We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Capitol visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Liaison Capitol Hill, An Affinia Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Liaison Capitol Hill, An Affinia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Liaison Capitol Hill, An Affinia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   415 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Capitol Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Pump, Park & Stretch
Ranked #57 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Capitol visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights The room was well appointed, clean and quite spacious . This was our second room as our first one was on a dog friendly floor as we discovered by the noise!! The lack of free wi fi meant that the hotel lobby was always very congested and seating was very limited. At times we had to stand in line for the restaurant as it was impossible to find a seat to have a drink and wait for a table to become available. The complimentary juice in the lobby was a nice touch and very welcome at the end of a hot day . Convenient location and so close to Union station. Restaurant menu was quite limited .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia E, General Manager at The Liaison Capitol Hill, An Affinia Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear DCH52,

Thank you very much for your review on The Liaison Capitol Hill. I'm glad that you felt the room was well appointed and in such a convenient location. We love when that is such a plus to our guests. We truly hope you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to seeing you again!

Best,
Claudia Eggspuhler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,793 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    729
    694
    228
    91
    51
See reviews for
471
498
105
422
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Downey, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This hotel is one of a kind, very close to the Capital, Library of Congress, Rayburn building, and metro stop.
I first stayed here about 6 years ago with family members. It had a great breakfast, kitchen facilities in the rooms, and it was close to Capital Hill.
It has been remodeled since then, the furniture is upgraded, and it has wi-fi. The only deficiency is that the bathrooms are still small.
There are old townhomes across the street and around the neighborhood. I have been told that decades ago congressmen used to stay in these homes. There are a few markets and a variety of restaurants within a block. The neighborhood is pleasant, but modest - not like Dupont Circle.
A cab driver told us that the hotel rooms can be sold out when there is something special going on with Congress - and there can be heavy security.
It has a wonderful atmosphere and the staff is very responsive.
We liked being within walking distance of the museums.

Room Tip: We liked overlooking the street and the city to the south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia E, General Manager at The Liaison Capitol Hill, An Affinia Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear LoveToTravel99caker,

That is so neat that you were able to stay with us 6 years ago before we became The Liaison Capitol Hill! It must have such a different look and vibe to the hotel than it did previously. What was your favorite part?

We hope to see you again, hopefully before another 6 years goes by!

Best,
Claudia Eggspuhler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modiin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed 3 nights in the hotel for a pure business trip.
The atmoshphere in the hotel was vibrant yet cozy.
The design is modern with a Eurpean touch to it. The room itself was large, very comfortible bed, nice desing again and with small things like ear plugs if you want and a nice music system.
Just very modern and comfortible.
The lobby is small buy very nice and connects nicely to the bar / restaurant which was a happening place in the evenings. Stuff was very nice and helpful too.
On my next trip I'll return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia E, General Manager at The Liaison Capitol Hill, An Affinia Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Storm274,

Thanks so much for your great review on The Liaison Capitol Hill. I can imagine that being anywhere for more than one night on a business trip can become draining. I'm so glad that our modern and cozy rooms were able to keep a vibrant mood going!

We very much look forward to your next trip to Washington, DC!

Best,
Claudia Eggspuhler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hu10 6as
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Went back to Washington to catch up on missed museum sites stayed at the Liaison it has got better.The rooms have all been updated and it is in the best place to visit every site in Washington. You can arrive at the station shop until you drop or eat every cuisine from around the world but the staff at this venue are the best from reception Catherine, what a star! and Michelle on concierge a mine of information.This hotel was the best all around from our visit to the states from Washington to New York via RIchmond and Boston. The beds are so comfortable and there are 6 pillow choices. The hotel is within walking distance from Union Station, Capitol Building etc Air & Space Museum, Botanical Gardens and Indian Museum. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia E, General Manager at The Liaison Capitol Hill, An Affinia Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Bizzyinn,

Neat! What museums did you check out? I'm so happy that the location worked out great for you. You must have been here a while back before the renovation. So glad you liked it. Pretty good upgrade, right?!

We look forward to having you come back a third time.

Best,
Claudia Eggspuhler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here for one night late Dec 12 for a quick 2 day side trip from NYC and chose the hotel because we staying at a sister hotel, the Affinia Shelburne, in NYC. Location is excellent; less than 10 minute walk from Union Station and 5 minutes to the Capitol Building. Having caught the very early morning bus from NYC, we stopped in to drop off our overnight bag and were delighted to be told that our room was ready for an early check in - excellent ! Room was fantastic with everything you need and very comfy beds - we stayed in a Double Queen room which was more than ample for our family of 2 adults + 2 sons - 16 & 10 yrs. The hotel and our room were a very warm & welcoming haven after our 1st long and rather cold day of walking the Washington Mall and all it's amazing memorials & sights. Had dinner & breakfast at Art & Soul and enjoyed both meals, although the menu choices for the boys were a little limited. Our 16 year old also used the gym to run up a quick 5kms on the treadmill and said the facilities were great. Concierge was very helpful with directions & tips when heading off on our 2 days of sightseeing and the hotel was more than happy to hold our bag after check out for pick up just prior to catching our early evening bus back to NYC. All in all a fantastic stay with excellent service provided by all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia E, General Manager at The Liaison Capitol Hill, An Affinia Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear tmprb,

How wonderful that you chose to stay at The Liaison Capitol Hill for those two reasons: the excellent location and due to your pleasant stay at The Affinia Shelburne. That is so wonderful to hear that we were able to accommodate an early check-in for you. I'm glad that two adults and two boys were able to have a nice comfortable stay with us!

