We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely designed hotel near Capitol Hill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel to your Saves list
Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   415 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Capitol Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park with Us for Just $10
Ranked #71 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Düsseldorf
Level Contributor
80 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Nicely designed hotel near Capitol Hill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel is located on New Jersey Ave and D Street and standing right in front of the hotel you´ll see the Capitol. Good first impression. It is two blocks to Union Station which was quite convenient. But, two block into the other direction the area is less good with lots of homeless people living above the I-395 tunnel. It can get kind of loud because right next to the hotel on the left there´s a fire engine station which may wake you up at night when they receive a call.

Small driveway upfront the hotel, not much space. We returned our rental car after check in at the hotel to Union Station because you won´t need car in Washington and valet parking was at ridiculously expensive 48 Dollars a night.

Very nice welcome by Erin at the front desk, room ready at 1:30PM. Nicely designed lobby. The rooms are beautiful, they had an excellent interior designer, stylish and newly renovated. Colourful wallpaper in the room and the bathroom. Comfortable bed, sofa and safe in the room, no fridge. The room had a connecting door but was quiet. Cleanliness was excellent, thumbs up for the friendly housekeeping.

Internet is free in the lobby only, they´ll charge you in the room (12$) as well as in the Business Center. The hotel features a restaurant which we didn´t use.

A very nice hotel, we would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reggie C, Manager at Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear urlaubsbaerchen,

I’m happy to know that you had a great first impression of our hotel upon your arrival. We really enjoy our prime location so close to the U.S. Capitol Building. I hope you were able to do some sightseeing in the city.

Our rooms were recently redesigned, so thank you for your nice feedback. I agree with you that they’re beautiful and stylish!

Thank you for your comments about Erin. She’s wonderful and such an asset to our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Washington, DC. Please don’t hesitate to reach out to me anytime.

All the best,

Reggie Cox
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    842
    301
    111
    75
See reviews for
591
640
120
531
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed here in March 2013. The hotel is comfortably situated near The Capitol Hill and the Grand Central Station. Good sized rooms, friendly staff etc makes it a comfortable stay. The highlight is the location. It is about 7 minute walk to Grand Central station and a 10 minute walk to the Capitol Hill Visitor Centre. The sight seeing tour companies have a stop in front of the hotel as well.

The pillow menu is a fantastic touch. The in-house restaurant Art & Soul has a good ambiance for dining.

All in all, not an extraordinary hotel, as it has its flip sides. The small lobby is crammed with people logging on to use the free Wi-Fi in mornings and evenings. The biggest disadvantage for people traveling with babies is the lack of a hot water kettle. Also, for people wishing to have tea. Now am not sure if its the American way, but having expresso machines in the hotel doesn't service guests who don't drink coffee. Even if they do, they don't have an alternative as well. For babies needing hot water to prepare milk, it is a disaster. We did request for the hot water in flasks, but the flasks had a really strong coffee flavour.

Just a few steps away, there is a nice little cafe called, Billy Goat Tavern which serves in-expensive but good American breakfasts.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reggie C, Manager at Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear adarshry,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and sharing your experience with other travelers. Our location close to the U.S. Capitol and Union Station is fantastic, and I’m happy to hear that you saw a lot of the city.

Our Dream Pillow menu is definitely one of my favorite amenities as well!

I really appreciate all your feedback and have shared it with the team. It’s with comments like yours that we can continually improve.

We hope to host you again when you return to Washington, DC.

All the best,

Reggie Cox
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The Liaison could be such a good place to go, it's well located, nice building, but I didn't get much sleep there. I found the plugs for the ears the morning we left and still I don't feel it's appropriate to serve guest with ear plugs. We didn't have a view from our room and I heard trucks going all night.

The room was pretty nice, everything was but the one thing I expect from a hotel. I don't spend much time in it because I want to visit, but when night falls, I only wish for a good night rest to go on the next day.

It's a nice place and I hope they'll work on that.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reggie C, Manager at Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Pat L,

I really appreciate you taking the time to review your trip and sharing your DC experience with us and other travelers. It’s with feedback like yours that we can continually improve.

I’m happy to know that you enjoyed your guest room, and I’m sorry about the noise issue that you encountered.

Please feel free to reach out to me any time. We look forward to hosting you once again.

All the best,

Reggie Cox
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

On holidays from Sydney (Aus) we were fortunate to have booked with Affinia in both NYC and DC . Boutique hotels in the best of locations and with helpful and friendly staff made for a wonderful holiday. The Liaison was a short walk to Union Station, restaurants in 7th ave and with Capitol Hill at the end of the block. While I have read some negative comments on the size of the bathroom we found the bathroom size fine, particularly the provision of a bath. The room was a good size, well appointed and quiet. I have to agree with other reviewers comments that Affinia excels in the comfort of their beds and their menu of pillows we found, having stayed at other hotels in Los Angeles and Las Vegas, that such attention makes for an even more enjoyable and relaxing holiday. Many thanks Affinia we will definitely be booking our next travels with you.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reggie C, Manager at Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear J N,

Thank you so much for your kind review of The Liaison Capitol Hill, an Affinia Hotel. It is wonderful to hear that you had such a nice time at Affinia hotels in both New York and DC during your vacation!

The comfort of our guests is Affinia's top priority, so I'm glad that you enjoyed our beds and our Dream Pillow Menu so much. It sounds like our Capitol Hill location was perfect for you to visit some of DC's most popular attractions and nearby restaurants while you were here.

