We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bicycle paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of George S. Mickelson State Trail

George S. Mickelson State Trail
SD
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 112-mile rails-to-trails project which goes through the Black Hills.
Spearfish
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Bicycle paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

The Mickelson Train is a great way to see the Black Hills and one of our favorite things about living there. Well maintained, readily accessible and very inexpensive, the Mickelson Trail offers 114 miles (give or take a few) miles of riding and hiking throughout the year. Snowmobiles are allowed on limited sections January through March but otherwise, motorized vehicles are not permitted. It's long enough that as a general rule you are alone to enjoy the scenery. There is water available and bathroom facilities at a number of the trailheads but not all. It's a great way to spend a couple of hours or a couple of days.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    6
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A long trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Only did 24 miles of this trail out of Hill City, the going was hilly but is well worth the effort. The entire trail is 160 miles long on an old train track

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Mystic Trailhead”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

I have ridden the entire trail in the past and was able to get out on it for a few miles with my daughter. This is a great trail for anyone from beginners to advanced. Keep in mind you are on old rail line and you are in the hills. Yes you will see some junk cars etc, but 95% of the trail is awesome! I live in Colorado and have ridden some of the best single track and this is a whole different experience. If you cannot do the whole trail I highly recommend this trailhead. It is quite a ways off the beaten path, but worth the effort to get there. After 7 hours in the car with my daughter we hit the trail for a quick ride before the weather turned nasty, be prepared, changes quickly. I loaded up my hardtail and attached my daughters Burly trailer,
Loaded her in and we were off. Hit 6 quick miles before the weather came in. Wished we had more time but had to turn around. Next day it rained all day so the trail riding was out. Goto this trailhead if you have limited time. Highly reccomend!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Snowmobiling!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Love the trail, great riding! A must to do in the winter!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkston, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Snowmobiling paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Along with the rest of the trail system in the Black Hills, this is a snowmobilers paradise.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George S. Mickelson State Trail also viewed

 
Badlands National Park, SD
 

Been to George S. Mickelson State Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George S. Mickelson State Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.