We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“12,000 Feet up and slightly dizzy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Mountains

Rocky Mountains
CO
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$89*
and up
Private Tour: Front Range Hike with Transport...
Activities: Hiking, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic Colorado mountain range.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
153 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“12,000 Feet up and slightly dizzy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Visiting the Denver area, specifically Erie, Colorado and took a day trip to the Rocky Mt. National Park. They have a couple of routes, or more, that one can use to visit the area. The one way roads are for the adventure travelers. These are unpaved but well marked. We visited Trail Ridge welcoming center. The initial trip started at Estes Park and we traveled the one lane road to the Alpine visitor center. (about 9 miles) They have are great seasonal center with food and other purchases available. This road is also accessible from Estes Park but is a modern version two way paved facility. So we went up the old road and came down the new one. This area is the top part of the accessible ridge. Saw some Elk, birds etc. Took some great photos and enjoyed the cool temperatures. $20 per car access fee but well worth it. Other access pass prices are available for purchase if one plans to come back for other visits. Great for walking, hiking, photos, picnics etc. We figured it was about 20 degree difference in temperature from the bottom to the top, so plan ahead. Enjoy the views!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    16
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Breathtaking in every sense”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Daily sunrise and sunsets were stellar. Overnight just enjoyed natural breeze, no a/c needed. Areas visited front range, Centennial, Ft. Collins, Longmont, all great towns. Familirs, groups, couples, singles, something for everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Grove
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful anywhere you look!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This was the third time we have been to RMNP and each time is more special than the last. We were able to take our 4 grandchildren ages 7-13 with us this time. They have never been here. To see the joy and excitement of them seeing moose and elk for the very first time was the best part of it all. They were amazed at the mountains which they had never seen either. All of them enjoyed playing in the snow in July! Each of them purchased a souvenir from the gift shop on Trail Ridge road. Even this was amazing for them as we looked across the mountain ranges! There are not enough words that can express the joy and beauty found in this trip. We recommend going if you ever get the chance!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Awesome-going back soon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

If you enjoy nature and spectacular views, you will really enjoy the park. I've been several times and see something new everytime. Lots of hiking trails. Dream Lake and Hallet Peak are wonderful, saw it covered in snow and walked across the frozen lake! Going back soon to see it in the fall. Lots of elk in the fall and beautiful aspens turning yellow. Go to the "top of the world", makes you realize just how small we really are!!!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paw Paw, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“National Park Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The National park is full of awesome sights and views. We saw elk at the summit viliage. The roads can be harrowing with major drop offs!!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocky Mountains also viewed

Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
 

Been to Rocky Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Mountains, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.