We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blau Costa Verde - better than ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort to your Saves list
Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Pesquero, Holguin 0000, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Holguin
st catharines,ont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Blau Costa Verde - better than ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our trip started out with 14 flying Westjet,things went very smooth both on land and air. The only problem was one passenger on the return flight who would always get up when the fasten seat belt sign was lit.
Upon arrival at Blau things went smoothly at the checkin and we were welcomed back with a true Cuban welcome. Paula and Miguel were there to greet us and let us know if there was anything they could do for us don't hesitate to ask.
We decided to stay in the old, block 5 only because we sooner wait until construction is finished before trying. The service was fast and courtious at all bars, a la cartes, restaraunts and buffet. The returning guest luncheon was a nice change and it was well done by the staff.
Even being at capacity with 5 new blocks open line ups were minimal at any place. The management were quick to react to any shortage of things as with the case of ice.
I had a tour of the new blocks both regular room and suite and found them very well layed out.The many walkways made it easy to get around. The new pool is large and has railings to to get in and out making it safer for seniors.
The gardeners were always hard at work keeping the old section neat and planting in the new section.
The new chef at the Blau has revamped the menus at the a la cartes which were very good and the choices at the buffet were hot and always a good variety.
Again thanks all at the Blau for a great vacation and we will see you again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    1,099
    369
    129
    56
See reviews for
598
939
142
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

After careful consideration, we chose Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort for our annual trip to Cuba. We have always traveled to Varadero, but had decided to try the Holguin/Guardalavaca area this year. So glad we chose this resort.

There was so much that this resort has to offer, and we were never at a loss to find something entertaining, or relaxing to do. We stayed in the old section (Block 1 and Block 2) and had no complaints. Our rooms were clean and comfortable, and the fridges were re-stocked daily. Our rooms were a short walk to anything we wanted to go to at the resort....whether is was the lobby, the main buffet, the beach, the pool...or just a walk around the beautiful grounds. Even the new pool, pool bar and new lunch buffet/International a la carte were not a far walk. I felt that with all the new walk ways around the new section, the resort is laid out well so that you can easily reach the area that you want to be in.

The staff was so friendly and helpful...always a smile on their faces for us. I had an issue with my room safe upon check in and someone from maintenance was there within an hour to fix it.

It was 'crab mating season' (seriously) while we were there, and we became used to seeing many crabs wandering around the premises. We found this quite amusing, and you could see people taking pictures whenever one wandered into the lobby. They seemed to be in abundance for about three days solid, then they were gone.

Our food was very good....fresh, lots of choices, and the few line ups (omelettes at breakfast or the grilling stations) moved quickly. There were also lots of choices of places to eat. I think we only ate in the buffet restaurant, other than breakfast, about 3 times throughout the week. There was always another restaurant or a la carte to try. We had read just before we left that there was no butter, but there was plenty while we were there.

The beach was beautiful, and we never had a problem getting a lounger. Although, at some times, the beach was a little crowded, there was always room. There are several trees on the beach, so if we were unable to get a palapa, we could usually find some shade near one of the trees. We did snorkeling and some in our group went to the Diving Centre and went scuba diving. So many fish to see, especially if you take a banana with you and feed them.

We took the double decker bus into Guardalavaca a couple of times, and some in our group rented scooters and drove in. Nice little market in town, and we stopped on Guardalavaca beach for a nice lunch. We also hired a tour guide one day (recommended by reception) and toured Holguin and Gibara in a 1955 Buick. We stopped for a drink at a little resort inland called Villa Mirador de Mayabe...a beautiful little place, and we explored a cave just outside of Gibara with 3 university graduates who studied speleology. Very informative, and I can now say I survived being in a cave with bats...lol..I felt so perfectly safe with these tour guides that I didn't once feel nervous.

All in all, I would definitely recommend this resort, and we are already planning on returning next year to meet up with some friends that we met there.

Room Tip: If you go during 'crab-mating season' (spring time), I would recommend getting a room not on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Well just returned from Blau on the 7th of april,and had another great trip...With all the new blocks of rooms opening 5 now the resort still did not seem to over crowded.they are still working on the new resturant/bar but that probably won't open till after all the rooms are open.
..This was our 9th stay here and we noticed that the water levels have dropped bigtime but the snorkeling was still great lots to see,Staff be sure to give these people a tip they work long hours and have very little time to stop for breaks but heck of a group or people they make the resort.
Food..never had any issues with food from fresh cooked chicken,fish pork,and beef to pasta,turkey pig roast,all was good large selection of vegy's rice potatoes all good.
A couple of small issues that have a easy fix, ice and butter lack of they ran out a few times but i didnt wreck our trip it happens.
Met a big group of tripadvisor friend lots of fun guys hope to see you there next year ,you know who you are ;)
We stayed in the older part just to save the walk from the new part no issues with our room,New pool was open very large ,with large bar seating 2 sides divided by a bridge and with a kids pool

