We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mountian Views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hiawatha Mountain Bike Trail

Hiawatha Mountain Bike Trail
Idaho Panhandle National Forest, ID
208-744-1301
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Mountain biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Originally the route of the Hiawatha train, this trail was constructed on the old railbed and was completed in 2001.
Sandpoint, Idaho
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Mountian Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We really enjoyed the bike trail and all the beautiful views offered. The area is also noted for the 'fire of 1910' and many stories of yester'year lore as well as railroad history. Great way to spend a day in the outdoor's.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    28
    9
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gooding, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Will Do It Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband and I just returned from our first trip to Wallace, Idaho. We were so impressed with the beauty of the area and all the biking trails. It is truly an outdoor paradise and should be experienced by all. I had read many of the reviews and found the info from others most helpful. Let's face it, not everything is perfect for everyone. We found it perfect for us and we are not seasoned bikers. Plan to ride it again someday.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Regis, Montana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views AFTER the scary ride through the tunnel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I live about 30 miles from Lookout and had never ridden the trial so decided to do it when family came to visit. The ride was an easy trek downhill for about 16 miles. Like others have stated, we went early in the morning so the trail was quiet. When we returned there were a lot of people starting out. I have not ridden in over 10 yrs so the first tunnel was a little scary. Definitely ride single file and do not overtake others unless they are walking. It is also very cold in the long tunnel, especially early, so take a jacket. We did opt for the shuttle because a couple of us were not prepared to ride uphill. Renting the bikes, trail fee, and shuttle was a bit pricey but we are glad we did it at least once in our life.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Beautifule and Easy Bike Ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We try and bike this trail once a year. They have everything you need if you don't have equipment and the trail is well maintained with absolutely gorgeous scenery.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nine Mile Falls, Washington
Level Contributor
106 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A good,fun family bike ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Start early on a holiday weekend. We started at 0930 and met 6 people heading up before noon. Do not waste your money on the shuttle. Suck it up and ride uphill. It is only a 1.5 to 2% grade. If you only want a 20 or so mile trip - turn around just after tunnel 28. When you ride up the grade be sure to yell at people riding 2 wide down through the tunnels. My son bumped tires with one who didn't understand the concept of single file.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hiawatha Mountain Bike Trail also viewed

 

Been to Hiawatha Mountain Bike Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hiawatha Mountain Bike Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.