We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Summer days” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fanning Springs State Park

Fanning Springs State Park
18020 N.W. Highway 19, Fanning Springs, FL 32693
352-463-3420
Improve this listing
Ranked #907 of 2,425 Attractions in Florida
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Gainesville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for Summer days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

One of the best springs around Gainesville if you're looking for a place to swim and picnic. There is a high platform for jumping in and doing flips (if you're so inclined). There is also a rather large shallow area for smaller children, and unlike most springs the river access is blocked by a floating dock. The dock serves as a great sunning spot. This is also one of the few springs I have been to that has an on duty life guard. And of course it has plenty of shaded picnic tables, swings, restrooms, and a volleyball net. However its not at all suited for scuba diving.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    10
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice, clean, cool...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

Great road side "dip". Nice place to swim. Crowded somtimes, lots of people standing around, students, police, military and fire fighters should get a discount... But they dont. Still a nice place... A real local treat.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Jewel of the Suwannee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Where else can you rent a cabin for $100 a night and swim with a manatee?!? This state park is easily accessed from Hwy 19/98. We rented all 5 cabins, which are two bedroom/1 bath, with a living room, dining table, full kitchen and HUGE wrap around screened porch. There are clotheslines for drying wet bathing suits, picnic table (on the screened porch), porch swing, ceiling fans, stone fireplace and a 'backyard' grill. It's a short walk to the spring, which is 72 degrees and crystal clear. There are hiking trails, canoe & kayak rentals, and it's a short drive to Manatee Springs, the Itchetucknee and Yellow Jacket where you can rent a pontoon and boat the Suwannee River. There are no phones or tv's here to distract from spending quality time with friends or family. The park Rangers are very informative and helpful and even pick up your garbage!! Definitely a place to remember and to visit again!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A great way to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

This is the perfect getaway. The springs were beautiful, the park is well maintained. There are only 5 cabins so its very quiet. The cabins are very comfortable, nicely furnished and clean. Staff is very friendly. We took a day trip to Cedar Key and it was nice to come back to peace and quiet. If you want to escape the usual then this is it.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great cabin and GORGEOUS springs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

The cabin we'd reserved was much more than we thought it would be - more like a vacation home than a State Park cabin. Two bedrooms, stone fireplace, wrap-around porch with picnic tables, ceiling fans, and a porch swing, full (if small) kitchen open to the large den. Bed was very comfy. I was truly impressed with the cabin.

Oh, and the springs were great! It was our first time snorkeling. The water's cold - 72 degrees - so I was happy to have a wetsuit. The clarity of the water was stunning for a newbie to Florida's springs. I'm glad I went. It ended up being the favorite of all the springs we visited on our trip.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fanning Springs State Park also viewed

 
Florida, United States
 

Been to Fanning Springs State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fanning Springs State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.