We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sight, But the Road is Rough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Matanuska Glacier

Matanuska Glacier
AK
907-745-2534
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$249*
and up
Matanuska Glacier Hike from Anchorage
Ranked #40 of 474 Attractions in Alaska
Type: Geologic Formations, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A glacier on which visitors can walk.
indiana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Sight, But the Road is Rough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Wonderful site and wonderful sights. But the RV park is non-existent and the road is very rough. Worth the effort, but be forewarned and prepared. I would suggest you NOT spend the night and visit another RV park, but definitely do visit the glacier.

We did not take a tour or gain assistance in visiting. This may be advisable as walking on a glacier is not easy and is indeed risky.

You need to sign a waiver that would make your lawyer disown you as a client... forever. Again worth the visit and I suggest you go, but just be ready.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    24
    8
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
135 attraction reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Go with a guide, don't go alone!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had an amazing walk on the glacier with Sandra from Mica Guides. However, we did see some people trying to go it alone.

First, the access to the glacier is privately owned, and the road to it is absolutely dire. I wouldn't want to take my car down there!

Secondly, we saw people unprepared for glacier walking. Glaciers consist of ice - flip flops are not sensible footwear! We wore boots, crampons and hard hats. You can walk so far without crampons, but to really experience it, go with a guide. People were hovering at the edge, clearly getting little from the experience because they didn't have the kit to get through the mud and ice to the glacier itself.

We thought the trip with Mica was good value, and since you have to pay to access the private land anyway, its false economy to try to save a buck and do it yourself. Go with the guide, see the best bits safely and have more fun.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Cool !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Went for a walk on the glacier with mica guides and it was spectacular !

Matt, our guide was cool and gave us a lot of interesting explainations.

Wonderfull activity !

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

How often does a person get to clamber around on a glacier? You can take a guided tour or just drive up to the edge and walk around the marked path. Either way, totally worth the fee and sore knees.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were able to take the snow mobile ride down into the glacier. The two guys who did the tour were just awesome! They helped us walk on the snow/ice and were so passionate about the glacier and its magnificent beauty. Since spring came late to Alaska, we were able to do this tour at the end of April. Do not miss seeing this!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matanuska Glacier also viewed

 

Been to Matanuska Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matanuska Glacier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.