We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like the Ocean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Michigan

Lake Michigan
IL
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #13 of 1,208 attractions in Illinois
Type: Bodies of Water
Activities: Scuba diving, Biking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Chicago sits on the shore of this Great Lake.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Like the Ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

If you've never seen a Great Lake, you should make it a point to see one. Lake Michigan isn't the largest Great Lake but it seemed oceanic. It goes on forever. We took a cruise that afforded a great view of the Chicago Skyline. At sunrise the lake blends with the sky and you can't tell where the horizon is. Being from Arizona, we don't have water like this anywhere in the state, and I am jealous. As much as I love the desert, I could sit and stare at this huge body of water for hours at a time. My only regret is that we weren't able to visit a beach and go swimming in the lake. Maybe next time we take a trip to the beach we will choose the Great Lakes instead of the California coast.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,208
    378
    61
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“I was "wowed"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I love a trip where I can be "wowed". "That's amazing" kinda feeling. Thank God, I have seen places that have the "wow" factor. That what it felt like when I saw Lake Michigan. I had never seen such a huge lake in my life. It was more like an ocean. So grateful to see God's amazing creation.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
124 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“No other city has Lake Michigan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We live on Chicago's Near North Side, overlooking Lincoln Park and North Avenue Beach, so we feel qualified to brag about one of our city's greatest assets, Lake Michigan. No other city has it. Drive along Lake Shore Drive from north suburban Evanston to Northwest Indiana and you get a view of most of Chicago's tourist treasures with a beautiful view to boot. In the summer, the beaches--from Montrose to North to Oak to Rainbow--are filled with Chicagoans. From Navy Pier or along the Chicago River near Michigan Avenue, you can charter sightseeing boats that will give you views of the city from the river and the lake. It is a wondrous sight that only gets bigger and bigger in August during the Air & Water Show when as many as one million people come to North Avenue Beach for the two-day spectacular. It is a happening and it happens only in Chicago because it is the only town that has Lake Michigan.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Cant help the weather”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

started off over cast so the company that rents chairs wasn't there. Parking was a pain. The guy passing out parking flyers said one price but had to pay a different. The manager of the lot was an donkey. Overall though it was a clean beach and wasn't too crowded.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Garland lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The skyline is stunningly beautiful.The beach with skylark birds adds to its beauty. The water is so blue and clean that boating is a pleasure

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Michigan also viewed

 

Been to Lake Michigan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Michigan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lake Michigan to your Saves list