We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Family time at the Boat Show!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Lanier Islands

Lake Lanier Islands
GA
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tent and RV camp sites, water and cooking facilities and a fishing pier make this a comfortable, fun place to excape to from Atlanta.
Dalton, Ga.
Level Contributor
230 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Awesome Family time at the Boat Show!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Our Family (me, my husband and our kids, ages 14 & 4) went to Lake Lanier Islands for the 2013 Boat Show on Saturday, April 13th 2013 and we had a great time! The weather was Beautiful!! Sun was shining and there were boats everywhere! We had to pay the $10 fee to get onto the islands, which isn't a problem because we love lake lanier islands! Its always a nice place to be on such a sunny day! The Boat Show was free. This was a in the water boat show! There were businesses there with new boats trying to sell, and then there were people there that were showing off their boats that they owned. This show gave us time to see and talk to people to give us something to look forward to in another year or two when our family is financially ready to buy a boat. We ate at Sunset Cove Beach Cafe and the food was great, kind'a over priced but really good service and a great location to eat! We had a great day at Lake Lanier!! It's always such a Great Getaway! Totally recommend!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    16
    9
    11
    40
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pinckney, Michigan
Level Contributor
103 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay for a weekend getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and I lived less than 10 miles from LLIR, we spent several weekends there so that we could enjoy the resort and the lake. We definitely recommend staying at the resort, there are also a few cottages available, haven't stayed there but they are right on the lake and look beautiful.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Check your credit card”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Large party after New Years and we all are still trying to get over charges and double charges on our credit cards fixed. Wife will have to call again after her mother was charged for a room we paid for. Very unprofessional. The resort was great but very expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knoxville tn
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“fun place for kids and adults”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We live in TN and head towards Atlanta often. We always have a blast here. They have a artificial beach for young ones. There are a few rides ...the tubes ride is a favorite among my kids ages 9 and 7. There is a water dump which is fun.There is a decent restaurant inside..reasonably priced.My favorite and my kids love it too is the pool which occasionally has tides which is so much fun. The staff is friendly.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATL, GA
Level Contributor
220 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Not as impressed during the 2nd visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is only the second time we've visited this attraction, the first visit was Dec 30, 2011 -- so this year we spent Dec 31, 2012 at Lake Lanier (which was the last night for 'Magical Nights of Lights').

We decided again to do the package for our hotel stay (bed mattress was too firm this time), delicious breakfast, Magical Light Show and the "Holiday Village" attraction. Since it was the last evening for this event, it seemed like it wasn't as fascinating because things from our previous visit had already closed down. My six year old son was really looking forward to the pony rides - but they were gone already. My son was able to enjoy a few rides and the evening was capped off with him roasting marshmellows in the fire pit. The first time we visited (in 2011), my son was able to do unlimited pony rides -- this year he only received a coupon for one ride (which he was unable to use). The first time was a charm for us, but doubt if this will be a yearly family tradition.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Lanier Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Lanier Islands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.