We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time Cubans!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort to your Saves list
Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Pesquero, Holguin 0000, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Holguin
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“First time Cubans!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My wife and i arrived home from Cuba this morning having spent a terrific three weeks at the resort.Every member of staff from the gardeners through the room maids,waiting staff up to and including Frederico the General Manager were never too put out to talk to you and always had a smile at any time.We had never been that side of the water before,always having been Med people and were more than surprised and perhaps a little suspicious of our welcome. The evening shows were first class on a large outside stage or an inside one if the weather was a bit inclement,on that point when you get a storm and we had a couple or three they are like nothing you get at home believe me.You would think that the whole world is going to come down on your head. The rooms are two tier and if you can get upgraded do so.The original hotel block is looking a bit tired and the rooms do tend to show their age somewhat,bit like Benidorm at its best if you know what i mean.The newer blocks which are at the rear are much better with walk in showers,flat screen tv's and premium restaurants as well as an exclusive swimming pool which only you get to use if you're in the posh blocks.Having said all this the food is very good and very edible and the waiters are around without being pushy with coffee etc.We are going to return at some stage as we really did enjoy ourselves,our only downside was not the resort but the flight time,9-30 hours out but a bit quicker coming home,as i said we are (were) Med people so upgrade your seat on the plane if you can.We don't think you will be disappointed if you have never been before.Oh and the old yank cars really do have to be seen to be believed,how they've lasted this long i have no idea!

Room Tip: Upgrade to rooms in Blocks 16 onwards if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    1,101
    369
    129
    56
See reviews for
599
939
142
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My partner and I stayed at Blau for 2 weeks travelling with Thomas Cook June 2014. Had an amazing holiday overall

SERVICE - waiters/ bar staff overall v friendly and attentive. Had one case where a waiter could not even understand the word 'water' in English - but other than this could not fault. Cleaners faultless. Reception a bit reluctant to fulfil requests I feel. Our patio door lock failed on the first night & we wanted it fixed before we went out for dinner. No such luck as had to repeatedly phone reception and when they eventually sent someone we had missed dinner. Not fun after a 10 hour flight!!!

ROOMS - after reading reviews we upgraded to PLUS section on arrival but did check out the standard room before hand. Well worth the upgrade. Standard room a lot closer to the noisy entertainment and ALOT dirtier and more basic. Sadly we hoped for exclusive use of the VIP pool as we paid considerably extra for the PLUS service but some people who did not pay felt it acceptable to frequent this pool. Very annoying. Fun to watch barman at the pool bar turn them away though

FOOD - we only visited the buffet. Being low season a few of the extra restaurants did not appear to be open and it was not clear when they would open, so we didn't bother. Choice of food is good, although not for a veggie like myself. Had pasta every night!! Both my partner and I ended up with quite severe tummy problems by the end of the two weeks.... Could've been heatstroke but did hear things about the ice being tap water which isn't good to drink. & some of the food looked a bit 'suspect'...if you tip at the pool bar you get your drinks in glasses as opposed to plastic cups.

TRIPS - if you travelled with Thomas Cook there is a good selection of trips. To Santiago, to Havana, jeep safaris, boat trips, etc. Would highly recommend as it was great to see the real cuba and get out of the resort occasionally

Overall these little things did not impede upon enjoyment of holiday. The hotel served us perfectly and was situated on such a beautiful beach so not too much to complain about!!! Would recommend, but only to patient people who don't mind that it is well below the standards we are used to.


Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We travelled to the Blau Costa Verde over the Easter weekend and the resort was very busy. We were on the Plus side of the resort and had a great room in building 28, close to everything. It was worth the upgrade to the Plus as the room was new and very bright. The mini fridge was restocked daily as promised. Maid service was very good. Never had a problem getting a lounger down at the beach or at the Plus pool and the bar there served excellent drinks.

We booked 3 of 4 a la cartes, Gourmet, Italian & the Lobster dinner, all of which were excellent. The wait staff services was quick and efficient.

We did see a few of the nightly shows and the best one was the "Showtunes", light opera. It was very professionally done, unfortunately there were other guests at the show talking very loud amongst themselves, which was very distracting.

The Plus lounge was a nice surprise, serving Premium brand drinks.

Over all we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would highly recommend the Plus side of this resort.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This was our first time in Cuba. It was a nice getaway, and the price was right. The food was not great but better than I expected, as I have heard the food in Cuba is not as good as other tropical places.
Only the price would bring me back. I much prefer Punta Cana or the Mayan Riviera. The people were nice, but I prefer the upbeat enthusiasm of the resort staff in DR or Mexico.
And, most of all make sure you upgrade, it is relatively cheap and you get the better rooms and a few other perks. The only downfall to the upgrade is that they do not enforce the exclusiveness that the upgrade is supposed to offer, pool etc.

