We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love love love!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ICI Urban Bistro

ICI Urban Bistro
806 15th Street NW, Sofitel Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Dupont Circle)
(202) 730-8700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
ICI Urban Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #87 of 2,710 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Cross street: 15th St. & H St.
Transit: Mc Pherson square station (orange & blue line)
Description: Both iCi Urban Bistro and Le Bar are as vibrant and cosmopolitan as the District itself. Located one block from Lafayette Square and the White House, The Smithsonian, and other renowned museums and monuments, the Bistro holds its own among the trendy Washington DC list of "places to be seen". The dynamic space welcomes guests with cool, modern ambiance and exciting innovations on traditional French cuisine. You won’t find a more desirable place for business meetings, special occasions, or dinners with friends. There is even a private dining area that accomodates up to 25 people.
Yorktown, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Love love love!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Reserved a spot because of Open Table 1,000 points, and what a lovely surprise. Yes, we waited a bit for the entrées but it wasn't excessive and well worth it. The duck breast was succulent and tasty, the fish special was phenomenal, the crab cakes and tuna were superb. The desserts were spectacular as well, with their take on lemon meringue pie the most innovative and delectable of the bunch. Really, not enough superlatives to describe the meal and service. We'll come here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    54
    14
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, OH
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Ooh La La”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. Had breakfast here twice and dinner once. All excellent. There is nothing that I can say that could be improved.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Top Contributor
282 reviews 282 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Food did not make up for the service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stopped here for breakfast on a Sunday morning. Maybe they were having an "off" day. We sat outside on the patio. Our server came over-did not introduce himself, say good morning or anything to that nature. I ordered water and my friend ordered French pr. coffee. Her coffee came, the guy who brought the coffee asked if I wanted anything-told him I ordered water. Our server came back a few minutes later-we ordered and I asked again for water-then finally received water. I ordered an omelet, a banana smoothie and my friend ordered an egg sandwich. Our food was good. Our service-not so much. Our server had a tray of croissants and such he went to every table except ours to ask if they wanted a bread. After our food came, he didn't come to check on us and ask how our food was at all. When he brought the check and we paid-he didn't say thank your or have a nice day just walked off. Food here did not make up for the service. He seemed almost put out to be waiting on us.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at ICI Urban Bistro, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We pride ourselves in warm, personal service, and I am sorry that your experience did not meet that standard whatsoever. Please know that your situation has been addressed by Jean-Christophe Gras, our General Manager, who takes all feedback seriously in order to maintain the quality of service that we are so well known for. I can assure you that this is atypical, and we hope to welcome you back so that we can show you a true Sofitel dining experience at Ici Urban Bistro.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, South Carolina
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice lunch experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We tried this restaurant for a business lunch. Surprisingly, it was not very crowded at noon. Service was very good. The menu is not your typical lunch menu with more costly entrees and appetizers. Everything that we tried was excellent including the broccoli soup, the salad nicoise, the salmon, and the orrechietti with pancetta. If you want an uncommon lunch menu, a well prepared and presented meal in a nice atmosphere and are willing to spend around $30 per person you will not be disappointed here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“nice breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We were staying at the hotel and had breakfast on our first morning, great sevice, lovely breakfast and nice continental feel.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ICI Urban Bistro also viewed

 

Been to ICI Urban Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ICI Urban Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.