We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Scenery, Dirty Houseboat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Powell

Lake Powell
AZ
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$145*
and up
Airplane Tour of Rainbow Bridge, Lake Powell and...
Activities: Motor-boating, Kayaking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Straddling northern Arizona and southern Utah, Lake Powell and the surrounding Glen Canyon National Recreation Area offer many leisure activities.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Scenery, Dirty Houseboat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

A Lake Powell houseboat adventure had been on our "bucket list" for some time so we booked a boat with another couple the first week in October from the Bullfrog Marina. The weather was lovely and the scenery spectacular. The fact that it was the end of their season may have contributed to the down side of our experience. Upon boarding the boat we checked the inventory that was listed to be on board. A number of things were missing but were quickly delivered by the pleasant girl who was checking us onto the boat. An operation manual was provided which was a good thing since either we missed a few very important points or (as we believe) were not adequately covered. As boat owners ourselves we were surprised to learn, after we left the marina, that a number of the features of the boat were not working...like the radio, the depth finder, etc. I wish we had spent more time inspecting the cleanliness of the boat. Once we were on our way we discovered that the boat was truly filthy...dried urine on the floor of the bathroom, cobwebs in the corners, dried food in the pans provided. We spent two days basically cleaning the boat. That said, the scenery was gorgeous! We slept under the stars on the upper deck every night which I would recommend since the bedrooms are small and a bit stuffy. They provide queen-size mats for this purpose. My advice: take the time to make sure you have all the inventory and DEFINITELY check the boat carefully for cleanliness. Also, we checked on renting a wave runner when we booked the houseboat. We found that we could rent one in Boise (where we live) for half the price of renting one at Lake Powell. I would definitely recommend that you have a wave runner because it can get you to some spectacular places where the houseboat could not go. We would have missed some great places (and a lot of fun) without it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    54
    9
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
carmel california
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Scenic lake in middle of the desert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Very much enjoyed the Canyons Adventure Cruise out of Wahweap Marina. Leisurely cruise past marinas with huge houseboats, past unusual rock formations, and up narrow canyons. Nice way to see the lake if you don't have or want to rent your own boat. It can be very hot on the top deck if sitting in the sun, and you can't go to the front of the boat. Tip: the best place to see everything is on the 1st level at the very front of the boat. The cruise is not cheap, but it is a relaxing way to spend a couple hours and see the scenery around the lake.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, CA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Through the Canyons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We booked the Canyons Adventure tour at the Lake Powell Resort lobby area. Very clean with a great gift shop. We booked a day ahead of the cruise instead of online. It's probably recommended that an online booking be made during the busier time of year.

On the day of the boarding, I didn't realize I needed a boarding pass - I thought the receipt served as the pass. It was simple though, I just went to the tour desk showed them my receipt and got the pass.

WARNING: It is a long walk down a steep hill to the boat. Even though it is well paved, it is quite a hike especially when returning. They did have a golf cart shuttle if you wanted to use it but it only took three people at a time. On the return trip up the hill they were using two golf carts.

The seats were first come first serve. A lot of people chose to sit on the upper deck. We opted to sit inside, protected from the sun. At the back of the boat when you enter there are trays of radio transmitters and headsets. You should take one of each to hear the recorded info on the sights visited. The Captain will also relay information through the unit. It was handy having a neck strap for the transmtter. You can hang it around your neck and walk around the boat without losing contact with the information being sent out.

On board the vessel there were big containers of water and lemonade and also coffee. You just grabbed a cup and helped yourself. You should bring your own snakcs. The restroom on board was adequate.

The trip itself was a nice leisurely way to see the Lake Powell landscape. Not a lot of oohs and aahs - just fascinating geology. On the itinerary was a visit to the dam but we regrettably only got a long distance look at it. It was a restricted area with a boom barrier to keep boaters out. I would have liked a more up close-up look.

The Captain and her crew were great. Extremely friendly, knowledgeable and cheerful. It made for a wonderful trip.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kayaking Lake Powell”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Went to Antelope Point Marina to rent a kayak for half a day. The people at the rental place at the marina were very friendly. The rental price at Antelope point were cheaper. Kayaking on lake Powell was a neat experience; there are numerous beaches along the lake I could stop at for a rest or to swim. The temperature of the lake in mid-September was very pleasant and the water was clear. I had a lot of fun on that lake!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“much beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

we went swimming and sight seeing. ate at a great Mexican restaurant in Page. the dogs and kids had a great time. :)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Powell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Powell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.