We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Playa Turquesa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holguin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Riu Playa Turquesa
Save
You added Hotel Riu Playa Turquesa to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Guardalavaca | Playa Yuraguanal - Holguin, Holguin, Cuba (Formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Holguin
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“wonderful holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Just returned after spending two weeks at this amazing resort. On arrival at the airport we were quickly processed through customs etc and on to waiting air conditioned bus. We were greeted at the resort by staff and cocktail drink. Our check in was very quick and were offered a meal but chose instead to go our room. We were driven by electric cart to our room in the 400 block and our bags were carried to our room by our driver. This resort is beautiful with lush vegetation and numerous pools connected by cascading waterfalls down to the swim up bar and activity pool and almost to the long stretch of white sandy beach. We spent time at most of the pools as each one has its own charm. Food quality and variety was never an issue. Our favourite places were the buffet restaurant where we had breakfast each morning overlooking the pools and the ocean and lunch which we most frequently had at Don Bartello (open 24 hours/day). We also enjoyed the Cuban restaurant near the beach, the beach bar for a burger and the Italian a la carte restaurant.
There were no shortage of bars and the lobby bar was a favourite where after dinner each evening we were treated to very talented entertainers including a wonderful pianist or vocalists.
Overview : staff, gardeners, bartenders, entertainment people were always helpful and friendly. Yes, there were many steps but we came home in much better shape as a result and yes, there were mosquitoes but we sure grown them bigger in Ontario. Management was wonderful and continues to upgrade this resort. We would definitely return to this resort!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    793
    316
    137
    71
See reviews for
649
792
19
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed here Nov. 2013
Check In: check in was quick (great front desk staff) and easy and we had a wonderful porter that brought our bags right to our room. Long way to go on cart but only minutes by walking down pathway
Rooms: we stayed in the 7000 Villa section, 2nd floor overlooking a beautiful lush forest. The rooms were very large and clean and the air conditioning worked perfect and great water pressure with lots of hot water! No bath tub, but who takes a bath in Cuba?
Lobby: didn’t spend too much time in the lobby area but it was set up very comfortable and cozy for those wanting to relax after a nice meal or to listen to some nice after dinner music. Always an abundance of cheeses and prosciutto during the afternoon
Entertainment: Entertainment was okay, the Halloween show was a bit confusing, not sure how it pertained to Halloween but had a good time, some of the guests brought costumes and the staff all dressed up. Lots of activities at the beach area and after 4 at the pool.
Pool: great size and very clean. Seven levels of pool that actually looked like falling cascades, going from upper pool to the lower level (7 levels). Clean and close to the beach.
Beach: The beach was only about a 5 minute walk from the rooms and pool. It was clean and private. You may encounter a few rocks upon entering the ocean, but it clears up and is smooth in no time. Loved the ocean, stayed in as much as possible!! Beach area was large and spent most of the holiday on the beach than in the pool!
Buffet Restaurant: The night Buffet restaurant’s food was actually very good. They had great morning breakfasts and a great variety of dishes! The Beach buffet was just as nice with a large selection of flavorful dishes, and the staff were the best, they always had our table saved and drinks ready for us.
Restaurants: the restaurants at this resort were excellent, the Italian restaurant, stick with the antipasto and pizza, pasta was not very good. The Cuban restaurant was awesome, excellent dinner. The International restaurant was also very good. All in all the food was better than average and much more variety than most resorts in Cuba.
Bars: Great service and not so bad mixed drinks.
Buggy Rides: If you want a great tour of the area or need a taxi service, we highly recommend “Tino” who is located at guardalavaca market, great rate, safe and knows the best Local Lobster Restaurants
Overall: we would definitely go back in future. We also can’t wait to see the staff again who made our trip feel like it was home away from home.

