We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtakingly beautiful!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Needles Highway

Needles Highway
Custer State Park, SD
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 232 Attractions in South Dakota
Type: Scenic Drives, Landmarks
Activities: Driving, Watching sunrise/sunset
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This scenic drive passes by tall rock formations and through tunnels.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Breathtakingly beautiful!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I had never heard of the Needles Highway but my husband insisted that we go. Ok! Sure!
WOW, WOW, WOW!! It was absolutely beautiful and really I can't find the words to describe it. If your in the area, you must go. You will not be disappointed!!!
We had to get out and measure our dually truck to make sure we could fit through the one smaller tunnel which added to the adventure!
Many places to stop and hike, picnic or take pictures.
An absolute must see!!! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    36
    3
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lacrosse, wi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We took this drive on the recommendation of a friend. While it was cloudy and drizzled, it was still beautiful. The kids enjoyed the tunnels and we will definitely return!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
166 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Scenic drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

One of the best scenic drives I've been on. Everywhere you look you think your looking at a post card. There are a number of tunnels that are carved out of the rock that get progressively smaller, with the most narrow being just over 8' wide. This makes for a very interesting drive if your on a tour bus. The cathedral spires and needle spire are a great sight to see.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Unending Neck Snapping Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Luckily i didn't have to drive the winding highway and enjoyed gazing at one spectacular view after another. I'm sure we would have enjoyed are just as many new sights if we had turned around and drove in the opposite direction.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wall Township, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Don't miss this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We spent four days in the Black Hills. When I ask my three kids what their favorite part of the trip was they all said "the needles highway!" and I agree. The scenery and experience is like no other.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Needles Highway also viewed

 

Been to Needles Highway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Needles Highway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.