We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Coast Highway - Route 1

Pacific Coast Highway - Route 1
CA
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Pacific Coast Highway - Route 1 like an insider
Top Rated
$220*
and up
2-Day Monterey, Carmel and Pebble Beach Tour from...
Activities: Driving, Biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Running along the northern California coast, this highway has some of the best views of any in the United States.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

One of the most beautiful and inspiring drives ever! We drove from San Simeon to Carmel and back on two separate days. Both directions are unbelievable but the southbound drive is a must for an American's bucket list! The awesomeness, the beauty, the inspiration and the reality check that accompany that drive are indescribable. We saw 2 California Condors, sea lions, elephant seals, sharks, whales and otters. And that was just the marine life! The cliffs, the crashing waves, the blue water! Vistas found only in Chamber of Commerce material and California! In order to really enjoy this, you should allow 3-4 hours because you'll want to stop at each vista point for a photo op! A must see! Be sure you have a full tank of gas.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    644
    87
    19
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
653 reviews 653 reviews
116 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
448 helpful votes 448 helpful votes
“The Destination IS the Drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Although hailing from Florida, this is my fourth trip up or down the PCH, three times between San Francisco and San Diego, with this trip a bit more abbreviated between Los Angeles and San Francisco. This time, it was my daughter's first trip; and, my wife's third. What a blast!

The state really keeps up on the maintenance; and, the road conditions were quite good. However, there was extensive road work around the Big Sur area. Regardless, the traffic moved along quite well most of the way. The clouds were held out to sea for most of the trip, so we enjoyed many stops at the "Vista Points."

One highlight was seeing a group of Elephant Seals out on the beach. This was a new treat for all of us!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“PCH - breathtaking and scary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I couldn't agree more with ohiotravelor1. People need to know how scary the PCH drive is, especially on the north end. I took this drive this month and was not prepared for the how close the road is to drops that are hundreds of feet down with no guard rails in most places. After a hour or so of steep windy climbs and descents if seemed like a never ending roller coaster. To top this off there was road construction in two spots that reduced the traffic to one lane with waits up to five minutes, one on a bridge. There are few speed limit signs so it's not always clear how fast you can go. Most importantly no warnings that gas stations are few with the first one 60 miles from where PCH starts. Having said all this, the views are absolutely breathtaking and everyone should do this drive at least once in their life. Just get a full tank of gas and empty your bladder. Then pray the slow pokes in front of you get out of the way and let people pass, and then do the same for the idiots tailgating.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Must Do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Fantastic views! Traveled Monterey to LA. Best part is to Santa Barbara, though. Lots of Vista Points to stop and take photos (we stopped quite a bit in the beginning, all worth it) - and some nice places for lunch. Whale Watchers Cafe has a nice menu and great views!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Left me speechless !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is the most beautiful road I have ever been driven on. The scenery just leaves me speechless the Pacific Ocean on one side and magnificent trees on the other with pretty little places to stop on route. You can stop along the route and take in the wonderful sight of the waves crashing on the shore and your blood pressure just drops.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific Coast Highway - Route 1 also viewed

California, United States
California, United States
 
Anaheim, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 

Been to Pacific Coast Highway - Route 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Coast Highway - Route 1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.