We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guardalavaca Beach

Guardalavaca Beach
56km (35 miles) N of Holguin, Holguin, Cuba
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 20 Attractions in Holguin
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Northamptonshire,UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“perfect beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

very clean, very eco friendly and great snorkling one of the best beaches i've ever been to in the carbibean much better than st lucia and a lifeguard present at all times. Parts of beach open to the public but all very very staff and reguarly patroled by local police and security. the sea is crystal clear and the fish swim around your feet-lovely!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    173
    68
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“lovely beach and gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a very nice beach and well kept gardens.The area was quiet and relaxing ,but not a lot to do there other than swim and sunbathe.There is a small market there which sells local crafts.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Lovely white sandy beach with a small market selling cheap but well hand made goods at its entrance drinks hut and music playing.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Shopping at the Market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

It was a smaller market than we expected. You can get good prices if you buy multiple items from one shop. Too hot to stand outside from long periods of time. Bar was cheap! Beach was great!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice beach, big enough to get away form the noise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Lovely sandy beach with shallow water. Ideal for all ages. THe beach is well kept and has plenty of room for everyone. If you want noise and music, you can set yourself up near the town entrance to it, where the bars are, if you want peace and quiet, yo can go left or right and just relax.
Ther is a dive center to the west part of the beach, hidden away behind the rocks. I used it last year and was not impressed. The service was poor. You have to carry your dive kit across the beach and get into a hard boat (No ladder to help) from the water. No pier or jetty to facilitate. All it needs is a bit of water movement and it becomes a real ordeal. Same getting off. The staff are quite uninterested in helping , leaving you to your own devices to get on and off. I'm reasonably fit but we had one older guy who really struggled and I had to help him on and off. I didn't mind doing it, but the staff totally ignored him. The dive was dull. Nothing to see, no fish, coral pretty much all dead. Didn't bother going back after just one dive.
Anyway, back to the beach. It's a good'un.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guardalavaca Beach also viewed

Holguin, Holguin Province
 
Holguin, Holguin Province
 

Been to Guardalavaca Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guardalavaca Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.