We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and Beyond” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel to your Saves list
Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   415 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Capitol Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast Included in DC
Ranked #69 of 136 Hotels in Washington DC
Camarillo, California
1 review
“Above and Beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

This hotel was chosen for us by a wedding party, and it was perfect. The location is great and the hotel staff could not have been nicer. We were allowed to check-in early; the room was spacious, clean and modern; and the staff was incredibly accommodating. I ironed my shirt with the hotel iron that happened to be dirty and leave a mark. The hotel had the shirt cleaned and pressed for me at no charge and replaced the iron with a new clean one almost immediately. If plans call for another trip to the area, we will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiaisonCapitolHill, General Manager at Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear jennifer j,

How was the wedding you attended? I'm so glad you had a perfect stay, between the great location, nice staff, and modern clean rooms we offer at our boutique Washington, DC hotel. And of course, the actual wedding itself.

Very pleased to hear your request for early check-in was accommodated as well. Thank you again for your review on The Liaison Capitol Hill, and we next time you are in the area, please contact my office directly.

All my best,
Claudia Eggspuhler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    940
    858
    311
    114
    76
See reviews for
614
653
124
539
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We chose this hotel because we wanted to see the National Art Gallery and sculpture garden, among other museums on the mall. This is as close as you can get--but nothing can be reached without walking at least a few blocks so pack good walking shoes. When you exit the hotel and look left you see the capital building about two (long)blocks away, and the mall begins to the right of that. Hotel is a few blocks from union station and metro, half a mile walk to heart of chinatown and several blocks to several nice upscale restaurants. There is a very extensive cafe and take out catty corner to hotel was cheap easy alternative for breakfast, lunch or snack. Got a great deal for a 4 star hotel on name your own price, but beware as the parking is VERY EXPENSIVE.
This is a modern, european style hotel popular with foreign travelers. Very busy when we were there for cherry blossoms, but staff were friendly and efficient. Lobby rolled into comfortable seating and modern bar and restaurant with outdoor seating and lovely tables and glassware. Would have sat there and had a cocktail but there was a private party and hostess told us we might have to move inside in a short time so we went elsewhere. Great pillow menu--choose from 6 different types of pillow (including metallic, memory foam, and an herbal one!!!). Sabrina in guest services was a hoot, with a sweet southern accent and great banter, and sent me up two kinds to try. The king bed was great--wonderful mattress, bedding, and lots of pillows. Coffee pods in room were european blends and full-bodied--a nice touch. Decor was eclectic mix of modern stark with grey walls, patterned artwork and a zebra pillow on the lounge/sofa. The light in the bathroom had a motion sensor and turned on when you walked in, but required pushing a button to turn it off (a good thing, preventing turning off on you at an inopportune moment). Just wish the light was brighter in the bathroom and vanity (a pet peeve of ours--you need more when putting in contacts, shaving or--for my wife--applying makeup).
Concierge was as sweet and helpful as could be, and recommended several good restaurants in area and had menus for most of them. Was honest about hearsay vs. firsthand knowledge. We chose a not fancy but authentic thai restaurant on 6th street near chinatown that we enjoyed. However, parts of that area were run down and my wife wouldn't have felt safe walking alone at night.
Overall was great location for sight seeing--especially this end of the mall (there were bus tours that stopped near hotel for further points), but if you're looking for easy wallking for night life stay in georgetown and use the metro or buses for sightseeing during the day. This was a great deal when booked through name your own price. If you want to save money, find somewhere else to park ($48 a day) and eat at cafe catty corner to hotel for breakfast and snacks.

Room Tip: higher floors are quieter; we were on 9th floor away from elevator and had no noise issues (we are v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiaisonCapitolHill, General Manager at Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear bagelman21andwife,

Thank you so much for your detailed review on your recent stay at The Liaison Capitol Hill. How was the National Art Gallery? Currently there is a Picasso's Drawings exhibit which always captures a majority of my time in the gallery.

I'm really glad you were able to fully take advantage of our hotel's wonderful downtown central location by all the sightseeing you and your wife did; in addition to the pillow menu.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future, and thank you again for saying how lovely and friendly our staff was in efforts to enhance your experience.

All my best,
Claudia Eggspuhler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

This hotel is very nice and great for tourists because it is only a couple blocks away from bith the train station and the Capitol Building. I loved the fact that you could request different types of pillows for certain needs like back support or memory foam at no charge whatsoever. I loved staying here.

Room Tip: If you are travellkng with 3 or 4 people ask for connecting rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiaisonCapitolHill, General Manager at Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Dear Polina D,

Thank you for your kind comments about your stay at The Liaison Capitol Hill. I see that you came all the way from Seattle Washington, that is a long ways away from us here in Washington, DC, how did you enjoy your first stay?

The pillow menu is definitely a very neat and unique amenity that Affinia offers complimentary to our guests. Which ones did you try? My favorite is the sound pillow, it is the perfect last piece for a relaxing night with the good old iPod.

Let us know next time you're on the East Coast.

