We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Solid Accomplishment!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harney Peak

Harney Peak
SD
Improve this listing
Activities: Hiking, Mountaineering
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At over 7,200 feet, this is the Black Hills tallest mountain.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Solid Accomplishment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We parked at Sylvan Lake (had lunch from their snack bar on the porch) and then hiked to the top of Harney Peak. It was quite challenging, more because of it's length. It is over 3 miles up and is a steady climb the whole way. We went up on trailhead #9 and then returned part on #9, but then switched to #4 which made it more of a loop, but it too is over 3 miles. There was a refreshing temperature change at the top and we thought the small pond hidden in the big rocks was pretty cool once we got to the top of the peak and explored the tower and surrounding area. Definitely bring water for each hiker and allow 4-5 hours for the hike. It took us 4, but that included our stop at the top. The beetle infestation is sad as so many trees have been cut down, but it doesn't really take away from the accomplishment of completing and enjoying the hike.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    16
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hard to get better!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our hike up to harney peak. The views were captivating and even though it was a little hard at times our family made it to the top. So worth it!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Level Contributor
100 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A hot, long, thirsty but fantastic day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This hike was my one 'must do' hike in Custer State Park. My brother and I parked at Sylvan Lake and headed off up trail number 9 through the area devastated by the pine beetles and up towards the summit of Harney Peak. The hike up is very enjoyable and never gets to steep, more of a gentle climb. The view from the stone fire tower at the summit is one of the best I've ever seen - 360 degree panoramic views of the Black Hills, we were lucky and had a gorgeous clear sunny day. As we started early in the morning there summit was pretty quiet when we arrived though it wasn't long before it became pretty busy, though there are loads of rocks to sit on and have peaceful moments soaking in the views. Instead of taking the same route down we went a different way and ended up doing the Willow Creek trail and the Lost Cabin trail.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
740 reviews
252 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 553 helpful votes
“Up trail #4 and down #9 makes a loop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

This is an interesting trail especially if u make it a loop. Depending on your conditioning the uphill can certainly be challenging so give yourself lots of time. The summit can be windy and cool. The forestry cutting has likely lessened the beauty but it is still worth a hike!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
356 reviews
243 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 489 helpful votes
“A very nice hike, not well marked”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

In spite of research indicating it was well marked, it's not. The beetle has done a lot of damage, which has knocked down many of the trees with blazes, so we once went the wrong way and other times went for long ways not being sure. We went up trail 9 and down trail 4, which we were glad we had done. The very top has iron stairs installed to help you reach the high point, which felt a bit like cheating. Not long after starting trail 9 it seems to split, with boulders blocking vehicles from the path on the right - that's the trail, not the unblocked tracks to the left. Coming down on 4 gives you a great look at the Cathedral Spires, which I was glad not to have missed. Up and down and stopping took 3.5 hours.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harney Peak also viewed

 

Been to Harney Peak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harney Peak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.