We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good reasonable family vacation.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Playa Turquesa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holguin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Riu Playa Turquesa
Save
You added Hotel Riu Playa Turquesa to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Guardalavaca | Playa Yuraguanal - Holguin, Holguin, Cuba (Formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Holguin
Mississauga, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good reasonable family vacation.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014


Riu Playa Turquesa is a Nice resort. Decent food many great pools. Our room was big and clean. The only recommendation if you have any health injuries there is Many many stairs from lobby to the beach. We have traveled before two Blau costa Verde and Play Costa Verde. This resort for us and our 10 and 13 years old kids so far is the best.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    792
    315
    137
    71
See reviews for
647
792
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Jamaica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Visited this hotel in Oct. last year. The staff was friendly and accommodating, check in is done in a timely fashion and the patrons can enjoy either the beach or one of the 5 swimming pools while waiting for the room to be available. Luggage can be left in a designated room.
Rooms were very good, food was excellent.
My only complaint is that the ac in one room was not working and we were not changed from that room.
I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ensure the AC and the TV are working.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake St. Peter, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Do not book your holiday here. Unfortunately food handling is very poor. I became very ill from poorly cooked hamburg at the beach. Ruined the rest of my holiday. Beds were uncomfortable. People were wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We've been here 3 years in a row. We love the location, the cascading pools, the beach, the staff. BUT the quality has really gone down over the 3 trips. The food was poor on our last visit. We are not picky and can easily survive on sandwiches for a week, but the fruits and veg were not ripe - green tomatoes. And no mint for the mojitos the entire trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

So we just got back from the Resort on April 27 2014. Beautiful Resort, pools and beach was great. The night entertainment was good, some shows better than others. Must say the day entertainment was a little dull, not sure if it was because the people just didn't want to participate or what. The one main problem we did have the night before we left was there customer service. Each room is a allowed one full hour of free Wi-Fi, we were logged on for not even 20 min and it logged us out and in the mean time the waitress came and cleared our table off and grabbed our card to log back in. Told the people at the front desk and long story short they told us we had to buy more time if we wanted it. Was not impressed because knowing that the staff that we got friendly with asked for our Wi-Fi cards, so it must be a big thing there if they can get their hands on your cards. So keep a eye on your cards. The other thing is in the courtesy room that they give you to use I got electric cuted from the hair dryer . Great to have a room to get cleaned up in but just be careful of that. I would totally recommend the alacart restaurants they are such a nice change from the buffet food that repeats itself everyday. Take lots of immodium also, spent a whole day in bed sick and my kid was sick for 3 days even coming home also. We went to the resort not expecting high end for was in Cayo Cocoa 2 years ago and kinda knew what Cuba was like, but a little more disappointed after reading the reviews before going there. I would totally recommend bring packages of ketchup and your own travelers cup or mug for they are great for holding bigger drinks and saves on the plastic for the environment. I would not recommend this resort for seniors unless you are in good shape and have great knees for there are about 83 stairs to climb everyday to get up to the lobby unless you call for a cart everyday to where you need to go and they are always busy so they can take a lot of time to get one.

Room Tip: Rooms 500 to 700 are the best closer to every thing but no matter where you are there are still like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Just returned from a second fantastic two weeks at this resort with two children 11 and 9. 10/04/14 to 24/04/14

Flight
Flew out of Gatwick on the Dreamliner a fantastic aircraft. Didn't pay to choose the seats and rolled the dice but we were all placed together anyway so glad we didn't waste our money. Plenty of legroom and the entertainment touch screens had plenty of films, music and games to keep the kids happy for the long journey. The cabin is well lit and you really do get off feeling much better than older aircraft. Only fault with the plane we could find was lack of overhead storage at the rear as these are out of use in the centre and those that are for passenger use are taken by crew and boxes for the galley.

Hotel
We travelled to this resort back in March 2009 so we had a very good idea of what to expect so were not put off by the negative reviews.
Room keys were provided on the coach but we were still required to check in and get our coloured bands so this really didn't save any time.
The hotel is set on a hill and tiers down to the beach. Landscaped throughout with lovely gardens and trees. An open lobby with great bar which usually has excellent evening entertainment. There is an on site shop which stocks gifts, alcohol, cigars and toiletries. Towards the beach there is a small market with sellers that change daily offer locally crafted gifts. There is a theatre that offers a show every evening. The kids really enjoyed the circus.
There are 5 al a carte's which can be booked 3 a week 3 days in advance. We only tried the Grill and Italian.