We look forward to your next trip to Washington, DC

Best,
Claudia Eggspuhler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I am generally in D.C. on business, but also find time to enjoy the capital's attractions. If you are visiting for either, I highly recommend the Liaison. You are minutes from the Hill, the national mall, Union Station, the courts, Chinatown and pretty much every other worthwhile spot. The service is excellent, the decoration is tasteful and the restaurant is good. There is free wifi in the lobby, but the room rates aren't outrageous. There is a great area for hosting business events and the valet also is reasonable for D.C. The room I stayed in was fantastic; easily the nicest room I've had (and I've stayed in some of the trendier hotels in the area), especially for the price. There was no problem with early/late check in and this was during the mad rush/preparation for the presidential inauguration. I was very impressed with this fantastic property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia E, General Manager at The Liaison Capitol Hill, An Affinia Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Worldtravel41,

That is so great that you find time to squeeze in our Nations Capital's main attractions even when you are here on business! I'm so glad you would recommend us to both business and leisure travelers. We are so glad that we are the nicest hotel room you have encountered! That is such a compliment!

Looking forward to seeing you next time!
Best,
Claudia Eggspuhler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inglewood, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Got a great deal on this room for a weekend convention, and was very excited because I've stayed at the Affinia in New York, which is amazing.

Katherine at the front desk is a total star, sweet, helpful and smart. She gave such a great first impression. They obviously take good care of the place, and had delicious cider at the front, votive candles along the floor, and an onsite restaurant. The concierge was very helpful as well (can't remember his name), but he gave us a map and set us on our way.

The walls are quite thin, but the rooms themselves are appointed very nicely (adorable headboards, and wonderful lighting for readers). I love the multi-outlets station on the desk - we charged all of our devices at once. There is ample storage beneath the sink in the bathroom which is a definite plus. Heads up - if you're staying with multiple people in the room, there is no separate water closet.

So here's what happened that wasn't so cool - there were some noisy young ladies in the room next to us, close to midnight. I had to call the front desk twice to get someone to come up and talk to them; I called back and asked to get another room. The lady who answered wasn't as immediately responsive as I would have liked, given the hour that I called (approaching 12:30 AM) but to her credit, she got us a corner room and was very discreet about bringing the new key up.

The other issue was billing. The initial reservation was made under my card, but one of my roommates checked in before me and was required to use her card. Although I checked out with a partial payment of cash, and handed the front desk person my card for the balance, my roommate's card was charged instead of mine. We checked out on the 14th, she apprised me of the situation on the 16th and was informed that an email with a receipt would be sent to me ASAP. I have not received an electronic receipt, but I was finally charged either yesterday or today (23rd or 24th).

Overall, it's in a good part of town - near the red line of the Metro, walking distance of the Convention Center, but away from the hustle and bustle, in eyeshot of the Capitol building. The front desk staff was cordial (led by my Katherine!) and helpful. Walls are thin, but the bed is comfy and the room is nicely done (dope red drawer).

I would stay here again, but I hope the billing is taken care of in a better fashion, and I hope they can do some sort of retrofitting to add more soundproofing.

Room Tip: Get a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia E, General Manager at The Liaison Capitol Hill, An Affinia Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Lizzykins_1913,

I will definitely let Katherine know what a stellar impression she left on you! And concierge too! The multi-outlet charging station does come in handy when you travel with tons of electronics! Please contact my office directly, I will email you a receipt ASAP.

Looking forward to hearing back and of course seeing you next time!
Best,
Claudia Eggspuhler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Liaison Capitol Hill, An Affinia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liaison Capitol Hill, An Affinia Hotel

Address: 415 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Capitol Hill , Downtown / Chinatown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Liaison Capitol Hill, An Affinia Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connect with comfort in one of our 343 newly renovated guest rooms! One of the top boutique hotels in Washington, DC, The Liaison Capitol Hill is inviting guests to experience our newest hotel updates. Our recent redesign completely transformed all guest rooms and corridors featuring modern lighting and sleek furnishings, creating an ambiance of timeless, contemporary living. The décor is inspired by our location in the heart of Washington, DC, highlighting the prominence of the capital city and its political landscape through bold colors. The result, in addition to a newly, renovated DC boutique hotel, is a sophisticated hot spot for politicians and the like to gather and socialize after a long day of tending to the affairs of our nation, providing guests with a powerful connection to the city as well as an urban hideaway away from prying eyes. The rooms feature flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi, iHome docks, modern furnishings, upgraded signature Affinia bedding and remodeled bathrooms. The hallways have been refurbished with new carpeting, wall decor and lighting to match the new guestroom décor and offer a transition between the buzz downstairs and the privacy upstairs. Boasting a prime location on Capitol Hill, The Liaison is the closest hotel to the U.S. Capitol. The Smithsonian, the National Mall, Union Station, and dozens of the country’s most visited museums and monuments are within walking distance. The Capitol Hill hotel is both a powerful bond to the nation’s capital and a comfortable escape as well. At in-house restaurant Art and Soul, celebrity Chef Art Smith lovingly creates his award-winning Southern-modern “food for the soul.” Our seasonal rooftop pool and bar make another spectacular setting, with views that highlight The Liaison’s central location between Union Station and the Capitol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Jetsetter, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Liaison Capitol Hill, An Affinia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Liaison Capitol Hill, An Affinia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.