We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful resort...fab. time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holguin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
Save
You added Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Esmeralda, Crta Guardalavaca, Holguin 007, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Holguin
Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“wonderful resort...fab. time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2005

just back from 10 days in the Rio dOro ,two adults two children (11+14), could not recommmend it more highly for a family holiday. Coral reef 50m from shore was the icing on the cake.

We drove from Havana to the hotel and back over 3 days which added immensly to our stay and gave us brilliant memories ...with hurricane denis thrown in...recommend travelling through cuba to get real feel for island and its people....holiday of a lifetime

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Old review, thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,609
    595
    194
    66
    26
See reviews for
236
2,435
76
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (750)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
1 review
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2005

My husband and 16 yr old son stayed at the Paradisus for a week from July 1st 2005. We researched pretty extensively prior to booking, and were not in any way disappointed with any aspects of the resort.
We contacted the hotel by e. mail prior to departure ( recommend) to specify what type of room etc. and also to book A'La Carte restaurants. We asked for adjoining rooms as our son has learning disability, and were give two wonderful rooms (4016/4018) ours was a corner room and although there was not much drawer space everything else was great.
All the facilities,restaurants, etc were excellent, as were the staff who were particularly wonderful with our son Alex, taking him on nocturnal crab hunts with the other kids and generally looking out for him.
I fail to understand why anyone would complain that this is not a 5 star resort. Yes it is possibly not as deluxe as some US hotels, but neither is it as cold or impersonal........it is truly unique, in a marvellous location on a fabulous beach, and we cannot wait to visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Old review, thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2005

Unfortunately due to the hurricane our stay in the Paradisus was cut short by a couple of days, but the time we did spend there was wonderful. The hotel is top class in every way. The beautiful lush surroundings contained a huge variety of plant life, birds, butterflies and even lizards! We stayed in a superior junior suite which had an outside shower - perfect for a romantic break! The staff were very friendly and helpful. Despite some minor language problems the service was impeccable. The beach is absolutely beautiful - the whitest sand and the sea a perfect turqouise. This hotel is everything you need for relaxation and luxury. Our only regret was that we did not get to dine at the a la carte restaurants as they were all booked up the week we were there. Having said that the buffet restaurant had a huge variety of food at all three meals, all very fresh and well cooked, so there was something for everyone. I had the most amazing cheesecake I have ever tasted at this hotel, so I won't forget this trip in a hurry!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Old review, thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborough
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2005

just arrived home from a fantastic holiday.cannot recomend highly enough.Food top quality staff very pleasent and helpful nothing is to much trouble the beer is pretty good to .

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Old review, thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2005

We travelled with First Choice and paid extra for the Premier Cabin. Was it worth it? Undoubtedly! No queuing at the airport, champagne and strawberries while the rest of the plane are boarding, little gifts and complimentary drinks during the flight.

The hotel is sensational; check-in was the quickest ever. We were handed a letter, which confirmed all our “a la carte” bookings and taken to our room, which faced the buffet restaurant. It was a top floor corner room with a wrap round balcony. I’m going for an operation on my ankle soon and have walking difficulties, so the location of the room was perfect.

The mattresses on the sun beds at the pool are a brilliant idea, use them as floating beds on the water or as large floating trays for the round of drinks from the pool bar.

The entertainment round the pool is excellent; the animation team work very hard and there is a full list of activities displayed on the notice board at the club house. We played water polo (I was the goalie!), water volley ball, beach volley ball and then a few games we made up with my tiny Mickey Mouse ball and the floating beds.