Room Tip: Upgrade, it's not that much more! We upgraded as soon as we got there because while in line to c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Where do I begin? On arrival my husband Rob & I upgraded to the new rooms as I had previously read the reviews on the old rooms which lived up to their comments - tired, worn, musty etc. The new ones are however very nice.
The beach is in a bay & the water is very calm. Yes there are some stones, but nothing to worry about. Beautiful clear sea. As we went in low season there was enough room, but I'm not sure if the beach area would be too full if the hotel was full to capacity in high season.also it is shared with other hotels further along the bay.
The food is ok, but the buffet does get very repetitive. The Italian during lunch is the best, serving freshly cooked pasta & pizza.
My concerns were with the high number of prostitutes staying in the hotel. Everywhere I looked there were very old foreign men with very young girls, some even had 2 girls. They choose them in Holguin & bring them to stay at the hotel with them. On complaining to the hotel about this, we were told that prostitution is illegal in Cuba & that they weren't hookers. Other hotels have banned these working girls, hence the high numbers at the Blau. Everyone at the hotel, tourists & some of the staff admitted that the hotel charges the men to bring the girls in, but still hotel management denied it. It thoroughly ruined our (& many other tourists that complained) holiday. I did not, or for that matter the children that were staying, want to see dirty old men pawing over very young teenage girls. It was disgusting. And as Thomas Cook are the resort's representative for the Blau, I expect them to deal with this matter, which my husband & I did report to them. For this reason I would never return to this hotel again. We have previously stayed in Varadero & have never seen an inkling of prostitution within the hotels.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

stayed at the resort on our honeymoon,27th may for one week.Had to pay for upgrade even though was promised by agent we wouldnt ha e tk as our honeymoon!!.

Food-pizza place brilliant ,buffet horrendous lost 7 lbs in our week!!!.

Bar- nice friendly staff,clean

Rooms-clean and tidy if u upgrade but old part very old and tired and falling apart so def upgrade.

Entertainment-good

Staff- AMAZING ,enough said

My main downfall was the fighting in the bar every night between roudy drunk people and YES THERE ARE PROSTITUTES there were 3 canadian elderly men who had VERY young cuban girls with them and told people they had been hired for the week ,utterly disgusting ,told management and they said they would deal with it but feel they already knew and maybe had a cut..........all had wrist bands and pretty obvious!.
DO NOT bring your children here its a disgrace which needs to be stopped

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

After reading some of the reviews on here we were pleasantly surprised by the resort. The buffet food was excellent and the wine and beer plentiful. We upgraded to the plus section but it was a bit shoddy as if the cheapest Poundland materials had been used. The paintwork was all over the walls and handles. However I wasn't bothered by that. Staff were a mixed bunch but never had any problems with service like others on here. The sex tourism is discrete but I didn't want it in a family hotel. Lots of Canadians drinking all day and we got on fine with them. VIP bar was good. The theme meals differed in quality from the Italian pizza which was great to the French night which is the worst meal I've ever had. However we left and went to the excellent buffet. Overall Cuba is an excellent country, the people are nice and although much poorer than us my friends said you get hassled much more elsewhere in the Caribbean. Don't expect Florida or Spanish standards.

Top tip - hire a taxi for the day as for 4 its only a little more than the bus to Guadalavaca.
Second top tip - visit where Christopher Columbus landed in the Americas. It's in a park not far from the resort. Take a taxi as very cheap.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holguin
0.0 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.0 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ottley's Plantation Inn
Ottley's Plantation Inn
#1 of 6 in Basseterre
4.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Resort Catalonia Punta Cana
Resort Catalonia Punta Cana
#76 of 98 in Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
0.0 mi away
South Caicos Ocean & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort

Address: Playa Pesquero, Holguin 0000, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Holguin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Holguin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort is located on the seafront next to the fine white sandy beach of Playa Pesquero in eastern Cuba. Our Holguin resort is surrounded by luscious tropical vegetation. At Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort the natural environment is fully incorporated into the resort. Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort offers spectacular views from our rooms over 36 000 m2 of gardens and natural vegetation. Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort offers (with extra charge: Three souvenir shops including one selling Cuban tobacco. Complimentary car, moped and bicycle hire. Taxi service. Parking. Laundry service. Medical services: nursing service in the hotel and medical visits on request. Bureau de change in reception. Massage services. Hairdressers. Special dinner. Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort ALL INCLUSIVE: Breakfast, lunch and buffet dinner. A la Carte dinner once a week per customer. Local beverages and select international brands. Non-motor water sports. Sporting activities: volleyball, basketball, tennis, aerobics and snorkelling Daytime and evening entertainment programme including Spanish lessons, dance classes, and nightly shows. Minibar. Teatime. Discotheque. Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick so you can book your Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blau Costa Verde Beach Hotel Holguin
Blau Costa Verde Cuba
Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort Cuba/Holguin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.