All in all will go back to Blau in a heart beat just go with a open mind understanding that there are a few growing pains but they are and will get through them,and know that you won't die if you need to wait a couple minutes for a drink or food,if you do you should have came earlier or go get it youself

Till next year Blau

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have just spent one week at Blau Costa Verde. We were fortunate to be assigned a ground floor room in the 2000 block which made it easy to get to everything. Music from the nearby stage stopped at 10:30 p.m. so getting to sleep was not a problem. The Italian restaurant was excellent. Also, it was worth the cost of the special lobster- steak dinner held on the Friday evening. Staff were warm and gracious. We agree with the positive reviews others have given. What we did not see before we went were reviews on the excursions by the agents in the lobby. These were absolutely excellent and worth every penny they cost. How wonderful to be able to visit Cuban homes, a school, a medical clinic, to swim one on one with the dolphins and even visit the local grocery store. We came away with a much better sense of the country. Most guests were Canadian so the one piece of advice is for those who want to use the internet. When I tried logging in to my Rogers account, I got no where and that was frustrating. It turns out that Rogers has a two listings for logging in and one goes via the US. That is the one that gets blocked. Once I figured that out, I had no trouble keeping in contact with home. However, staff at the reception and the public relations desk were not at all helpful or resourceful when this problem was raised. Overall, we would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a one week stay at the Blau. Overall we had a great time and would recommend it to friends or family. Here's an overview of the pluses (and very minor) minuses from our point of view:

THE PLUSES:
*Pretty beach with sufficient chairs and space. People leaving towels on chairs and then walking away for 5 hours was discouraged and didn't seem to be a big issue.
*Food was good! Quality, taste, and variety were better than expected and was a pleasant surprise.
*Room was clean and quiet (we were put into the brand new section - we were the first people to occupy our room so I can't vouch for the older section). Overall the resort was kept quite clean as well (and I'm quite picky about that)
*Staff was pleasant and helpful. Elizabetha, a lady who worked at the front desk, in particular went above and beyond.
*Great weather (the resort couldn't control that, but I thought I'd mention it anyway!)
*We were able to make arrangements to stay in our room until 4pm, which was very helpful as we had a late departure (and the cost of doing this is quite reasonable).
*The resort and staff did little things to make the stay nicer - (ie. one day, they had a Cuban beach party with a pig roast, coconuts to drink from and eat, Cuban coffee to try, musicians playing and dancing...it was really fun and was a nice touch)
*On most days, they had vendors selling their wares. This was also a nice touch, and they were not overpriced (at least on the item I bought) and didn't harass you
*Massages are available on site and are quite reasonable

MINOR MINUSES:
*In certain parts of the beach (more in land) it had a sewage smell on some days. It wasn't an issue unless you were hanging around that area (which people didn't, as there were plenty of other nice spots on the beach close to the ocean..it was just noticeable as you passed by)
*Internet was a bit pricey and apparently slow/unreliable (we didn't bother - nice to disconnect!)
*They are currently finishing work on a new section. Noise was thankfully not an issue, but it one were to be picky, it wasn't overly attractive (minimal vegetation in this area, lots of dirt...but this is to be expected under the circumstances and wasn't a big deal for us as the rest of the resort was very nice)
*Prior to the trip, I was in touch with the manager via email to ask a few questions and make some requests re/ our room preferences to see if they might accommodate as we were going for our anniversary and wanted to be in a quiet section. The manager was very prompt at replying to inquiries (which was great) and said that they would put notes in our file re/ our room requests and offered us an anniversary package (bottle of wine and "romantic dinner"). We were just a bit disappointed that the front desk person appeared to have no notes on our file when we checked in and the anniversary package didn't materialize (which in and of itself wasn't a big deal, it was just that the lack of follow through was disappointing)
*My husband thought that he saw a small cockroach in our room (I didn't see anything thankfully at all during the trip, but it never hurts to be careful - bags zipped up and off the floor as much as possible)
*Prepare yourself for a lengthy and disorganized entry process into the country. Also, the drive from airport to hotel is about an hour ish and the roads are bumpy.