Room
The rooms were clean and the lay out was exactly as we remembered from last time.
Mini fridge with 2 beers and 2 soft drinks with 1 litre of water restocked daily with no issues. A nice optic cabinet with White and Dark Rum, Vodka and Whiskey fitted to the wall was a nice touch. Air conditioning worked without fault for the duration and unlike last time remained on without having to leave a key card in the slot by the door. Maid service was fantastic and rooms were always cleaned and tidied daily with no problems.

Food
We had two fussy eaters with us but they always managed to find food they liked or be persuaded to try new things with bribery of unlimited visits to the ice cream bar. We tried the grill but the kids weren't too impressed but they really loved the Italian and we visited it three times during the two weeks. The resort laid on a welcome meal on the first Saturday for Thomson/First Choice guests. Kids faces not impressed when the lobster was placed in front of them but it was really nice. As a return guest we also had an invite to a special meal which was also lobster but with pre warning had the kids changed to chicken. The buffet was always full of choice but we did realise quite soon that it was best to arrive as early as possible to avoid waiting for items to be restocked. Burgers and hotdogs on the beach were great for when we were feeling too lazy to walk to the buffet for lunch. The 24 hour snack bar was great for socials and drinks with great staff but the food was often not available and during our second week stopped completely and we were then told that food was only available between 11pm and 7am. Overall we all ate well and the kids survived.

Pools
One of the main reasons we returned to this resort. The 5 pools all tier down the hill from the main hotel down to the beach. The kids loved the pool. The entertainment staff are great and are always trying to involve everyone.

Beach
Looks amazing with great sand and warm clear water. Exclusive to the resort so very safe. Kids loved playing in the water as they could walk out really far and still stand up. Plenty of loungers and shade available.

Excursions
We did the island paradise again this time as we enjoyed it last time. Open bar on the boat to a lovely island beach and great buffet. The boat pulls up short of the beach to do some great snorkelling.
We visited the local eco park a short walk from the resort and took a 2 hour horse trek which the kids loved.
We also took the speed boat adventure. These were two seater boats which the kids also enjoyed. The highlight was the loss of a steering wheel on one of the boats.

Overall we had a great two weeks. We met some great people and the staff are always friendly.

Our only negative point about the resort was an issue we kept having with our room keys. They worked fine for the first week with no issues but the second week we had to change them 5 times which meant having to trek up to the reception. They sent a tech on the last day about an hour before check out. He checked it with his card and said it worked and left so unfortunately for the next occupant we hope you enjoy walking lol.

Its unfortunate that Thomson/First Choice have pulled out of Cuba as the country is a great place to visit.

Room Tip: Take your own drinking mugs as they only give out plastic cups which means a lot of trips to the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Just returned last night, & feel I must share my views on this resort. My 5th time to Cuba since 2010 (2nd time to Holquin) so I must say that I am a pretty good judge of the Cuban resorts. This was the most beautiful resort I have ever stayed at. The grounds are immaculate, and there are cascading waterfalls built over stones adjoining the different levels of pools. Stunning; but yes there are a lot of stairs to go up to get to some of the main areas.The staff were polite & most often were eager to please us. We stayed in the 500 block on the upper level & our room was cleaned well every day & we never had any cockroaches in the room.
Food/meals were my only complaint. There were strict rules on when to book (which we obeyed) & limited availability of the a la carte's. When we finally got a meal at the a la cartes'
they were not near full; & often what we wanted from the menu was not available. The meals at the a la carte's were better than the buffet; but we were then bitten by mosquitoes. So take your bug spray. The restaurants are all open on the sides (including the buffet). I have to say that at the beginning of the week I found the food at the buffet tasteless & repetitive. However on Thursday nite there were (Riu?) representatives at the buffet handing out evaluation cards (that they also then sought us out for to collect). The food at the buffet did start to get much better at this time. The meals became tastier all of a sudden.
You don't go to Cuba for the food. I know that. So if great food is a real priority you may want to rethink. Tasty Food for me is really important; so I am not sure I would go back. But I hope Riu can continue to improve the quality of the food so that this hotel can reach the potential it is capable of. It is a truly beautiful place & reaches excellent status in many of the categories.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Playa Turquesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Playa Turquesa

Address: Carretera Guardalavaca | Playa Yuraguanal - Holguin, Holguin, Cuba (Formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Holguin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Holguin
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Holguin
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Playa Turquesa 4*
Number of rooms: 531
Also Known As:
Sirenis Playa Turquesa Hotel Holguin
Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa Hotel
Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa Cuba
Grand Playa Turquesa Cuba
Hotel Riu Playa Turquesa Cuba/Holguin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Playa Turquesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.