We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comforting, home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Slide Mountain Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alaska
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Slide Mountain Cabins
Save
You added Slide Mountain Cabins to your Saves list
Mile 135 Glenn Hwy, AK   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #246 of 530 Specialty Lodging in Alaska
Alaska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very comforting, home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed here in June of 2013, it was close to midnight when we pulled in and we were welcomed. Our first visit was just as great as our other two most recent stays, very clean, comfortable, the whole family is very helpful and accommodating. The pavilion was great, we sat by the inside fire with our beverages and relaxed with the very peaceful and quiet surroundings. There are blueberries to pick, beautiful scenery, there is a play area for children, nice hot shower, coffee pot (with coffee etc), fridge, microwave, dvd player w/small flatscreen tv, there is wifi in the office area and a friendly dog named "Carly" she loves beef jerky by the way (wink)

Room Tip: there is wifi in the office area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

The family that owns/operates this place is amazing! We felt welcome and borderline pampered. We have rented a cabin on one visit and tent camped on another and both trips were great!
The location is spectacular and the enclosed BBQ area worked out so well... Loved the porch swings and firepit inside... We have decided to make this a yearly visit.

Room Tip: Ok, so there is no swimming pool, but one of our group swam in a river on accident and there is no F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Good sized & comfortable cabin. Comfortable bed, frig & microwave. Very quiet location. Porch with adirondack chairs, nice view. There was a small play area for children.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

I stayed here in August of 2010 with my folks when we took a road trip from Anchorage to Fairbanks and back down again. We stayed in a cozy little cabin with a shower inside (I forget which number).

I must say, the location, the cabin, AND the hosts were beyond exceptional. I was pleasantly surprised with the condition of the cabin... the decorations were cute and homey. The bed and sheets was more comfortable than my one at home! The TV received more channels than any other hotel we stayed at (I got to watch my beloved South Park).

Over all, Slide Mountain will always stick out in my mind as THE best place we stayed at in Alaska. The family that owned it (not sure if they still do) were very gracious and helpful, and the cleanliness and coziness of this place made my experience clearly memorable.

Can't say enough about this place. I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

We stayed in Cabin #5 on August 27, 2008. We were delighted not only with our cabin but also with our host. He made a point of coming over to our cabin shortly after we checked in to make sure we knew where the grills were located and to also make sure we understood how to turn on the heat (it was a chilly evening). He also invited us to enjoy the fire pit and gazebo and just really made us feel welcome.
The area was clean and well kept, and to respond to a comment that had been posted earlier in the year regarding the popcorn expiration date.......I did check and the expiration date on our popcorn was 2009 and the hot chocolate was current also. I enjoyed both!!
The cabin was roomy, exceptionally clean and well decorated. We had everything we needed and truly enjoyed our stay!

  • Liked — Clean, spacious, great staff
  • Disliked — not having the time to stay more than one night
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

My husband and I ran across this place after leaving Glennallen on our way to Anchorage. The location is beautiful. The resort is set up for RV's with hookups, tent sights, and cabins. There. is a "gathering room" with a grill and fireplace for guest use. There are cabins with shared baths and also private baths. We took cabin #4 with a private bath (shower), frig, microwave, one queen and one twin bed. The room was decorated very nicely with moose design bedding, hardwood floor and gas fireplace. This cabin was very new. All this and in Alaska for $99 per night. Considering lodging prices in Alaska, this cabin was a bargin at that price. Family was very nice that ran the Lodge.

  • Liked — gas fireplace and the beaver pond behind lodge
  • Disliked — mirrow in bathroom had not been hung on wall yet
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lampang, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2008

We were pleasantly suprised about the cleanliness of the cabins and facilities at Slide Mnt. Cabins. They were clean, well maintained and lovely. The hosts were helpful and always pleasant. The hosts recommended places to go fishing and fossil hunting. We strongly recommend Slide Mnt. Cabins. We plan to return on our return trip.

  • Liked — The beautiful cozy cabins and cleanliness, the pavillion for large groups and fireplace
  • Disliked — No cafe or resturant
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Slide Mountain Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slide Mountain Cabins

Address: Mile 135 Glenn Hwy, AK
Location: United States > Alaska
Hotel Style:
Ranked #246 of 530 Specialty Lodging in Alaska
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located 50 miles west of Glennallen on the Glenn hwy. mile post marker 135. We have 6 cabins. 2 with private bath/shower and mini kitchen and 4 with shared bathroom. We also have 15 RV sites and enclosed pavilion with a fireplace. Great for families (playground on property). ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slide Mountain Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.