We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth an extra drive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beartooth Pass

Beartooth Pass
U.S. Highway 212, MT
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 405 Attractions in Montana
Type: Scenic Drives, Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Outdoors
Activities: Driving, Snowmobiling
Attraction details
Pinecrest, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“worth an extra drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We actually had just left Yellowstone and drove north and turned left to the Chief Joseph hwy ( also a beautiful drive). We needed to get to Cody as we did not have a reservation, and for some reason, the 1st week in September was extremely busy!!! there were numerous large bus tours filling hotels and motels. We went to the Buffalo Bill Museum ( amazing place) after we found lodging next to the Holiday inn in a cabin setting ( very nice) same owner as the Holiday inn and the comfort inn next door)

The next day, we did a lot.. We went back up to the Beartooth highway after trying to see wild horses outside of Cody to no avail ( road was washed out and Chevy Impalas are not 4 wheel drives. The Drive was awe inspiring. There was minimal snow patches but some melted snow lakes. There were no buses!!!! There was no construction and we really enjoyed the drive. The meadows were pretty above the timber line.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pearl, MS
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beartooth Pass - Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We toured southwestern Montana during our visit to Yellowstone in August 2013. I would like to note as other reviews have stated, Beartooth Pass should not be missed if you're in the Yellowstone area, period. This is one of the best drives in the country. Charles Kuralt was right without a doubt. We proceeded through the Lamar Valley and onto Cooke City to Red Lodge, MT. I would suggest being prepared for a full day drive especially if you are not staying close to Cooke City or centrally located within Yellowstone Park. The best of the drive (overlooks, and scenic views) are closest to Red Lodge, MT, Additionally if you have the time, the Chief Joseph Scenic Highway is great. We included both with a stop in Cody, WY. Important - due to the limited seasonal use of the Beartooth Pass Highway, repairs and construction are ongoing during the summer periods so be patient and enjoy the trip!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“One of the best drives EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

If you plan to visit Yellowstone, you might as well include this drive in your plan. We went in early July, which was probably one of the best times. As we drove up, we saw lot of snow as well.
The lush green fields and mountains topped with snow and numerous crystal clear lakes made the drive well worth it!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Take your camera!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

What an amazing road! Not a bad view anywhere! Bring an extra SD card or film, you'll wish you had it. Visit every overlook as they are there for a reason. Drive carefully as there are a lot of motorcycles. The only
downfall is the amount of construction but in the long run that will only improve your next experience there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Wow...Just Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Just got back from a 9 day trip to Yellowstone from Seattle area on our motorcycles. We left Columbus MT in the morning and headed to Yellowstone via Beartooth. IT was a crystal clear and very breezy day....great to experience Beartooth on 2 wheels. Just awesome road and spectacular views. You just keep climbing and climbing. Lots of turnouts for photo ops. Def would go back and do it again!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beartooth Pass also viewed

Montana, United States
Glacier National Park, MT
 
Glacier National Park, MT
 

Been to Beartooth Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beartooth Pass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.