We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Florence Lake

Florence Lake
Sierra National Forest, CA
559-297-0706
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,168 of 4,836 attractions in California
Type: Bodies of Water
Activities: Camping, Hiking, Motor-boating
Attraction Details
Hawthorne, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Mosquitoes are horrible. Road is awful. No facilities. Fishing is not great at all. Shaver Lake is much better for children and families. Water level is so low there is no lake. Not worth the drive. Lots of snakes and bears around here.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    1
    0
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
makawao
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Boating July 24, 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed up in Mono Hot Springs and drove over to Florence Lake for the day. I hadn't been up here in many a year. Unfortunately there was a fire west of Huntington Lake and plenty of smoke in the area. We checked out the store and the dog, Sue. Talked a bit with the store folk and some backpackers getting ready to ferry across into the wilderness trails. We debated taking the ferry across and hiking back and then decided to just rent a boat for half the day and explore on our own, eating our PB&J sandwiches in the boat. We had a blast despite the smoke and lack of views I remember from years gone by. We were enjoying the day and then to the NE we could see clouds moving in. Soon there were big ol drops everywhere! Then we heard the thunder and the first flash of lightening. Time to head back to the store area. Being in the middle of a lake in an aluminum boat with lightening is exciting, but not smart. When we got back there were some others with the same idea. They helped us dock and we checked in with the store. Heading back to Mono Hot Springs we stopped at Ward Lake, where we used to camp. Even in a rain Ward Lake was beautiful. The road is the same, a bit rough in places and very narrow, but the folks we crossed paths with coming the other way were considerate for the most part. Only wish the sky would have been clear, but then we still had a great day and the fact that it wasn't the perfect view this time, only makes me want to come back again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Choose a different lake...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Ok. First off the road is about as scary as it gets and people drive recklessly even though its 1 lane. We experienced WAY too many people driving WAY too fast. Blind turns abound. We had no idea it would take so long to get to this lake.... It was the drive that never ended and by the time we got there the kids were upset. The lake.. Really cold water, lots of rocks so forget swimming. Windy as hell, lots of mosquitoes and biting flies, but we did manage to catch 1 small trout. Jackass Meadows campground is pretty far from the lake(you have to drive) but was kinda nice with tables and bathrooms (pit toilets) but the first full day we did see 1 rattlesnake(our neighbors said they had seen 4 in the 2 days they were there) and 2 bears were eating someones food from an ice chest. Sort of scary seeing 2 bears rip into an ice chest and they didn't care that the guy was throwing rocks and yelling. I think he was drunk and it was only 2pm. I think it was the same group of people who stayed up late laughing and yelling for what seemed like an eternity the night before. We have had much better experiences camping at both Shaver Lake and Huntingtion Lake. Another good spot is Lake Isabella. There are so many good lakes to choose from in California and I would definately pass on Florence Lake.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Horrible!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This lake sucks. No good fishing. There are bears, rattlesnakes, and a horrible drive. Do not come up here!!! It is not worth your time. Go to shaver or huntington lake.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes Estates, California
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pick your poison: rattlers vs. bears”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had a rattlesnake slither right through our campsite. It really shook up a youngster in our group. We also had a bear tear up our gear one night. There are some sketchy 'regulars' up there as well. Loud, bud light types with childish antics that scare the fish and disrupt the serenity. We heard alot of gunshots every day too! Shaver Lake seems to be a better bet.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Florence Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Florence Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Florence Lake to your Saves list