stayed at the Liaison Capitol Hill on the fourth of July and would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone planning to visit D.C. The staff goes out of their way to make guests feel comfortable. The hotel is very clean and well appointed with an excellent restaurant. The rooftop pool and bar are a great way to enjoy a warm summer day. The location is fantastic, just a few blocks from the Capitol building or Union Station. We will definitely stay at this hotel any time we find ourselves in Washington D.C..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reggie C, Manager at The Liaison Capitol Hill, An Affinia Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear DEGordonJr,

Thank you for your excellent review of The Liaison Capitol Hill, an Affinia Hotel. I'm so happy that you chose to spend your Fourth of July in DC and that we could make it special for you.

I will share your comments with our staff and they will be so proud to hear how much you enjoyed their service and our hotel, rooftop pool, and restaurant.

Please let us know if we may be of any assistance for a future visit. We would love the opportunity to host you again!

All the Best,

Reggie Cox
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, NH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Excellent location. There is no need to rent a car if you are staying at the Liaison Capital Hill. Only an eight minute walk to Union Station, ten minute walk to the capital and an easy walk to the National Mall.

The restaurant is very expensive. We ate breakfast there on the first morning and the total for three people with tip came to $65. That was for two breakfast sandwiches with home fries, pancakes with fruit, two chocolate milks, and tea. There are two convenient, nearby places for breakfast. The first is the West Wing Cafe which is practically across the street on the corner of D Street NW and New Jersey Avenue NW. The second, our favorite, is on the way to Union Station at the corner of E Street NW and North Capital Street NW.

In-room internet access is also very expensive. $13 per-day per-device. Free WiFi is available in the lobby.

We flew into Reagan National Airport then took the Metro to Union Station. The easiest way to the Liaison from Union Station is to walk down E Street NE to E Street NW and take a left on New Jersey Avenue NW. Liaison Capital Hill will be down a little on your left.

Getting to Union Station is just as easy. Simply go right out the front door, take a right up E Street NW and you will see Union Station ahead of you as you go up the hill. The Corner Bakery Cafe will be on your left as you reach North Capital Street NW.

Overall we were satisfied with this location and would probably recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reggie C, Manager at The Liaison Capitol Hill, An Affinia Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Mark03264,

Thank you for taking the time to write about recent stay with us. I'm so happy to hear that we were located conveniently for you to metro into Union Station and to visit the Capitol Building and National Mall.

I appreciate your feedback and have shared your comments regarding restaurant pricing with our Executive Chef for his review.

We hope to see you the next time you visit Washington DC. Please don't hesitate to contact me directly if I may be of assistance.

All the Best,

Reggie Cox
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The hotel was very clean and comfortable but seemed geared toward single people or couples rather than families. But I must admit that the rooms were very nice. I would have like free internet though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reggie C, Manager at The Liaison Capitol Hill, An Affinia Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Robert C,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. We take the reviews we receive from guests to heart and believe they are the best ways for us to learn what we do well and what we can improve.

We enjoy having a mix of guests in our hotel and are always open to suggestions if there is something we can do to better accommodate you. Please feel free to contact me directly with any suggestions or if I may be of further assistance.

All the Best,

Reggie Cox
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

A bit pricey but well worth it! Went to DC for a marathon and the hotel is perfect walking from the train station. Rooms are clean, beds comfortable, and hotel accommodated our late checkout after the race! Starbucks is right across the street too!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reggie C, Manager at The Liaison Capitol Hill, An Affinia Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear btravelernyc,

Thank you for writing about your recent stay and congratulations on your marathon!

I'm very happy to hear we were located conveniently for you, and that we were able to accommodate your late check-out request. Thank you for letting us know you were comfortable during your stay; that is always one of our top priorities.

We hope you will keep us in mind for future stays, and future races!

All the Best,

Reggie Cox
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Booked 3 rooms for 6 people for a 5 night stay while on a holiday visit to Washington.

The rooms are first class and same can be said about staff service. Excellent roof top pool area with serviced bar and we enjoyed a BBQ put on for the 4th July celebrations.

Only criticism would be the Wi-Fi availability, free Wi-Fi is available in and around the reception area and this makes reception very busy with people sitting around logging on etc. Wi-Fi is available in all rooms but at a heavy cost and billed per device. This was the only hotel over our 17 night stay in the USA that would charge for in room Wi-Fi service.

I would use this hotel again if visiting Washington.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reggie C, Manager at The Liaison Capitol Hill, An Affinia Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear ShortBreakScotland,

Thank you for your detailed review following your recent stay. I am so happy to hear you stayed with us over the Fourth of July and you enjoyed the Rooftop and our holiday barbecue!

I will certainly share your comments regarding our guest rooms and service with our staff here. They will be very proud to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. I also appreciate your feedback regarding our Wi-Fi service and will make sure this is shared with our leadership team.

All the Best,

Reggie Cox
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Liaison Capitol Hill, An Affinia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liaison Capitol Hill, An Affinia Hotel

Address: 415 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Capitol Hill , Downtown / Chinatown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Liaison Capitol Hill, An Affinia Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connect with comfort in one of our 343 newly renovated guest rooms! One of the top boutique hotels in Washington, DC, The Liaison Capitol Hill is inviting guests to experience our newest hotel updates. Our recent redesign completely transformed all guest rooms and corridors featuring modern lighting and sleek furnishings, creating an ambiance of timeless, contemporary living. The décor is inspired by our location in the heart of Washington, DC, highlighting the prominence of the capital city and its political landscape through bold colors. The result, in addition to a newly, renovated DC boutique hotel, is a sophisticated hot spot for politicians and the like to gather and socialize after a long day of tending to the affairs of our nation, providing guests with a powerful connection to the city as well as an urban hideaway away from prying eyes. The rooms feature flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi, iHome docks, modern furnishings, upgraded signature Affinia bedding and remodeled bathrooms. The hallways have been refurbished with new carpeting, wall decor and lighting to match the new guestroom décor and offer a transition between the buzz downstairs and the privacy upstairs. Boasting a prime location on Capitol Hill, The Liaison is the closest hotel to the U.S. Capitol. The Smithsonian, the National Mall, Union Station, and dozens of the country’s most visited museums and monuments are within walking distance. The Capitol Hill hotel is both a powerful bond to the nation’s capital and a comfortable escape as well. At in-house restaurant Art and Soul, celebrity Chef Art Smith lovingly creates his award-winning Southern-modern “food for the soul.” Our seasonal rooftop pool and bar make another spectacular setting, with views that highlight The Liaison’s central location between Union Station and the Capitol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Booking.com, Otel, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Liaison Capitol Hill, An Affinia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Liaison Capitol Hill, An Affinia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.