We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing steak, atmosphere, and service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ICI Urban Bistro

ICI Urban Bistro
806 15th Street NW, Sofitel Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Dupont Circle)
(202) 730-8700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
ICI Urban Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #131 of 2,563 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Cross street: 15th St. & H St.
Transit: Mc Pherson square station (orange & blue line)
Description: Both iCi Urban Bistro and Le Bar are as vibrant and cosmopolitan as the District itself. Located one block from Lafayette Square and the White House, The Smithsonian, and other renowned museums and monuments, the Bistro holds its own among the trendy Washington DC list of "places to be seen". The dynamic space welcomes guests with cool, modern ambiance and exciting innovations on traditional French cuisine. You won’t find a more desirable place for business meetings, special occasions, or dinners with friends. There is even a private dining area that accomodates up to 25 people.
Kalamazoo
Level Contributor
112 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Amazing steak, atmosphere, and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We saw all of the excellent reviews of ICI Urban Bistro and noticed that they could fit us in via Open Table. So we booked it and are so glad we did! We started off with a cheese tray and side salads. Both were delicious. Then I had one of the better steaks in my life. A true medium with pink center that was perfectly marinated. The atmosphere was great and the service was fantastic. I will return to this restaurant next time I'm in DC!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at ICI Urban Bistro, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for your visit to iCi. I am glad you tried the steak because it is a favorite of our guests, served with a mix of seasonal sides. It is refreshing to have a delicious cut, perfectly cooked, but in an environment other than a traditional steakhouse. And the cheese plate is one of our classics, and one of my personal favorites! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to D.C.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    62
    16
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“French Style in the middle of the White House .........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Elegant place and amazing food. If you like good manners, charming and french style food, THIS WILL BE THE PLACE. I went with my husband many times and we celebrated our aniversary there. Is so romatic! And if you tell them that is your aniversary or birthday they will do something special for you....

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at ICI Urban Bistro, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
We do love special occasions!! Thank you for your loyalty and for choosing iCi to celebrate your anniversary. We pride ourselves in being a petite piece of Paris tucked in downtown Washington D.C. We look forward to your next holiday, and to welcoming you back again.

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, Falkland Islands
Level Contributor
101 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent food, patchy service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Ate here several times when staying at the hotel, both for breakfast and dinner.

Menu was impressive and varied, and everything we had was superb. Wine list was comprehensive and reasonably priced.

Only slight negatives were that whilst some staff were attentive and professional, others were difficult to keep track of and would disappear when you wanted service.

Oh, and don't order the Parisien breakfast as you get the basket of pastries regardless of what you order. In effect you're paying $20 for some fresh fruit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at ICI Urban Bistro, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We take our guests opinions seriously, and strive to maintain the high level of service our guests have come to expect. I am glad you were able to try the restaurant for different meals to experience a range of Chef Loquet's menus. We do, indeed, include the basket of French breads and pastries with a breakfast entrée order, but some guests enjoy the fresh fruit juice, choice of hot tea or coffee and side of seasonal fruit that is included in the Parisien. We have something for every taste!

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We have come here 3 years in a row the Marathon weekend and this gem is always able to accommodate us. The food, service and quiet ambience are great. There was a spa/low calorie menu, too. I had the off menu special of pan seared halibut over fall vegetables that included celeriac, radish, turnip, squash - so delicious!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at ICI Urban Bistro, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
We are always so proud of our marathon runners! Thank you for your loyalty to Sofitel D.C. You mentioned two of my favorite things! The De-Light menu is a fabulous menu option in our restaurant and In Room Dining. As you noticed, the dishes are designed by our Executive Chef, Franck Loquet, to create calorie conscious options without sacrificing flavor. And the plat du jour of fish is always a treat, because Chef uses only the freshest ingredients, many of which are sourced locally and purchased at our neighboring farmer's market. I hope your marathon was a success and we look forward to welcoming you back next year!

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamford, ct
Level Contributor
317 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Decadent breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is a French restaurant, and thus French pastries, French cafe filtre, and relaxed French ambiance abound. Breakfast was very good--our friend had the plate of smoked fishes, my husband had the ewgg white omelet and I the Parisien, because nobody told me that the French pastries come with any entree you order--so we were literally swimming in croissants!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at ICI Urban Bistro, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Too many croissants and pastries sounds to me like a great problem to have!! I am happy to know you were able to indulge in our delicious breakfast in iCi. It is a fabulous way to enjoy a fresh a la carte breakfast, with choices for every palette. I hope you will be back soon, we will have the croissants warm and ready for you!

Truly,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ICI Urban Bistro also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to ICI Urban Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ICI Urban Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.