All my best,
Claudia Eggspuhler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We are visiting DC for the first time. After a lot of research, we chose this hotel and we're happy with our decision. It's maybe half a mile from Capitol Hill. It's probably a. Mile and a half from the Washington Monument so there is some walking required. A couple of the bus tours make stops at the hotel which is very convenient. The front desk staff and concierge staff. Are wonderfully helpful and friendly. Our room was small but very comfy and I loved having a couch to spread out on. The bed is so comfortable and they offer a variety of awesome pillows. There is a deli, a Starbucks and a Billy Goat Grill across the street that have great, reasonably priced options. It's only a few miles from Reagan International Airport. My biggest complaint is the thin walls...our first night we could clearly hear our neighbors sneezing attack and joked about going next door to offer him some allergy medicine! If we ever come back, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiaisonCapitolHill, General Manager at Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Dear Lisa N,

How did you enjoy your first trip to Washington, DC? It sounds as if you had a blast, and very happy with your decision on not only activities, restaurants, and tours, but your hotel as well. Helpful and friendly staff can play a huge role in a hotel's successful operation, and I believe with a combination of that and our comfortable beds and modern decor that you were more than impressed.

And you are right, the commute from the Reagan International Airport is a very easy few mile stretch. We look forward to seeing you again at The Liaison Capitol Hill for your second stay in our Nations Capitol.

All my best,
Claudia Eggspuhler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

I stayed one night in Washington, DC for a business meeting at the Capitol. This hotel was very close to the Capitol building and Congressman and Senator office complexes. The hotel was very nice and the room was comfortable. I will plan to stay again at this hotel on my next visit to DC.
The food and facilities were good as was the exercise room. The room I had was on the second floor and had a nice view. I thought there would be street noise but thatwas not the case.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiaisonCapitolHill, General Manager at Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Dear RXPK,

Thank you for your review on The Liaison Capitol Hill. It sounds as if the location was perfect for your business trip on The Hill. Literally right down the road from the Capitol, Congressman and Senator office complexes, they're visible from the front door. I'm happy that that room was comfortable for your stay as well and we very much look forward to the next time you plan a trip to Washington, DC.

All my best,
Claudia Eggspuhler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
183 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Hotel was nice and staff was great. Room decent size for downtown dc. Wasn't as crazy about the location. One cafe across from it but then have to go several blocks to union station for anything else. And after dark it doesn't feel like a very safe walk

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiaisonCapitolHill, General Manager at Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Dear jmc8683,

Thank you so much for your kind comments about The Liaison Capitol's superior staff. They truly are the backbone of our operation. Was there anything special that you were assisted with during your stay to make it great?

I'm glad you enjoyed the hotel room, and thank you for recognizing our downtown style for the seasoned traveler. We worked hard during the redesign process to ideally maximize and utilize our room space efficiently.

All my best,
Claudia Eggspuhler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Just back from an overnight stay at this hotel. We arrived early and were able to check in a little past 12 noon instead of 3 pm, which was great to allow us to head out early! The hotel check-in staff was excellent and very friendly. The hotel is clean, modern, updated and quiet. Location of the hotel is great as it's very convenient to Union Station, which is the hub of all rail travel in DC. Never once did I feel unsafe walking back to the hotel at midnight. Bar @ the hotel is great and has a great happy hour. The only thing we found to be a little bothersome (and again just a personal annoyance) was the fact the sheets in the beds are very crispy/crunchy sounding whenever you move. Not sure if they're starched but are very loud when rolling over in your sleep. Overall, a wonderful stay and would be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiaisonCapitolHill, General Manager at Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Dear jmc8683,

I am so glad our staff was able to accommodate your early check in, and how much of a positive impact this had on your stay. The check- in process should be efficient and smooth, just as you mentioned to provide convenience to our guests. I'm glad you were able to experience this.

We look forward to your next stay at The Liaison Capitol Hill, which will be just as wonderful as your first stay. And stay posted for our rooftop pool, with the same great happy hour deals all summer long.

All my best,
Claudia Eggspuhler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Downtown / Chinatown
The George
The George
#13 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,683 reviews
National Mall
Phoenix Park Hotel
Phoenix Park Hotel
#48 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill
Downtown / Chinatown
Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
JW Marriott Washington DC
#75 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel

Address: 415 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Capitol Hill , Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 136 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connect with comfort in one of our 343 newly renovated guest rooms! One of the top boutique hotels in Washington, DC, the Liaison Capitol Hill DC is inviting guests to experience our newest hotel updates. Our recent redesign completely transformed all guest rooms and corridors featuring modern lighting and sleek furnishings, creating an ambiance of timeless, contemporary living. The decor is inspired by our location in the heart of Washington, DC, highlighting the prominence of the capital city and its political landscape through bold colors. The result, in addition to a newly, renovated DC boutique hotel, is a sophisticated hot spot for politicians and the like to gather and socialize after a long day of tending to the affairs of our nation, providing guests with a powerful connection to the city as well as an urban hideaway away from prying eyes. The rooms feature flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi, iHome docks, modern furnishings, upgraded signature Affinia bedding and remodeled bathrooms. The hallways have been refurbished with new carpeting, wall decor and lighting to match the new guestroom decor and offer a transition between the buzz downstairs and the privacy upstairs. Boasting a prime location on Capitol Hill, The Liaison is the closest hotel to the U.S. Capitol. The Smithsonian, the National Mall, Union Station, and dozens of the country's most visited museums and monuments are within walking distance. The Capitol Hill hotel is both a powerful bond to the nation's capital and a comfortable escape as well. At in-house restaurant Art and Soul, celebrity Chef Art Smith lovingly creates his award-winning Southern-modern "food for the soul." Our seasonal rooftop pool and bar make another spectacular setting, with views that highlight The Liaison's central location between Union Station and the Capitol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.