We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glacier National Park

Glacier National Park
PO Box 128, MT 59936
406-888-7800
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I cannot rave enough about Glacier NP; it is breathtaking, serene, isolated, and packs a punch to your senses. I never felt crowded or rushed, as I have in bigger national parks, and it felt more "real"...whatever that means to you...in the sense that it was less inhabited and marketed. The views are stunning, simply put, and it is worth an afternoon of your day.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    749
    68
    23
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Snow Covered Peaks, Waterfalls, and Stunning Scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Took the Going to the Sun road early during the week of the 4th of July. There was little traffic and we were able to go up to the top without stopping. The pull-offs were perfectly placed for pictures. The visitor's center was still covered in snow. We hiked around on the snow for a while (didn't do a trail, just played in the snow). We brought lunch with us and ate it sitting on the wall on the far end of the parking lot. The visitor's center at the east side of the park was nice as well. The Native American information was helpful in understanding how important it is for us to take care of these national treasures.

Even in July, most of the trails were covered in snow. Most of them were still closed. We did not plan to hike here but did enjoy playing in the snow.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Very pretty views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

In comparing Glacier national park to Yosemite or Yellowstone national parks, both of the latter parks rate higher. I really enjoyed my trip to Glacier, the hiking trails were very well groomed. The only real downfall was the amount of people on the trails. I definitely didn't get away from it all!! Plus, I was really nervous because people brought their babies in their arms and tiny children to just run around. The hiking trails in many places are very narrow and I had visions of children falling off the mountains to certain death. Yes, we did see a black bear, some mountain sheep and elk on this trip.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustenburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“If you like winter beauty, you will LOVE Glacier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I was not able to complete the full route through Glacier, as the road was still closed. Bt I drove as far as I ould from both sides, and it was magnificent! I WILL go back, and I will spend more time there. For those who love snow and ice and glaciers, this is as good as it gets.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sauk City, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hiking the Avalanche Lake Trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My grown daughter and i hiked the trail on a beautiful late spring day in May. We took many awesome pictures on the way up, including those of a young deer, standing only five feet from us. When we reached the lake, we were informed by other hikers that we had just missed seeing a mother grizzly and her two cubs. They had chased a young moose into the other side of the lake and proceeded to come around and try to catch it when it came out of the water. The moose came out of the water, very tired, it was a long swim, and stayed by the ranger and hikers. After a few minutes he ran off and the bears stopped 3/4's of the way around the lake. The ranger was telling people to leave, luckily there were two wildlife photographers there, they caught everything with their huge camera lenses. They showed us their fabulous footage, how lucky was that. Then we got to enjoy the beautiful lake and mountains in all their glory, can't wait to go back, we heard early June is best, not so crowded, and the sun road would be open.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glacier National Park also viewed

Glacier National Park, MT
Glacier National Park, MT
 
Glacier National Park, MT
Glacier National Park, MT
 

Been to Glacier National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glacier National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.