We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lake & Petroglyphs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lyman Lake State Park

Lyman Lake State Park
AZ
Improve this listing
Ranked #456 of 911 Attractions in Arizona
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Water-skiing, Viewing wildlife
Attraction details
Paulden, Arizona, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Lake & Petroglyphs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We spent the day at Lyman lake fishing from shore. We caught 8 Waleye, 2 Channel Cat, 1 carp and 1 nice large mouth bass. When we decided to call it quits around 4pm we went in search of the petroglyphs. They are beautiful and easily seen. There are even a few that are not as easily seen but worth the hunt. The lake was clean, facilities were spotless and the rangers were great. We plan on going back the next time we are in Springerville. Possibly coming back for a cabin weekend.
The only disappointment was the rattlesnake ruins were not open to the public.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lyman Lake Petroglphys Dazzle In An Outdoor Art Gallery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Lyman Lake, located in eastern Arizona’s St. John’s, becomes lower by the day due to a dry season.

The lake continues to lose up to two feet per day according to the State Park’s Ranger.

From the bank I notice a couple of water skier’s gliding through the shallow water below. Near-empty Lyman leaves wide-open waters to those occupying the lake.

Burnt orange mounds line the lake in the distance and porous lava rock is dimpled from elements.

Read the rest at: http://slangshot.org/2013/06/28/lyman-lake-petroglphys-dazzle-in-an-outdoor-art-gallery/

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome park rangers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I just camped here from June 21 thru 29 2013. The grounds were super clean I barely saw a piece of liter!! Bathrooms and showers were spotless!! The park rangers were awesome!! The staff in the store was great and we felt so comfortable no one wanted to leave can not wait to return!!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quartzsite, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights in our travel trailer. Each site has pavillion with electric outlet and light. Park is clean and sites are separated from each other. Thought the $27 price was high for what you get.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Needed some family time so booked three nights in a cabin. Wasn't expecting much because this area of Arizona is rather flat and brown and not known for beauty. The cabin was great and very affordable at $55 a night. We camped in October so it was nice to be in from the elements. I believe there were only three total families in the entire park so we had run of the entire area. The water was brown but surprisingly enjoyable. Lots of area hiking and petrogplyphs. There are old indian dwellings to explore and lots of broken pottery and arrowheads to be found - be advised that keeping these is a felony so enjoy their presence but leave them for others to enjoy as well. Fishing was below average and we only caught one fish but considering how windy it was, this was better than none.

Staff at the tiny store are very nice and they have a Jr. Ranger program that was fun for the kids. The staff here is very kind. Restroom facilities are kept spotless by daily visits from inmates in orange suits. Too much trash and litter on the shoreline though.

The night sky was amazing.

I would certainly return.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lyman Lake State Park also viewed

 

Been to Lyman Lake State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyman Lake State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.