We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More beautiful Alaska” 5 of 5 stars
Review of College Fjord

College Fjord
AK
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 475 Attractions in Alaska
Type: Geologic Formations, Cultural
Attraction details
New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“More beautiful Alaska”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Mountains and glaciers. Seen one you've seen them all. NOT. If you book a cruise that is going here try to get a balcony. To watch these views for hours from your room is a great experience.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    2
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
southington, connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“An Opportunity to See Many Glaciers in a Row!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

At College Fjord you can see about 6-8 Glaciers in a row! Surrounded by beautiful mountains! Many,many pieces of these glaciers are floating by the ship as you arrive, and many of the pieces have seals or otters on them! This was a great fjord to visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Prince William Sounding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Cruising along, we stayed in our rooms on the balcony, while on our journey to the College Fjords, what a wonderful experience, you slowly move through the sea, first seeing small ice caps dancing in the water, and slowly moving closer, breathtaking views of the iced capped mountains and sea otters basking in sun on the sea. All I can say, is you have to be there, experience what nature has to offer.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Otters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

It was very overcast and misty the day we cruised through, but in ways that made it even more majestic. The glaciers just lined up like ribbons along the shore, disappearing into the mist, so numerous it was hard to believe.

My favorite part, however, were the adorable otters swimming around and batting at each other in play. Have your binoculars handy for better views of them.

The only thing missing was that we didn't see or hear any calving. There are different types and stages of glaciers, and I guess these just aren't the calving sort. Nature's variety amazes me.

Beautiful trip.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
578 reviews 578 reviews
335 attraction reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
503 helpful votes 503 helpful votes
“Scenically overwhelming and magical....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

If you are cruising to Alaska then you may have this ‘sea day’ on your itinerary. Located in the northern sector of Prince William Sound it may also be accessed on a small boat cruise from one of the fishing towns along the southern edge of this state.

This 20-mile long fjord and surrounding snow capped mountains just dwarfs the size of a large cruise ship.The Alaskan scenery here is magically overwhelming in its grandeur. It’s sobering to know that College Fjord was the epicentre for the 1964 earthquake and belies the calm waters that we experienced sailing in this area.

With a bit of luck from Mother Nature (even the sun showed some interest at times) we had a relatively fair day for viewing the five tidewater glaciers, five large valley glaciers, and dozens of smaller glaciers out on the open deck. Some are named for famous colleges on the USA East Coast and at one point we could see several at once. A few did calve and you heard the echoing ‘crack ‘ before you saw the ice topple into the water.

In many ways we thought that this fjord and the Sound were just as impressive as Glacier Bay to the south but does not have such an extensive area.The compact size of this Fjord with the proximity of the tall mountains is perhaps the reason why we enjoyed it a little more.
Keep it in mind for your 'must see' list in Alaska!

Enjoy your visit!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed College Fjord also viewed

Alaska, United States
Alaska, United States
 

Been to College Fjord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage College Fjord, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.