Lunch-time at the Santa Maria beach restaurant was breathtaking, the view is incredible, the friendliness of the staff is unbelievable. Roberto is the nicest man you can meet. On entry to the restaurant, he asks for your names and then the next day he remembers both of you and greets you by name. He is the kindest, most generous person you can meet. I hope his two eldest sons wear their “Killie” tops with pride. Roberto’s attitude to tipping is that friendship is more important than money. You need to be there early to get a table, so we usually lunched at 12.30, leaving a bit of a gap before dinner, which I usually filled with another lunch later in “El Saltoun”

Snorkelling was usually fitted in somewhere between lunching, bring your own gear or borrow it from the club house free of charge. If you go snorkelling, bring an underwater camera, there are fish everywhere. Take bread or bananas with you and the fish will surround you as you enter the water. You’ll need to swim with the bread out of the water as the snappers will start biting your fingers trying to get the bread. Just between the Massage Room and the Wedding Gazebo, at the beginning of the coral is the locality of one of the barracuda. It is perfectly happy to relax in its little den and must be fed up with daft Scots trying to poke it with sticks. If you feel really athletic, you can snorkel all the way round to the “Caleticas”, but it is a long swim made longer by the need to skirt all the way round the coral reefs which lie below the cliffs. There are probably more fish nearer the main beach.

Late afternoon often consisted of the pool “Olympics”, trying to run across 3 floating beds, somersaulting onto the beds and sundry other silly games. Or on the days when you were feeling less active, you could get a foot massage from the lovely Yanellis.

Dinner alternated between the buffet or the “a la carte” restaurants. The buffet is lovely, but really warm and humid. The choice of food is incredible; the soups were terrific. The staff in the buffet are, as everywhere, exceptionally friendly, encouraging our bumbling attempts at Latin American Spanish.

The Japanese Restaurant is an amazing experience, we laughed from start to finish. We were catching pieces of beef in mid air and even learned to eat with chop sticks.

El Patio is sheer class, it is elegant and romantic. The service is excellent and the food is to die for. A classical violinist plays in the background.

The Mediterranean is just wonderful, the décor and the whole ambience reminded us of some of the old Scottish Country House Hotels. The food and service were once again superb. This time it’s two classical guitarists who provide the accompaniment to your meal. The lounge of the Mediterranean is just so nice and cool to sit in after your meal.

El Bohio is the Creole restaurant, but it doesn’t have air conditioning and the food is only fair. However it does have the trio who play at most of the weddings and they are really good.

After dinner we usually met up with all the people we had met during the holiday and chatted or played pool. The company that we met really made the holiday, they were terrific and we had some brilliant laughs. It’s amazing how much fun you can have with a 5 peso note and a length of invisible fishing line.

We travelled to Guardalavaca twice by horse and carriage, Fidel, our driver, was a revelation. He knew so much about the birds the trees and the history of the country. Because we bought him a beer, he cut a fresh mango from a tree for us. The second trip included a ride through the country and a visit to his local in Aguardala Pierria. This is something you must do!

Swimming with dolphins is great and should not be missed, but the best value is the speed boat trip in the Mangroves, you’ll feel like James Bond.

What made Cuba and particularly Paradisus Rio de Oro special for us was the extreme kindness and friendliness of the staff. From the restaurant staff, bar staff, right through to the gardeners, they appear to be genuinely interested in you, and cannot do enough for you.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Old review, thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sudbury
1 review
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2005

I stayed one week at the paradisus rio de oro, with family and friends, all of us attending a wedding. Everyone thought they were in paradise.
Everything that is mentionned in other reviews is absolutely true....

Restaurants : must reserve right away in the lobby. Email reservation, which we did a few weeks prior to our trip, did not work. But we had an automatic in with the wedding party. Great food, remarkable service!!!

Beach and pool : Awesome. Very refreshing!!! There are comfy floating mats for chairs and pool...great slush drinks....and Michael who is one the pool grounds keepers, will make you a grasshopper out of palm leaves and get you a fresh coconut to eat and drink.

Rooms : a little musty...bring an air freshner and you won't notice it. Some friendly critters made it into the rooms of certain people from our party, but it wasn't a major problem. Very spacious, very nice bathroom, ironing board, iron, hair dryer, umbrella, cd player, tv...all of which work very well. No need to bring your own.

