We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mill Creek Site 95” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Del Norte Coast Redwoods State Park

Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of the Redwood National and State Parks system, this state park was established in 1925.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Mill Creek Site 95”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband and I spent one night at Mill Creek before we hit the trails for some backcountry camping. Site 95 was a beautiful and secluded site. While many of the other sites are side-by-side and separated by some trees, this site was nestled up amongst the trees and at the base of a redwood and tree roots. You park and walk up a set of stairs to get to the campsite. We had a small two-person tent but the site could probably fit comfortably two 6 person tents. While the temperature was in the high 50s and low 60s, there were still a good number of mosquitoes.

The women's shower on the Site 95 loop was great. Good water pressure and hot. My husband said the men's shower did not have good water pressure and was only warm, not hot. The showers only take quarters but if you don't have any quarters, there are two camp hosts you can get quarters from.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Del Norte Mill Creek Campground Sp. 95”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed in space #95 for a night in July 2013. This particular campsite was ideal. It was very private, as you parked your car but had to walk up 10-12 steps to the actual camp. It was then completely enclosed with vegetation and had no road visibility, and was mostly shady, dappled sun, which was perfect in hot July. This was our first time here but it looks like the camp spots numbered in the high 80s and 90s (the outer loops spots) are the good ones, being a little more private and generally shady. If we had brought our dog, this site would have been superb, because it was secluded and no road visilbilty to distract the dog and cause barking. However, I do not recommend bringing any dogs here. They are not allowed on the trails or near the big trees, so you couldn't really do anything with them, and you can't leave them unattended in camp. We were glad we left our dog at home. Firewood was $8 a bundle at all of the Redwood State Park campgrounds. This campground, Del Norte, is very nice and quiet, but there's not a lot going on, eg, they don't have any ranger talks or anything. You have to get into your car to go do any hikes (for the most part) although you mostly have to do that at any campgrounds in the Redwoods. Also, it appears the shower prices were higher for women than men. If Jedediah is booked, you can't go wrong here if you need a quiet and very vegetated and private camp ground as a second choice.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Awesome Redwoods & Coastline”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The Del Notre Coast Redwoods State Park is one of three California Redwood State Parks that are included in the Redwood National Park. Unlike the other two State Parks and the National Park, it has no visitor center and seemingly has the least information written about it.

Once you study the character of Redwood Forests abit, you learn that the redwood forests found in each state park have different feels due to factors such as understory growth, ground slope and valley location. The redwoods in Del Norte State Park are located closest to the Pacific Ocean and are found on steep slopes, often shrouded in fog which provides the redwoods with much of the moisture they love.

The Damnation Creek Trail is one of the trails most mentioned for the Del Norte Coast Redwoods State Park. The trail begins through what is a heavenly, nearly dreamlike setting of massive redwoods which on the morning I visited, towered though the summer fog. The Damnation Creek trail decends to a small rocky, breathtakingly rugged, shoreline comprised of black rock where damnation creek empies into the ocean. This is some of the most strikingly beautiful views of the rugged california coastline I have experienced, where mountain sides crash into the sea.

The desent on the damnation creek trail is around 1,200 feet and while some travel books warn of the difficulty of the trail due to the elevation difference (it is all up hill on the return), I did not find it especially strenuous. One note however, tthere are few fallen logs or other natural areas accessible on the trail to sit and rest so take advantage of these when you see them.

Fantastic shoreline and awesome redwoods. This is surely sacred ground.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mill Creek Campground”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The setting is beautiful. If you are up for it, hike the Damnation Creek Trail: 4.2 miles roundtrip to the ocean. 1000' elevation change each way. The trail takes you through awesome stands of redwoods, Sitka spruce and ferns.

The campground itself if clean. The showers cost $1 (in quarters) for 8 minutes (more time can be bought). The sites are neat but small. Don't camp on the creek side if the water is low because of the mosquitoes. They have firewood and fire starters for sale. Potable water is easily available. The campground is away from the coast so it isn't overwhelmingly foggy.

We stayed two nights and enjoyed falling asleep to the sounds of the creek.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Mill Creek Campground”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Nice campground at the bottom of a canyon. Small-ish sites with tables and fire rings, bear lockers, and heavily wooded (obviously!). Nice clean bathrooms with showers (self-pay). We were only here for one night. I thought it was a bit expensive for a state park for what you get, but it is a beautiful setting nonetheless.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Del Norte Coast Redwoods State Park also viewed

 

Been to Del Norte Coast Redwoods State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Del Norte Coast Redwoods State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.