We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local pub feeling. Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of James Hoban's

James Hoban's
1 Dupont Circle, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)
202-223-8440
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #451 of 2,710 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $5 - $17
Cuisines: American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Cross street: New Hampshire Ave
Transit: Dupont Circle Metro (South Exit)
Morehead City, NC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great local pub feeling. Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Stopped by four times in three days. First time we met Kyle the bartender, we knew we had found a good place in the Dupont Circle area. Kyle provided good drinks, good conversation, and great recommendations for other local places for us to visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    53
    25
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Irish Pub in Dupont Circle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

What a great time! We enjoyed the excellent service, view of the circle, and numerous menu options prepared authentically in the Irish/ British style. The Irish stew is outstanding, and the beer choices are good too. The service was friendly and welcoming. We arrived with only 5 minutes remaining in the lunch 'window', and they were nice enough to provide our meal at lunch prices. I definitely recommend it for anyone in the area!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Dupont Circle's best pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were told to go here for a pint from our hotel and we had the best evening. We sat next to 'the Professor" and had a history discussion of Dupont circle and much more. Very nice bar staff and manager. We went on half price burger night and it was delicious. Cooked perfect and huge, so good that we ended up back here our second night. Loved that they have soccer also on the tvs. Great place and would go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celbridge, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Being Irish, I do tend towards Irish bars when abroad. The steak was excellent - prepared the way I like it (amazing how very few places can do "medium well"), the waitress (the only one on duty despite it being busy) was very attentive and deserved every cent of her tips.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Drinks and Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Great Bar Staff friendly and efficient. Great advise on places to go and things to do. Had bar food which was very good and reasonably priced.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed James Hoban's also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to James Hoban's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage James Hoban's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.