We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great photography” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bombay Hook National Wildlife Refuge

Bombay Hook National Wildlife Refuge
2591 Whitehall Neck Road, Smyrna, De, DE 19977
302-653-6872
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 190 Attractions in Delaware
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Birdwatching
Attraction details
Burke, VA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great photography”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Bombay hook is a new place for us. We had read about it and decided to put it on our list. We are sure glad we did. What a great reserve. Lots of shore birds. some of which we had never seen before, like the Avocet. We were able to see and photograph a Bald Eagle, red foxes, harriers, egrets, dunlin. cormorant, heron, and many species of ducks. If you enjoy birds, make this a must visit place. We were here the weekend just before Sandy hit. The drive most likely has some damage so I would check before coming here in the next few weeks. As for mosquitoes, we missed them. But that could have been because of the nice breeze coming in from "Sandy". Then again, mosquitoes are something you have to put up with when visiting marshland areas like this. We will definately be back. Great place.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“We enjoyed..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We enjoyed everything but the mosquitoes and other bugs that decided they liked me. We enjoyed the park and will go back when I won't be eaten. Beautiful park and we love the many different birds..just a nice peacefull place. I was there to take pictures....

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown , PA
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
82 attraction reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great place to visit if you are into birds.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Make sure you have 4 singles since that is what the entrance fee is and if the information/giftshop isn't open you need exact change for the pass to use the park.

Different times of year will give you different birds to look at. I haven't been there in the summer but would imagine the are plenty of mosquitoes since the park is mostly marshland. There is a house on the property that is supposed to be a museum but it looks like it has been closed for a while. They have a couple of observation towers that offer some great views.

Basically if you are into birds and nature in general this is a fun way to spend a few hours, if you are a photographer bring a big zoom lens since in most cases you aren't going to get that close to the wildlife.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, UK
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Oh those mosquitoes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Visited late Sept about ten days after Hurricane Irene and found the circular drive was closed. It was possible to get part way round and re-trace the route back, but the area of main attraction around Raymond Pool was closed due to storm damage repairs being made. Nevertheless we were able to park up by Shearness Pool and at other parts to watch things. Sightings included numerous dragonflies, butterflies, various ducks, hereons, egrets, cormorants, least terns, avocets, a solitary snow goose, and millions of biting insects. The entry fee was waived for our visit, although normally would apply. Potentially well worth a visit, when fully open.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Beautiful Park hidden in the backroads of Delaware”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I've lived in Delaware my entire life and never knew about Bombay Hook until it was announced that it would be on Delaware's State Quarter for the next set of designs. I decided to take DE-9 (a scenic route) home from the beach once and saw the sign for it. On the way home from Dover, my dad and I decided to stop in an see what it was about. It is certainly out of the way. It is off of Route 9 (a small, lesser used N-S highway that often floods) East past several farms and country land. When we got there, we paid the entrance fee and drove around the park. I'm not big on bird watching, but the birds at the park were amazing. The huge birds were coating the trees and were all over the place. The road that you drive around to look at the birds is dirt and rocks so it would not be recommended after you've just washed the car.

There was a picnic grove at the entrance and several trails to hike around the park.

I would highly recommend that every Delawarean and every local bird watcher come to this hidden park.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bombay Hook National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Bombay Hook National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bombay Hook National Wildlife Refuge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.