We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Peaceful, Fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raystown Lake

Raystown Lake
PA
Improve this listing
Activities: Fishing
Attraction details
Erwinna, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Peaceful, Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We have visited Lake Raystown for 2 summers in a row with 3 other families. We rented two houseboats from 7 points Marina that comfortably housed all 16 of us. We go mid-week when the lake is pretty quiet. I hear weekends are busier, but the mid-week is very quiet. The children aged 5-12 say it is their best vacation ever (and they are well travelled children). They love sliding into the lake from the top deck of the boat, tubing, waterskiing, wakeboarding, kayaking and swimming. At night they love to sit in the hot tub and watch for shooting stars. It is very dark here at night, so the shooting stars are easily seen. They also enjoy hiking around the lake and the magnificent views, visiting an old cemetery, watching for wildlife (especially eagles) and climbing on the cliffs. It is really a beautiful setting for a fun, relaxing family vacation. One note, the first year we rented from 7 points, our boat was quite perfect, but this year it was quite dirty. We had them come back aboard to do some cleaning before we took off, but we still had to do a lot of cleaning ourselves to bring it to our standards. Not sure if they changed crews or procedures or what happened, but it appears that they did not clean the boat at all this year after having an immaculate boat the previous year, this was very disappointing.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    13
    6
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensburg PA USA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Great time away. Good way to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a great two night stay in the area. The key is to relax, nice place to unplug. If you are looking for fun, excitement and nightlife, you should look somewhere else. Beautiful outdoor area. Check the overlooks out and the dam is pretty cool. The lake very clear and clean. We found the people very friendly and very welcoming to outsiders. I forgot I was 20 miles from Penn State and only packed my Ohio State gear, no one gave my crap. The locals are great. There is a Super WalMart very close if you forget anything. We rented a cabin in the wood that you had to have 4x4 to get to and it was great. Nothing to do but chop wood and stay warm. Can't wait to back. Just keep in mind you out in the middle of nowhere. And 7Points Has boat rentals. Enjoy being unplugged!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“A Nice Area to Spend The Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Our family decided to visit the Lake for the day - we chose the area of the lake near Entriken & Lake Raystown Resort. We visited the marina for lunch, spent the afternoon at the waterpark, and then explored the nearby public beach. We also visited the nearby Trough Creek State Park. Between these relatively close destinations, there is certainly no shortage of things to do - boating, beach activities, hiking. I would certainly recommend for an outdoors-minded family!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Glorified Campsite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Cabins are clean but no frills. Kitchen is minimally equipped but functional.Our cabin was by the lake so veiw was great. Hiking trails had to drive to get started but nice once on them. We did not eat at resturant but loved feeding the fish at the Marina. Bike riding not for the novice as many tough hills.Water park was a few slides but fun. Staff was bored young adults.Mini golf was in need of rehaul not just repair. It could be a beautiful resort but without upgrade is really a glorfied campsite.Back to nature but no frills!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Quiet uncrowned beach. We visited on Labour Day weekend and shared the beach with less than a dozen people

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raystown Lake also viewed

 

Been to Raystown Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raystown Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.