We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad but not great!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holguin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort
Save
You added Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Pesquero, Holguin 0000, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Holguin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“not bad but not great!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

this is "nice" resort the plus is worth it just because the non plus is packed with people and sometimes you just want some quiet time... the beach unfortunately to my taste SUCKED! one thing i will add is the food was AWESOME even for cuba, they have a pizza lunch and its really good (you have to wait 45 mins but it was good zza). glad we were there but wont be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    987
    315
    115
    51
See reviews for
530
833
127
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
L'Ile-Perrot, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My friends and I went down April 8-15th 2014 to celebrate my birthday and our friends wedding on the Saturday the 12th. Overall a really enjoyable vacation, but that is always to be had when you are with good people!

Resort: The resort was overbooked that week so no last minte upgardes were to be had (one couple ended up at 5* down the road for a few nights before due to over bookings but came back and got an upgrade due to the inconvenience). Wedding couple did not get an upgrade either but according to a couple who were in Plus section, we were not missing much except freshly painted rooms and a bathroom with separate shower and VIP pool and resto access. So if that is important to you by all means ask for upgrade beforehand during busy season ! The standard rooms were pretty decent, clean and the beds and pillows very comfy, a/c worked well. We stayed in bldg 5 above the main buffet, perfect location close to everything ! We had one friend in newer section who was across the resort and was a bit of a trek to meet us at main pool and beach. The new section was put up fast they said and my personal opinion they forgot to add landscaping - pretty baren looking the grounds on new side. Main lobby/pool area is pretty with lots of flowery bushes and is set up well. Off this area its a short walk to the beach.

Beach : resort is at one end of the beach...lost of sand area and beach chairs were ok to find, have a guy who helps set them up for you...water is pretty calm due to the reef in the area...entry into the water is a bit tricky in most areas as there are a lot of big rocks upon entry...water shoes good idea...water is shallow for a good stretch. Not my favorite beach, but nice to walk each morning.

Food: we ate well each morning - omelette station rocks, breakfast buffet not the biggest but has the basics...lunch was good and dinners were great . Italian resto for pizza lunch very tasty! Drinks no hang but not stingy on booze.

Excursion: We took the lobster dinner/sunset catamaran tour on a Sunday - had a great time highly recommend it. Some of my group took Holguin city tour and said it was good.

Wedding: This resort does not have a gazebo to hold the ceremony - its done directly on the beach under an arch that is decorated with flowers. It is nice but the issue is that strangers in their bathing suits can be in your pictures who arent polite enough to keep away while the ceremony is going on. My friends raved about the wedding planner at the resort - said she was very helpful. Reception dinner was very nicely done as well.

Entertaiment: did Aqua gym one day and they had volleyball in the pool. Nightly shows were decent - first time seeing water show which was amazing ! Disco opens up later - newer music played

I prefer smaller resorts usually but this was good enough for our group of 30 trip. Beach wise though I have seen better in Cuba !

Room Tip: Bldgs 5-6 close to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

So after spending a rather hectic couple of weeks at another resort in another country we decided to go to the Blau to relax for a week. (Got a scream 'in deal on the price). Rather a later flight time than we like but arrived at the resort around 09:30 at night and off to the room. We booked into the new plus section and were really impressed. Big spacious room centrally located (block 16) close to the private pool, bar and a couple of the VIP restaurants. Since we blew off the orientation the next morning we didn't find out about some of the perks we were entitled to until later in the week (whoops the goes the lobster dinner, private bar what private bar) Oh well! and I'm still looking for the cigar bar. Put that's OK food was good (some of the a la carts were very good and the group dinner around the pool on our last night was excellent. All in all a very positive experience and would go again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: If in the VIP Plus look for rooms in the 16 and 17 block
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierrefonds Quebec
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Vacationed from May 16th to the 23rd 2014. We choose Blau for being there twice before, had good memories. This time will be the last one! The food was horrendous, everything else was ok, the only thing that really made a difference were the shows at night, a lot of talent and musicality these performers where amazing.
We were a bit off season, like someone else mentioned a lot of visitors with escorts and Cuban families vacationing. All that to say that the staff is very friendly and welcoming.
Excellent rapport with animazione employee, Dariel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada, Kentucky
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Food good, Staff excellence ,The water show was great and the other severing average ,Our room was not quite ready for us ,but after seeing our rep. It was 3 days getting that done but other then that all was a great time with friends and some of the staff remembered us from before And thanks to out new friends / staff we met on this trip ,Stayed there in 2012 Nice vacation then and another nice vacation again, and will be going back next year. Remember you are in Cuba .

Room Tip: Book the new section ,if you want updated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Blau Costa Verde for out honeymoon at the end of April. We were told repeatedly that Cuba was lovely and the people couldn't do enough, so we were really looking forward to a lovely honeymoon.
The staff weren't all friendly and it tended to depend on how much you tipped them to the quality of service you got.
The hotel rooms were dated and run down and certainly didn't deserve it's 4* status.
We discovered that you could upgrade your room which we did do after 3 days, but as they knew it was our honeymoon surely they should have given us this in the beginning!! You get one honeymoon and ours definitely didn't feel special. Not only did the hotel not recognise it, neither did our tour operator.
The beach is beautiful, shame we didn't know about the all inclusive beach sports until it was too late.
We won't be returning to Blau Costa Verde, the tour operator or Cuba!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

The Holguin area is for laid back vacationers. There is very little entertainment beyond the Resort, but Blau tries to keep you distracted enough to remind you that you are in Cuba. Make sure you buy Blau Costa Verde PLUS (Premium) and not just Blau Costa Verde (Regular) as the difference is:
- the main daytime and evening entertainment is held in the Regular area and the noise is measurable
- there is a pool that is only for the Premium customers. This pool is much nicer than the Regular one
- they serve food at the side of the Regular pool so there are many more birds doing their bird biological functions around the pool
The Premium rooms were very spacious and cleaned daily.
There is a 24Hr bar that serves food and booze.
There is a buffet that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner at specific times.
I've attached a Tours Planner ( Air Canada Vacations Version, but I think they are all the same) because you have to have reservations to the ala carte restaurants and you need to plan your return times. If you do this in advance you can book available dining space as soon as you get there (recommended)
I met a Scuba diver from Quebec and he says the diving is spectacular.
Bring toiletries to hand out to locals as they have great difficulty getting these in the country.
Exiting Cuba requires 25 CUCs but it has to be paper money not coins.
As of this writing (2014-05-20) they were saying that they would be phasing out CUCs in a year.
Have a good vacation!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort

Address: Playa Pesquero, Holguin 0000, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Holguin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Holguin
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Holguin
#2 Luxury Hotel in Holguin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 749
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Es un completo Resort de 4 estrellas.Esta situado en primera linea de playa con unas espectaculares vistas a las aguas cristalinas del Caribe. Un servicio PLUS en regimen de todo Incluido. Amplias habitaciones, acceso directo a la playa, esectacular piscina, restaurnates tematicos... Todo pensado para el ocio y el descanso. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blau Costa Verde Beach Hotel Holguin
Blau Costa Verde Cuba
Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort Cuba/Holguin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.