We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay, but very out of the way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Raystown Lake

Raystown Lake
PA
Improve this listing
Activities: Fishing
Attraction details
Hamilton, Virginia
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Good place to stay, but very out of the way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We camped at seven points in the Ridge Camp for 2 nights. The price was right. The campsite easily accommodated our 2 families (9 people in total) in tents. It rained the 1st night into the mid-morning of the 2nd day, which was a bummer - but, we survived. We hiked at Trough Creek State Park, rented a boat at 7 Points Marina & had one meal at the Raystown Resort - which was ok. For $50 for 2 nights, it's worth the trip.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    13
    6
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Beautiful unspoiled lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming to Raystown lake for years. If you're looking for touristy sights and fine dining, this isn't the place for you. But if you're looking for natural beauty, fresh water, and fun in the sun, be sure to stop. It's great for camping, kayaking, recreational boating and swimming.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“DO NOT USE TROPHY GUIDE SERVICE!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Trophy guide service is one man named Sparky Price. We attempted to fish Striper with a 4 man group in mid july 2013 and were sadly disappointed with the bait and switch that was pulled. To begin with, the trip was to begin at 1:00am. We waited on the doc for an hour before the boat finally appeared. Getting aboard the boat, we noticed that there were not enough seats to accommodate 4 fishing and a captain. as a result, one of us was made to sit on a bucket in the middle of the deck ( not very safe or comfortable for a 6 hour trip). Once we were on the boat and out on the lake, Sparky then identified that we would be "taking turns" fishing rather than everyone getting a pole and trying their luck. This would not have been an issue if the cost per person was not close to $100. Clearly, this boat was not setup for four fishermen, but sparky had no problem keeping this information to himself until we were out on the water.

As you may have guessed, the fishing was terrible. This guy had no clue where the fish were even with a fish finder. We fished 4.5 hours with absolutely no action. It was not until about 6:00am that Sparky allowed us to change the bait and move to Alewife. We had a little luck with a couple of hits but the opportunity only lasted literally 15 minutes right before the sun came up. The issue here with the tiny boat was that we finally got our own rod, but Sparky was consistently in the way setting up rods that when a hit came in, we could not get to the line because he was in the way. Still no fish caught.

This was the worst charter I have ever used: boat too small, didn't change bait for 4.5 hours so we missed all opportunity to catch anything else, and the guide was less than the experienced fisherman we were looking for. He may have been good at this in the 80s (nice pic on the website from over 30 years ago.....very misleading), but not anymore. Definitely use anyone but trophy guide service.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Green, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing overlooks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stopped by Ridenour Overlook and Hawn's Overlook (about 15 minutes from Huntingdon), and I thought both spots were incredible. Great views of the dam and north end of the lake. Glad we found out about these!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Maid to steal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

stolen watch by maid service at the Raytown lake lodge. Restaurant was in need of TLC, food was fair. Management never called back about the stolen watch from laodge room.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raystown Lake also viewed

 

Been to Raystown Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raystown Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.