SOME SUGGESTIONS/TIPS:
*Bring water shoes - the beach is pretty and long enough to walk but the sand is a bit rough
*If you like quiet (away from bar/nightclub) ask to be in building 28
*Bring light, small inexpensive items from the dollar store or that you have at home and aren't using (ie hair accessories, gum, socks...we left a box of tampons for the maid and she really appreciated them) that you can carry easily and discretely give as "tips" - while they are not necessary per se, they are appreciated
*Bring travelling cups/thermoses for beer (their plastic cups for the beach and pool area are quite small and they will fill your own cups if you bring them)
*Bring lots of sunscreen and hats and never go out during the day without them on - the sun is very intense (at least it was in early April!) ...we went out the first day for a short walk without doing so and learned this tip the hard way!

If you are able to find a good price on a package for the Blau, go for it and have fun a great time! :)

Room Tip: Please refer to the tips in my review
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Head, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Our family, my husband and 2 daughters (14 and 16), traveled to Holguin, Cuba from Feb. 28th to Mar.6th, 2013. This was our first big holiday and we had a wonderful time. We stayed in block 3 and it was clean and comfortable, and a beautiful ocean view, and we enjoyed the smaller resort so that we could walk anywhere in no time. We thought that the food was fine, we enjoyed the fresh grilling stations at every meal, and that is what we ate mostly. We all LOVED the pizzeria for lunch. We did not enjoy the a la carte restaurants, just not our taste, we found with the buffets we could always find something we liked. The Breads were always great! We enjoyed the Beach Volleyball and the other beach activities. The catamaran ride was super. The snorkeling was super and we fell in love with the experience!! We brought our own masks and we were glad we had, so we never had to wait for equipment. The staff were all friendly and very kind and always helpful. The nightly entertainment was always enjoyable. We met lots of wonderful people from Canada and the UK. We traveled with Nolitours and they offer a meeting the first day to explain everything that is available, we all attended and I highly recommend going, very informative. Our only concern is that the resort is expanding to almost double the size and we just don't know how the beach and restaurants will handle this.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahone Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My wife and I just returned from our 2nd trip to the Blau Costa Verde. The updates to the resort were amazing, the lobby has been opened to make a great view of the fountain as you enter. They have added a large 2nd pool with swim up bar and walk way over the pool. More rooms are being added weekly , the buffet has been totally reworked with all new steamer tables , new windows and A/C. Our Nolitours representative greeted us as soon as were cleared customs ( a very quick process). He had all the guest bags removed from the baggage claim and directed us to our bus. The guide did our orientation as we took our 1 hour drive to the resort and made ice cold beer available (no charge ). Our room was read as soon as we arrived and our luggage was loaded and arrived at our door with us. The room was very comfortable and at a pleasant 21Deg. Next morning we were greeted by public relations with a warm smile and hugs. We spent a lot of time on the beautiful water in the paddle boats and lounging on the beach. Our anniversary dinner was amazing at the new al lecarte with Lobster Bisque, salad, fillet minion and banana flambe with ice cream. Tuesday we did a Cuba Life tour which included a visit to a fishing village, a working farm, reconstructed native village and museum and a trip to the market. The buffet did a Canadian night with smoked salmon, clams, mussels, hake ( grilled to request), beef pork, fries. We were treated to a whole pig roast at a returning guest luncheon. We were blown away all week and found it hard to tear ourselves away to leave. Plans to return are already being discussed. We would very highly recommend the Blau for your next vacation.

Room Tip: as expected there are few 1st floor room with ocean view , but how much time do your spend in the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holguin
0.0 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.0 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ottley's Plantation Inn
Ottley's Plantation Inn
#1 of 6 in Basseterre
4.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Resort Catalonia Punta Cana
Resort Catalonia Punta Cana
#76 of 98 in Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
0.0 mi away
South Caicos Ocean & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort

Address: Playa Pesquero, Holguin 0000, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Holguin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Holguin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort is located on the seafront next to the fine white sandy beach of Playa Pesquero in eastern Cuba. Our Holguin resort is surrounded by luscious tropical vegetation. At Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort the natural environment is fully incorporated into the resort. Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort offers spectacular views from our rooms over 36 000 m2 of gardens and natural vegetation. Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort offers (with extra charge: Three souvenir shops including one selling Cuban tobacco. Complimentary car, moped and bicycle hire. Taxi service. Parking. Laundry service. Medical services: nursing service in the hotel and medical visits on request. Bureau de change in reception. Massage services. Hairdressers. Special dinner. Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort ALL INCLUSIVE: Breakfast, lunch and buffet dinner. A la Carte dinner once a week per customer. Local beverages and select international brands. Non-motor water sports. Sporting activities: volleyball, basketball, tennis, aerobics and snorkelling Daytime and evening entertainment programme including Spanish lessons, dance classes, and nightly shows. Minibar. Teatime. Discotheque. Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick so you can book your Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blau Costa Verde Beach Hotel Holguin
Blau Costa Verde Cuba
Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort Cuba/Holguin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.