We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a pleasant place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amish Country

Amish Country
OH
Improve this listing
Activities: Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Regions located through Holmes, Tuscarawas and Wayne Counties that offer visitors a glimpse of the unique culture and traditional values of the Amish.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Such a pleasant place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I recently traveled from Columbus, OH, to the Amish country in Ohio - along US-62 to Millersburg, Berlin, then along OH-39 to Sugarcreek. It is a very pleasant trip - the scenery is very beautiful, and all the Amish places are wonderful. There are some amazing cheese stores, like Heini's Cheese Chalet near Berlin and the Guggisberg Cheese Factory on OH-557. If you follow OH-39 after Sugarcreek, there is the Breitenbach Winery with some excellent wines - I liked especially the Fire Frost and the Dandelion Wine. In Walnut Creek there is the Coblentz Chocolatey with some finest chocolates, and in Sugarcreek the Swiss Village downtown is like a fairy tale, with the amazing world's largest cuckoo clock singing!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    23
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Berlin RV Park....HEATED Restrooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Berlin RV Park in the heart of Ohio's Amish Country. This is a very nice campground with clean heated restrooms that have private shower rooms. We checked in on Saturday after the office was closed but all the information we needed was provided including the WiFi password. The office is also closed on Sunday. Rates were posted for all types of hook ups and discounts. They are a Good Sam Park but also give a senior/veteran discount which is even better. I would give this campground the excellent rating if there was a laundry room on site. There is a very nice, clean, modern coin laundry in nearby Millersburg. We definitely will stay here again when we are in the area. FYI...it is on a busy road which may be a concern to some but not for us.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great weekend getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I am fascinated by the Amish way of life and was excited to visit this past June. I can't say enough good things about my trip there! The restaurants have the most delicious "home-cooked" meals and the people are so kind and friendly and really make you feel comfortable and at home. There is so much to see and do---Horseback riding, fishing, shopping at the craft stores, antique stores, fresh farm stands, and markets. Most of the lodging in the area is b&b style, or small cabins and inns. I just loved it and can't wait to go back!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Many attractions in one place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I visited what I would term "The Amish Country Loop" in Ohio a month ago. It was an easy 1/2-day excursion. Kidron, Berlin, Walnut Creek, Millersburg - each possessed their own intrigue.

Don't miss Lehman's Store, the quaint Schisler's Cheese Shop, Heini's (ultra) Cheese Shop, the craft shops in Millersburg, maybe even the livestock auction along the way.

You'll see the way these folks farm their land as you drive through the area. It's quite an education, if you're not familiar with their way of life.

ENJOY!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Well worth the time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed the area. The food and attractions were excellent! We have visited several times and have never had a bad visit. I recommend a visit to one of the Amish homes for a look at how they live.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amish Country also viewed

 

Been to Amish Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amish Country, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.