We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for the Family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salt River

Salt River
AZ
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$210*
and up
Ranked #427 of 911 Attractions in Arizona
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Activities: White-water rafting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This river, which flows through the Phoenix area, offers boating, tubing and whitewater rafting opportunities.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fun for the Family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

There were a lot of people saying: "Don't go. There's no water - the flow is low. The water is stagnant. You'll be stuck with a zillion people for 45 minutes at a time." We went anyway and had a great time. Granted, the water wasn't flowing quickly in many places, but the scenery is beautiful -- think floating by while desert canyon walls soar above you and wild horses drink by the river a few feet in front of you.

Yes -- there is a lot of drinking. Yes -- there is a lot of flirting between 20 somethings - though I didn't see more than that. People were pretty respectful in general when they see kids. My 11 and 13 year olds had a grand time and were not offended by anything. After we exited the water, there were two alpha males verbally going at it, but it didn't come to more than that. And there are a ton of sheriffs around to ensure that the fun stays fun.

I will say that the tubing company tries to get people to throw their trash away and even provides every group a trash bag -- however, there are still creeps out there that throw the trash in the river. At one point when you look down in the river there are hundreds of beer cans. I hear that they clean this up annually, but that was a disappointment.

You can tube without going through the shuttle company, but then you'll need two cars --one parked at the entry point and one parked at the end point. For $15 a pop, you'll get a tube and the shuttle. You really can't beat that.

So like everyone else says: bring your sunscreen, water/beverages in a cooler, a camera and your sense of adventure. You'll have a good time.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Salt River Adventure”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

My favorite thing to do when visiting Arizona is to tube down the Salt River. I have participated in this activity for several years. I am finding that with each year, more participants are turning this into a drunkfest. The overall activity is worthy of 5 stars. The fee is nominal (around $10-15 to get transported to the river and provided with a tube and return transportation to car lot). The scenery as you float down the river is breath-taking. At times, you move along very slowly. Then, the thrill of white water carries you swiftly, but, never feeling threatening or extremely dangerous. The cool river feels good in contrast to the hot AZ sun.There are opportunities to stop and picnic if you choose. Although the river is supposedly monitored, it is not uncommon to see people littering, getting drunk, urinating in the river. Without the rif-raf, this would be the perfect adventure. Until more serious monitoring is done, be wary.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Do not go on holiday weekends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Unless you want to see people reduced to the drunken state of zoo animals (copulation included).

Any other weekend, a few tubes, a sheet over each, a couple of coolers and you're in for a great afternoon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun in the Sun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

One of my favorite things to do in AZ! It's cheap, relaxing and all around a good time. Make sure you bring your sunblock and reapply consistently. The Salt is known for fun, floating river parties (be ready to consume a few adult beverages) and long naps afterward :) There is a grocery store right up near the entrance of the river - stop by there and grab a disposable cooler and a few drinks/snacks. Also, bring a few old sheets to cover your tubes and a pair of cheap flip flops for when you get out. Go when it's warm and stay hydrated! So fun!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkinge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
374 reviews 374 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
1,280 helpful votes 1,280 helpful votes
“Whitewater Rafting - Excellent Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2003

We rafted the Salt River in April 2003 with Wilderness Aware outfitters and had a fantastic day. Started at about 930 and got out at around 3. They put you in groups of 6 in the rubber rafts with a guide and you each paddle. I can't tell you how much fun it is - just awesome. We were 2 adults and 2 kids (11 and 13) and we all enjoyed it and would love to go again - next time on one of the multi day trips. We hired wetsuits (thank goodness) and they were well worthe the $10 because the river was icy and you get SOAKED. The guides are very intuitive and they get you as wet as you want to get. For example one boat was full of young guys and they had a much wilder ride than some of the other ones with an older group. After a while, we asked our guide if we could do some of the stuff like hitting a rock and getting stuck on it and he then did that for us. At one point he let people jump into the river and drift with the current. Lunch was provided - buffet deli. At the end a bus takes you back to your car. Make sure to take one of those waterproof one use cameras to capture the fun. The scenery around the river is fantastic too, you feel like you are completely out in the wilds. Fantastic trip, worth every penny.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt River also viewed

Tortilla Flat, AZ
Petrified Forest National Park, AZ
 

Been to Salt River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.