Room Tip: Hints: bring some gifts with you if you can. They appreciate pharmaceutical products, PANTYHOSE, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed here between the 15th and 29th January 2014 and had a great time.
The complex is very large and spread out amongst tree's.You do not feel you are on a huge complex.
The private beach is fantastic with snorkelling,hobbie cats,canoeing and Pedalo's and the sea is a fantastic turquoise colour with lovely fish.
We found the food to be of excellent choice and of good standard in all the restuarants.
We travelled in an adult party of three and found the room to be really big and clean. The maid was fantastic.Actually we found all of the staff very genuinelly friendly.
The entertainment is of a very high standard each evening, from Opera, rural music and the Syncronized swimming entertainment ( wow).
Loved watching the Hummingbirds and Iguanas on a daily bases and the interesting hermit crabs along the paths.
A really great holiday.

Room Tip: We stayed on the edge of the complex which suited us well as it was lovely and quite and we felt we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PICKERING
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

My wife and I visited in December and had a wonderful time. We were given a well placed room near block 518. It's close to the pool, stairs to the buffet, beach and gym. Perfect. We loved the staff there. They served us cappuccino after cappuccino talked about politics, family and of course sports. We went to see the Holguin Cachorros baseball team at the local stadium and for $3 got the best seats in the house next to the wives and parents of the players. Later in the game our bartender Rubiye spotted us and introduced us to his family. Aisel is the head of public relations and she took great care ensuring we were always happy. The Italian a la carte was our favourite but what is best about this hotel are the tiered pools ( lots of waterfalls to play and swim under) and the staff. Maikel of the animation staff took us on an excursion to the mini-zoo where we learned all about cuban farming techniques (which of course are 100% organic ) parrots, crocodiles and more.
If you can investigate the excursion to the beautiful gem of a city Gibara, do so. It is not published and neither was the baseball or mini zoo trip, so ask people about things and if they don't know ask Aisel or the Sunwing reps there, they do. On the Gibara trip we caught a dorado and wahoo fish then were given a river tour and finally brought to the most elegant hotel in Gibara. Check out the hotel Ordono and Gibara trip if you want to meet real Cubans and see how beautiful life is there.

One thing not published was that wifi was available in the hotel lobby and 24hour bar, but few people knew, and also that Sunwing travellers got one hour of wifi free per day.
Enjoy yourself, swim and be happy.

Beach and snorkelling and sports: the beach is great, for views, drinks and dancing, not the best cuban beach for swimming because of seaweed. Snorkelling was limited when we were there and not too special if you weren't willing to go all the way to the reef edge(350m) Great hiking is close by off the resort, but when looking for volleyball, the best games were at 4:30 featuring all Cubans and no guests. Despite 8 tennis courts, no one but us played. They have a great soccer pitch too but it's unused and remote.
Again we loved the resort for its caring, hard working, tireless and friendly staff and the great trips available in the surrounding towns and villages.

Room Tip: Block 500 is close to everything. We had bug spray but never used it. There was never a problem wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Went with my wife on a honeymoon to this resort. We got in on a late flight and the bellhop took us right to the room in the golf cart.
The room was quaint and very spacious, but at a resort like this, we were not planning on staying in the room very much.
The stairs from level to level took getting used to but you stop noticing it after two days.
The buffet was excellent, with a variety of foods for even picky eaters. The a la carte meals were a nice quiet change from the hustle and bustle of the buffets. We booked a dinner down at the beach and the lobster was huge and very memorable and the price was only 20 pesos.
The staff is exceptional and very friendly. If you do go, definitely find out where a bartender named Geovanis is and spend time watching his flair bartending. He is definitely amazing at it. All the staff smile lots and show that they love their jobs. Never once do the staff make you feel that you have to tip them, rather, they make you feel like a very welcomed guest.
The pools were clean and the entertainment staff did a great job getting people up and in the party spirit. They do dancing lessons poolside, play bingo poolside, and have "crazy games" which are so much fun to watch.
The shows at night at great, we saw a black light show, grease, an opera show, water ballet, a fashion show, a take on circus acts, and a beach party.
One afternoon we took a horse and carriage ride and were treated to a trip through a nearby town and a stop at local vendors. The experience was amazing.
The beach was very nice but we spent most of our time poolside. We loved the swim up bar and spent lots of time at it.
The nightlife of this resort consists of a great little disco bar with amazing DJs or drinks in the 24 hour snack bar making new friends and shooting pool.
We are already looking at booking our trip next year back to this resort. I would highly recommend the resort.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Canada
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Let me begin by saying I have no negative things to say about this hotel. I received first class service from the moment I arrived to the moment I left.

