We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cayo Saetia Island

Cayo Saetia Island
Carretera a Cayo Saetia, Holguin, Cuba
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 21 things to do in Holguin
Attraction details
essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The beach was nice and the snorkelling was good seeing many fish and lovely corals reefs with some lovely food for lunch an our tour guide was excellent it seemed as though if we had any questions she always had the answer for us

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    36
    9
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Pretty sure this is the Paradise isle day trip, fantastic coach ride then catamaran cruise to the isle taking in snorkling on the way

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Disappointing beauty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I went here on the catamaran, we stopped to snorkel but the vis wasn't great and the guy on the boat was very protective of where we could go. He didn't want any of us doing our own thing for fear of cutting ourselves on the coral. The currents were very strong and there were quite a few jelly fish. All fine it's the ocean. When we stopped for our lunch I opted for the mini safari by jeep and saw giraffes, zebra, ostriches, antelope etc a good little tour for 9 pesos. It felt more like a petting zoo but our guide was very enthusiastic, even chasing the ostrich so we got a closer look. Lunch it self was very tasty back at the restaurant. Beauty of the beach? The sands are white and the waters clear but I didn't find it that beautiful. Small beaches 5 metres by 20 definitely not breath taking and not even as nice as the resort beach. Go for a day out on a boat but not to be wowed by the island.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

loved it all and the food on the Island is excellent!!!the beach is gorgeous and the animals are fun to see wandering around,,

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Lovely beach ....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We drove to Cayo Saetia while on holiday in May of this year, it was about 350 kilometres return and a fun journey. Cayo Saetia was easy to find and a nice surprise when the there. There were camels, deer and lots of animals roaming free on the island. The beach was beautiful and sand soft and sea very clear. One warning, the beach shelved away fairly quickly so non swimmers need to be aware. There was a 10 CUC per person fee. We both had a lovely time there. One other warning, if you are prone to insect bites, wear lots of medication, I was bitten badly, but my wife, not one bite, the main problem, were sand flies, and they are a real pest. But I will return next year.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cayo Saetia Island also viewed

Holguin, Holguin Province
 
Holguin, Holguin Province
Holguin, Holguin Province
 

Been to Cayo Saetia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cayo Saetia Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.