We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Citrola's Italian Grill & Pizzeria

Citrola's Italian Grill & Pizzeria
8841 College Parkway, FL 33908 (Formerly Citrola's Italian Grille & Pizzeria)
+1 239-466-1113
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

It's a charming little restaurant with the best pizza I've found in Fort Myers. I can't wait to go back and try their pasta dishes because the pizza sauce was outstanding.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    14
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
“Phillie cheese steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We are from NY and frequently love a genuine Phillie cheese steak sandwich. You can't beat Citrola's deluxe cheese steak. Their calzones and pizza are awesome also. Would highly recommend driving out of your way if need be, just to enjoy their delicious food. I was just there yesterday but may just make the 45 min. drive again today. One small complaint, stick to bottled beverages. The fountain drinks always seem Flat. Otherwise, delicious food!!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Everything I miss about NY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Great place. We are from NY (LI, moved here 10 years ago) and love the food here..Pasta, Pizza and service are all fantastic. The owners are great people and truly understand how to be customer centric..not like most the places in fort myers. We have been here over 2 dozen times and have NEVER been let down.

Highly Recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Awesome pizza!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Date night! We shared a salad with goat cheese, almonds, and raspberry vinagrette dressing.It came with nice warm homemade french baquette and butter. Super yummy! Then we ordered a cheese pizza with garlic on it. Pizza came out piping hot! The taste was incredible!! Sauce was great taste (no acidity taste), crust was nice and thin with a crispy end to it, and the cheese was a perfect stretchy consistency after each and every bite (not too much, not too little). Then for a dessert later we ordered the cannoli's. One order comes with two small cannoli's. Awesome creamy filling! Loved it all! I'd have to say I'd have to take one star off of Lamotta's, this pizza, salad, and cannoli's just seemed soo much yummier! Got to check out those small pizza places in the little plaza's sometimes they make the best food!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
354 helpful votes 354 helpful votes
“Excellent thin crust New York style pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

On the advice of the local newspaper's food critic, I tried Citrola's for lunch. To get a slice of pizza with two toppings will set you back $3.50, not unreasonable, but a bit on the high side. A two topping 14" pizza costs $17.00, which is considerably higher than most other pizza places around town, especially the chains. But for that extra price, you get a top quality pizza with one of the best crusts in town in this reviewer's opinion.

The restaurant is located in the location that used to have one of the worst pizza restaurants in the area and fortunately, there is no connection between the two. The restaurant is very small, having no more than 10-15 tables, and due to its good product and service, is crowded most of its operational hours. The decor is done in an Italian vein, with sides of wine crates and creations containing wine bottle corks adorning the walls. The venue is clean and appealing upon one's arrival.

I got a sausage and pepperoni slice and found it to be lacking in spice, although in all fairness to the cook, these slices are coming off of an 18" cheese pie with the toppings added and then reheated, so the flavor you normally would look for simply isn't there because the toppings haven't been baked into the pie. The sauce was very good, slightly sweet and just the right amount. The cheese could have been thicker for my tastes, but was adequate, covering the entire slice. The highlight of the pizza was the crust. I expected to see a typical New York style crust with puffy edges, but instead was given a completely flat pie slice with a very thin crust on the bottom. Most enjoyable about the crust was the fact that it was just the right mix of crispy crust on the bottom and outside blended together with a soft but firm middle. The flavor was good enough, no one will miss the places that offer the various flavored crusts.

The first slice was so good, I ordered a second, which arrived in less than five minutes. Together with a soda, the lunch cost $10.00, a bit much, but not out of line with other restaurants during the lunch period. The real test will be my next visit when I order a whole pie. I am sure it will be outstanding. The service from Jo was incredible. She kept an eye on my table the entire time I was there and was gracious enough to take the time to answer my questions about the place and its owners.

I can't say this is the best pizza in Southwest Florida, but if not, it's very close. It is at least in my top three and I will return whenever I am across the river. I highly recommend Citrola's for pizza.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Citrola's Italian Grill & Pizzeria also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Citrola's Italian Grill & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citrola's Italian Grill & Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.