We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Staircase Escalante National Monument
UT
435-826-5499
Improve this listing
Activities: Camping, Rock climbing, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This massive national monument holds endless sights within thousands of acres.
silver spring
Level Contributor
248 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Grand Staircase - Escalante is a nearly 2 million acre tract of land located between the north rim of the Grand Canyon and Bryce Canyon National Park. Most visitors will see either the southern side of the park along Route 89 or the northern side of the monument along Route 12. Even if this is all you see, the park contains great vistas and wonderful hiking opportunities.

If you are able and have the right type of vehicle, drive along the unpaved roads in the park and take some of the more isolated hikes. The park is a vast wilderness, almost too massive to comprehend, and the further inside the park you go, the more you realize what an incredible place this is.

One strong word of advice. Avoid the town of Escalante, with its corrupt, money-grubbing police department. All you need is an out of state plate in order to get stopped for some imagined infraction.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    18
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fontana, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“The Biggest National Monument”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Spanning nearly 1.9 Million Acres, this was the last place in the continental United States to be mapped. The imense vastness is almost overwhelming, but you just have to take sections to see and visit. I started out on Febuary 6th with the temperture at a brisk 12 degrees, and proceeded to Drive along highway 89 from Kanab, Ut up to highway 12 to the Visitor Center at Cannonville. After stooping there, I then went down to Kodachrome Basin State Park. After all this I found out I had only scratched the surface, but the other roads were dirt and they were frozen. There is so much to do and so much more to see. I would advise to come in Spring or Fall.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
397 reviews
158 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Vistas, Canyons and Expanses!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This place is incredible. It is too big to take in! The Drive along the ridge has many stopping points and the look down the canyons is incredible! This is must stop to think about the perspectives and enjoy the views. It is on the way to Capitol Reef from Bryce Canyon. Examine the parks on the maps as the surrounding areas and this park are all worthy of multiple trips!!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Escape Goats, Escalante, Utah”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I recently visited Escalante, Utah for a hiking vacation. I used Escape Goats as a guide service for my hiking. Shawn was my guide. He did a great job of planning interesting hikes. These included a variety of slot canyons and Native American pictoglyphs,artifacts and campsites. The scenery was outstanding. I enjoyed several days of hiking. Shawn gave me ideas for safe hikes on my own in the late part of the day. Shawn was very good at challenging my abilities without pushing too much. I enjoy being challenged so he included several large elevation changes and a canyon with a water crossinf (about 10 inches deep and cold). I enjoyed his company and respect for the natural beauty.
At the end of my trip a snow storm was on the way in. Shawn met with me in the morning and advised me to leave quickly or the roads could become dangerous. He willingly canceled our last day and had no tour, for my safety.
I recommend Escape Goats as a choice of guide services in the Escalante area.
Contact: escapegoattours@gmail.com

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermiston, Oregon
Level Contributor
186 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Wow! You walk into a visitor center expecting a bored 20 something , and you get a noted paleontologist!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Went into the visitor center mainly to stretch legs and have a bathroom break , at Big Water , Utah , saw some pretty neat displays , and this white , longish haired gentleman comes out & says hi! , I expected what one usually finds at visitor centers , a bored kid or an overworked ranger - This guy is a paleontologist (read bone hunter) that discovered a new dinosaur! Found it about two miles from the visitor center! Got quite a lot of information in 15 or 20 minutes! Found that there are currently 15 universities doing multiple excavations in this really big , largely unexplored area! Pretty neat!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Staircase Escalante National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Grand Staircase Escalante National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Staircase Escalante National Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.