We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "Must see" while in Washington St.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount St. Helens

Mount St. Helens
WA 98649
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$211*
and up
Private Tour: Mount St Helens Nature Walk and Ape...
Activities: Mountaineering, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: While access to the still-steaming crater is forbidden, tourists flock to see what remains of this famous volcano.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
TX
Level Contributor
92 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A "Must see" while in Washington St.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We visited Seattle in September and rented a car to drive south to see the volcano. We were not disappointed. The sun was out and the view from Johnston Ridge was amazing. There was seam coming from the creator. The National Park Service provided periodic educational presentations that described the geologic history of Mt. Saint Helens. Inside the visitors center there was a film about the eruption and the effects of the lava flow which was excellent. To enter the visitors center there was a small fee. On the road to Johnston Ridge there are two other visitor centers that also have information on the mountain if you want more information prior to arriving at Johnston Ridge.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    38
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Magnificient and breathing-taking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Been to the Johnston Ridge Observatory three times. For the first two times there, the top half of the mountain was covered by thick cloud. Clear blue sky came by the third time and only then could see the crater still smoldering. If don't want to waste time driving 20 miles to Johnston Ridge and then back, stop by the visitor centre and check out the visibility. On a clear day, one could see Mount St. Helens from the visitor centre. A must-do to hike around.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral UK
Level Contributor
539 reviews
276 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
“An iconic mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were driving south from Seattle and wanted to see Mt St Helens on our way past. It is a 50 mile each way to get close, but you can see the mountain from a different perspective along the way. At each bend along the road, the damaged caldera comes into view.

We stopped off at 2 visitor centers -both were interesting and informative. The original devastation of the area was extreme, but nature is resilient and and most of the forest has recovered extremely well and shows little or no evidence of the carnage.

We had planned to drive as far as we could, but it was quite cloudy, so we turned back early. I suspect we will regret our decision.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“RIP Harry truman - Windy Ridge and Mt St Helens - well, its a Blast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Rest in Peace Harry truman and 57 others who were vaporized by the blast on May 18th 1980. Windy ridge is an amazing drive through the blast zone where you can see life regenerating after the eruption 33 years ago. The area around spirit lake is coming back though slowly, further out there is more evidence of a forest returning mixed in with the toppled trees that look like matchsticks fallen like dominoes. The view from the top of the steps on Windy Ridge is incredible. I could see Mt Adams, Rainier, Mt Hood and Mt St Helens all at once. and a grand view of spirit lake. You can really feel the wind up there and know why its called windy ridge. On the way back stop by the Miners' car, a car parked by two people who went 1 mile in to a cabin the day before and were killed the next morning in the blast. We stayed at Lone fir resort in Cougar after which is where you get the permits for hiking now. Cougar Bar and Grill is a good stop for dinner. - Get the Sasquatch Burger which is enough food for three to four people. its 3 patties on sourdough mixed in with chili and chesse and more. its a crazy dish but I had to try it. I only ate half of it before I was stuffed. Stay for one of the guide ranger talks at Windy ridge given throughout the day at Windy Ridge. Lots of trails to hike around St Helens. Some you need a climbers registration permit for. There's 24 hour gas and a convenience store in Cougar by the registration area. Pay your respects to Harry Truman whose spirit you can hear in the sound of the dragonflies buzzing around you. Hike the Truman Trail in his memory. RIP HARRY.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
93 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Made the trip from Vancouver,WA. to Silverlake along Hwy I - 5.Went East along W - 504 to Huffstadt Bluffs viewing Center and had a great lunch..The view was just great and so was the lunch.Then went on up to the Johnson Ridge Observatory and there so many cars that I did not try to get in.Just took a few shots a Mt.Saint Helens.On the way down I did stop at the Forest Learning Center and took a short break.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount St. Helens also viewed

 

Been to Mount St. Helens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount St. Helens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.