Baby friendly : We travelled with 2 kids (1 and 3 years of age). Everybody catered to our every need and didn't have to worry about a thing. There are high chairs in the buffet area. If you are in an a la carte restaurant, they will go get a chair for you.
-There is plenty of kid-friendly food...french fries, chicken, pizza, canned peaches and pears, cereals, breads, cheese...I was not afraid of letting my kids eat whatever. I did however make them cook eggs and meat a bit longer.
-There is plenty of juice and water, all bottled.
-For under 10$, you can purchase water toys, floaties and sand toys in the gift shop. No need to bring any.
-A crib was supplied for us. It was not very big...more like a large bassinet. But, my 1 year old slept soundly.
-There is a bit of shade here and there...

Service : The people that work at the Paradisus are what make it such a great place. Leandro and Raphael...and the great golf cart rides. They would stop on their way somewhere and pick us up and drive us to our room and them come back and pick us up to go for dinner. They were great!!!
-Maykel(Michael) and his crafty palm leaves. He doesn't speak much english....but a big smile and a hello, he will understand.
-Roybert in the Japanese restaurant...what an entertainer!!!
-Ronald, Eddie, Rosa-Maria, Ronaldo, Kenia and many more....waiters and bartenders that made our stay so pleasant...they would pick up my 1 year old's sippie cup before I even noticed it was dropped. Freeman got a chocolate cake made up when he found out it was our 3 year old's birthday. I could not have asked for better!!!!

Tipping : We tipped freely. I mean, if I can afford to go on a trip, I can spare a couple of pesos here and there. We tipped drivers, waiters, bartenders, maid...but especially security guards, gardeners who don't get much. Trust me, they make very little and they appreciate anything. We even gave a couple of cans of pop or a pack of gum to nearby workers,guards and gardeners when nobody was watching. You should see them smile!!! And if you can, bring clothes to give away...t-shirts, sandals, baby clothes (many staff members have toddlers and young children), watches, baseballs, baseball caps....all things they will LOVE!!!

Last comment : Enjoy your stay!!! You will feel like royalty. And, take the time to get to know the people of Cuba. Very rewarding!!!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Old review, thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa Canada
1 review
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2005

We have just returned on July 10th from the Paradisus and it was a fantastic vacation. We were 3 adults couples travelling to the resort and the service was excellent. We had made online reservations for the restaurants and upon arrival the bookings were comfirmed. The place is breathtaking. The resort is very clean and the gardening staff always at work ensuring the place is well kept. The quality of food served is excellent with a great variety.
Overall we all had a great time and will not hesitate to go back next year. Our only regret is that we only stayed a week but next year it's 2 weeks for sure since you cannot go wrong with the Paradisus.

If you need more info or would like to see some pictures please email me at pyvesca@yahoo.ca

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Old review, thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa

Address: Playa Esmeralda, Crta Guardalavaca, Holguin 007, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Holguin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Holguin
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Holguin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Bahia de Naranjo Natural Park, in Playa Esmeralda, on the northern coast of Holguin province. Five-Star Ultra All Inclusive Eco-Resort with 354 rooms. Conceived only for adults aged 18 years or more. Maximum comfort and perfection in its private Royal Service area for a fabulous experience in a world apart. Recommended for weddings, honeymoons, incentive trips and wellness/spa.Guest Rooms 354 rooms: 254 Junior Suite, 24 Junior Suite Deluxe, 16 Junior Suite Deluxe Ocean View, 2 Suite Deluxe, 36 Master Junior Suite Royal Service, 14 Master Junior Suite Ocean View Royal Service, 6 Master Junior Suite Luxury Royal Service, 2 Garden Villa Royal Service. Dining: 8 Restaurants (A la Carte, Buffet), 5 Bars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paradisus Rio De Oro Resort And Spa
Paradisus Rio De Oro Hotel Holguin
Paradisus Hotel Guardalavaca
Rio De Oro Paradisus
Paradisus Rio De Oro Cuba
Hotel Paradisus Rio De Oro
Paradisus Rio De Oro Resort & Spa Cuba/Holguin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.