Check in:
Fast and efficient, followed by a buggy ride to the room in the 500 block.

Room:
Spacious and clean. The shower had great pressure, sometimes you had to wait a little while for the water to get hot.(2 mins max) no biggie.

Hotel management and staff:
I have been travelling to Cuba since 1985 and this was one of the friendliest yet. Every staff member and I mean everyone, from the front desk to the maintenance staff, were so friendly. Allways a smile and a Hola Amigo.

Food:
The buffet had an enormous selection of food every day. If you could not find anyting you liked then there is something wrong with your taste buds. I tried all the ala cartes and enjoyed every one of them, plus there are cheeseburgers and pizza available 24 hrs a day at the snack bar.

Bars:
A great selection of drinks served by a very knowledgeable staff. I will not single any out as they were all great.Fast friendly service no matter the time of day or whether you chose to tip or not. I always did, but that is me.

Bugs:
It is hard to believe but there are mosquitos and cockroaches in the tropics, the mosquitos are very small here compared to their Canadian cousins so you dont hear em comming, but a little repellant on the arms and legs in the evenings kept them away. If you do get bit rub a little afterbite on and no problem. Rum also takes the itch away, if taken internally. I only saw a couple of cockroaches in 2 weeks, to be honest I have seen more roaches in N American hotels than I did here.

Entertainment:
Do yourself a favor and check out the shows in the evenings, you will not leave disappointed, you have my word on that.

Beach:
What can I say, white sand and turquoise water. There is some sea weed but it is cleaned up every morning. No shortage of lounge chairs or shade if you want it.

All said and done I had a great 2 weeks here and made a lot of new friends from Ontario, Quebec, Manitoba and England, you all know who you are. Chagabarbi, I lost your e-mail please send it.

I hope this review will be helpful, go there enjoy yourself and tell em Bill sent you.

Room Tip: Take bug repellant and afterbite. 500 block is central to all amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Positives first...

Excellent food & lots of variety, if you are disciplined enough not to pile a bit of everything on your plate.
Rooms spacious and clean, but our's wasn't cleaned on occasion till about 430 in the afternoon.
Entertainment excellent, and a step above the usual tongue in cheek stuff.
Overall hotel presentation excellent, and staff helpful and happy.

Negatives...

Hotel is built on a hill and flights of steps are everywhere unless you use the numerous hotel golf buggies, the drivers of which you feel obliged to tip or not use!
Canadians are the staple clients of this hotel, and they seem to tip staff for just being there! It is an all inclusive hotel, so why would you carry money!!! Fortunately the staff showed no favoritism if you weren't waving a note at them.
The mosquitoes and sand flies are merciless and despite the staff treating the foliage daily, numerous bites were evident everywhere
On the subject of Canadians: Individually they are really nice people, but they tend to gather together in large groups, and could do with a volume control!!!
The trips were the usual selection, but were pricey compared to similar destinations.
The hotel is isolated from everywhere (1 hour transfer from airport) with very few local destinations unless arranged trips

And Lastly:...

Gatwick is now a joy to pass through, fast and efficient (15 mins from drop off to breakfast in departures!). Holguin had us standing for 2 hours waiting to check in, and the Thompson reps gave no information or helped at all, especially when it turned out that it was an communication problem between Thompson and Holguin staff. When the problem was resolved it turned to chaos and everyone mobbed the gates.

Overall... A relaxing holiday with loads of niggles. Less hassle to go elsewhere in future. Apparently Thompson are removing this destination from their brochure later this year. I wonder why???

PS Flew on the new Dream Liner both ways... Awesome experience

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Playa Turquesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Playa Turquesa

Address: Carretera Guardalavaca | Playa Yuraguanal - Holguin, Holguin, Cuba (Formerly Sirenis Playa Turquesa)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Holguin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Holguin
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Holguin
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Playa Turquesa 4*
Number of rooms: 531
Also Known As:
Sirenis Playa Turquesa Hotel Holguin
Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa Hotel
Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa Cuba
Grand Playa Turquesa Cuba
Hotel Riu Playa Turquesa Cuba/Holguin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Playa Turquesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.