Thank you again for recommending our hotel, and we look forward to hosting you during your next trip to the United States!

All the Best,

Reggie Cox
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Fl
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

How can a place whose chief purpose is to provide a place to sleep, have an attached parking garage where the valets honk the horn rounding the turns - ALL NIGHT LONG....
AND at 04:00 start whistling for cabs for departing guests? Can't they use handheld lights or something?
Of course, the drunken people partying in the hallway from 2:30 to 3:00 didn't help. I don't know if the person who told them to shut up and go inside was with them or a hotel employee.

So when I go to check out, I get the, "Was everything okay?", to which I respond, "No. I was kept up all night by cars honking in the garage and bellmen whistling for cabs." The young lady nods and says something to the effect of she's heard this before. After which she presents me with my receipt and says, "Have a nice day !!" (insert smiley face here).
I had decided to stay in DC to get more sleep than I would have, going home and back to work early in the morning... So much for that plan. Was totally wiped all the next day.

I stay in hotels an average of 25-30 nights a year. I have stayed on the first and second floors in places like Madrid, Athens, Paris, London, and New York City with some pretty wild traffic. I have never had such an irritating experience (okay - except for the place where the fire alarm went off twice in one night).

Art and Soul Restaurant was very good. I might come back to eat, but doubt I will stay again. I cannot believe I am the only person who has had this experience (especially as the employee did not seem at all surprised) - yet management apparently does nothing to correct the issues ?? So much for a boutique property in one of the most sophisticated cities in the world.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the front of the hotel unless you are a "dead to the world" sleeper. Not h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reggie C, Manager at Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear fpc99,

I really appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologize that you did not get a good night sleep because of the noise. We would love to have you return and can do our best to find a quieter room for you if you let us know in advance. We also have ear plugs in our guestrooms because we know that city noise can be hard to get used to.

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal in Art and Soul, and I hope to see you there again soon!

Please reach out to me at anytime.

All the Best,

Reggie Cox
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

An excellent location (on Capitol Hill) with a modern vibe, with comfortable rooms and a great restaurant on the first floor. A bit pricey, but not by DC standards. Staff was friendly, the room clean and well appointed, and the bathroom roomy and well equipped.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reggie C, Manager at Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear chrissrli,

Thank you so much for the great review of The Liaison Capitol Hill after your recent stay! It's great to hear that you enjoyed our staff, guestrooms, and Art and Soul restaurant.

Your comfort is our top priority, so I'm glad that you like our contemporary decor and that our location on Capitol Hill was convenient for your trip.

We hope to host you the next time you are in the nation's capital!

All the Best,

Reggie Cox
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed at liaison Capitol Hill mid April and found the bed to be the best hotel bed I've ever slept in. Clean crisp sheets and just wonderful. Location was good being close to Union Station which was very handy. Loved the pictures on the walls signifying the 'liaison' theme of the hotel. The bar and lobby were pumping when we were on a Friday night which gave a great positive vibe to the place.
All in all I'd recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Washington as a tourist as it was an easy walk to Capitol Hill and the fabulous museums down the road. Staff were exceptional in providing advice on local attractions.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reggie C, Manager at Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear MBofSA,

I am thrilled to hear that you found our Affinia beds at The Liaison Capitol Hill to be so comfortable during your stay! It is so important to us that our guests get a good night sleep when they are away from home.

We are really lucky to be located as close to Union Station, the Capitol building, and the National Mall as we are. It sounds like you were busy exploring while you were here!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay in April and for recommending our hotel. We hope to see you again!

All the Best,

Reggie Cox
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Downtown / Chinatown
The George
The George
#13 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,648 reviews
National Mall
Phoenix Park Hotel
Phoenix Park Hotel
#46 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill
Downtown / Chinatown
Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
JW Marriott Washington DC
#76 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel

Address: 415 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Capitol Hill , Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connect with comfort in one of our 343 newly renovated guest rooms! One of the top boutique hotels in Washington, DC, the Liaison Capitol Hill DC is inviting guests to experience our newest hotel updates. Our recent redesign completely transformed all guest rooms and corridors featuring modern lighting and sleek furnishings, creating an ambiance of timeless, contemporary living. The decor is inspired by our location in the heart of Washington, DC, highlighting the prominence of the capital city and its political landscape through bold colors. The result, in addition to a newly, renovated DC boutique hotel, is a sophisticated hot spot for politicians and the like to gather and socialize after a long day of tending to the affairs of our nation, providing guests with a powerful connection to the city as well as an urban hideaway away from prying eyes. The rooms feature flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi, iHome docks, modern furnishings, upgraded signature Affinia bedding and remodeled bathrooms. The hallways have been refurbished with new carpeting, wall decor and lighting to match the new guestroom decor and offer a transition between the buzz downstairs and the privacy upstairs. Boasting a prime location on Capitol Hill, The Liaison is the closest hotel to the U.S. Capitol. The Smithsonian, the National Mall, Union Station, and dozens of the country's most visited museums and monuments are within walking distance. The Capitol Hill hotel is both a powerful bond to the nation's capital and a comfortable escape as well. At in-house restaurant Art and Soul, celebrity Chef Art Smith lovingly creates his award-winning Southern-modern "food for the soul." Our seasonal rooftop pool and bar make another spectacular setting, with views that highlight The Liaison's central location between Union Station and the Capitol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.