We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most amazing place you will ever visit !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holguin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
Save
You added Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Esmeralda, Crta Guardalavaca, Holguin 007, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Holguin
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The most amazing place you will ever visit !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I visited this resort a few years back and no where have even come close to be as perfect as this resort

I have stayed in other hotels in and around cube ( I'm totally in love with the Cuban people and the island) and this hotel outweighs all of the other hotels by a long shot

I'm booking my return visit to this hotel for the 2nd week of September 2014 with my partner ( a surprise and late birthday present ) I know he will LOVE the hotel and we will have an amazing time and meet some wonderful people.

The food is amazing
The beach is breath taking
Snorkelling is the best ( take some bread or banana from breakfast and take it with you snorkelling the fish go made for it and you will see some amazing species) that was a hint from the breakfast staff.

I can't wait to come back. Wishing it was the 16th sept right now

Book now ,,,, I promise you will not be disappointed

Jody cordon

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Jody Cordon,
Thank you so much for your review and for letting us know that we will have you among us for the 3rd time just next September 16! I am sure that also your partner will definitely fall in love with the place and its people!
Receive warmest regards on behalf of all our staff, who is already looking forward to seeing you again!
Sincerely yours,
Lorenzo Rubio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,609
    597
    195
    66
    26
See reviews for
236
2,436
76
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (751)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Great holiday - thanks to all the Staff but in particular the girls at the restaurant by the pool and also to the General Manager with whom I shared some memories of S'Agaro in Spain and the Food and Beverages Manager who again we shared memories of Palma Nova with. The hotel itself is very clean and the no one need worry about the food - plenty of it and always something for everyone from the freshly cooked omelettes at breakfast to the scrummy pasta and fresh cooked fish. The only one thing I would improve would be the entertainment in the evening - it could be a little more varied. Overall I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: good central location block 37 - not too far from anything
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear linda t,
Thank you so much for your review. I have to say that it was a real pleasure to meet you and to share about memories of S’Agaro, I remembered you as soon as I read your words! Also Carlos was very glad to talk with you, as well as our staff to have you among us and help make your stay so amazing!
We truly hope to see you many more times here in our slice of paradise! Please, do not hesitate to contact us to let us know.
Sincerely yours,
Lorenzo Rubio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This was my first time staying at Paradisus Rio de Oro, actually it was my first time on a actual vacation that wasn't a working one. My mother and I decided to stay here, and had a wonderful time. The beach was amazing and we spent probably about 90% of out time there. The food was good too, we liked that fresh fruit was offered at pretty much every meal and restaurant (we could not get enough of the fruit). Our favourite restaurant was the Japanese one, the atmosphere was light and fun. The chef we had was full of laughter and made the experience enjoyable for everyone at our table. We were both very impressed with the food and beverage manager Carlos and his presence around the resort, often seen working or talking with guest making sure everyone's needs were met. The staff itself as a whole was very friendly and helpful, our maid Elaina was amazing and did a wonderful job with the room everyday. The spa staff was also a 10/10, i recommend to anyone traveling here to spend a day in the spa and its facilities. There is plenty to do if you are looking for activities and excursions, but there is also the option to just sit pool/ocean side and chill as I did. I found Paradisus to provide me with the relaxing week i needed to get back into the swing of my busy lifestyle. I will be a repeat visitor to this resort in the future (my sister is already starting to plan a trip here after i told her about mine) and will also be recommending it to anyone who asks.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Abby C,
Thank you so much for posting your review in TripAdvisor about your recent stay with your mother in Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa. We are so glad to know that you could truly enjoy these holidays, and even more to know that your sister is already planning her stay with us too, as well as you your 2nd one!!! Thank you for recommending us to everyone! Please, if there is anything we can help arrange, we will be more than delighted to do it!
Sincerely yours,
Lorenzo Rubio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Fantastic place to visit in Cuba. Great Beach & Activities, Food & Service 1st Class.Staff are all so professional in making your stay stress free ,nothing is a problem .Adult only Hotel is an Added Bonus.The Resort has beautifully groomed gardens & grounds to walk around and for those who want luxury they have a Royal service in private villas which comes with your own personal butler ,who will do everything for you, from your washing ,ironing & and booking all your Restaurants.Entertainment is brilliant at night, and they also have an on site disco which closes at 2`o clock The 2 day trip to Havana to see the old and new town`s and all it`s history is fantastic, and in the evening you attend the world famous Tropicana Dancing Show.Day 2 more touring the town`s and in the afternoon swimming with the Dolphins In my opinion the best place i have ever visited in the world for the animal welfare .The dolphins are so looked after ,not like some places i have been too. Book this place and see for yourself .

Room Tip: Ask for a garden villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Paskalis and Vickie,
We are so glad to know you had such an amazing time in Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, particularly in one of our Garden Villas! to always remember. We will be looking forward to your news, as we hope to have you back many times in the future.
Sincerely yours,
Lorenzo Rubio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tollesbury
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This is the best place I have EVER EVER been to.
August 2011. We were upgraded to a bungalow on arrival as it was my hubby birthday present - 40th. it was superb. Some of the standard rooms were a little tired but unusual in décor and really clean.
The staff were amazing - nothing was too much trouble. They were unassuming and didn't expect tipping all the time.
The food was excellent the beaches amazing. The entertainment team not toopushy and extremely friendly.
I could go on forever! I cried when we left as everyone was so.oo beautiful inside and out- I did not want to leave

Room Tip: The bungalows are well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear michelle c,

We feel honored to have taken part in making this your best holiday ever!
It is time to have you back and we would really like to have news of your plans in order to arrange for another fabulous stay, please, let us know. Our staff and I will be waiting for you!

Sincerely yours,
Lorenzo Rubio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

WOW! WOW! WOW!
This place is so beautiful and nice you just dont want to go home from it!!!!!
EVERYTHING WAS AWESOME! FOOD variety was huge! food quality was excellent! Service was excellent (although they expected tips everywhere when they served you).
Beach, ocean, resort in general was AWESOME!!!! THE BEST PART IS SNORKELLING area is in this beach and you dont have to go on any excursions to go snorkelling. Stuff was lovely as well!
Rooms were in good shape!
Definitely will come back here again.
Remember: to give out to workers and locals toys, clothes, whatever you have. Go to a local dollar store buy flip flops, shirts, hats, deodorants, watches, whatever they will be more grateful for the stuff then Tips!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Vladmaleev,

We have really enjoyed reading your review about such wonderful holidays in Paradisus Rio de Oro, we feel honored to read that you consider it the best hotel you have enjoyed! Please, give us news as you make plans to come back. We will all be waiting for you!!!!

Sincerely yours,

Lorenzo Rubio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

From the moment we arrived, we felt welcomed. The staff was very friendly and greeted us with a welcome glass of champagne. The only suggestion I would make is to perhaps put an additional staff member on the registration desk to move things along a little quicker, but otherwise it was not too bad and once we got to the desk, the staff was quick and efficient. The resort grounds were beautiful and our room was very clean and in a very good location (building #36) about half way in between the lobby and the pool (but a little closer to the pool and beach area). Our maid Yolangis was lovely, very friendly and greeted us with a smile each morning. She took good care of us by ensuring our room was clean and well stocked each day. It was nice to have beach towels in the room upon arrival. The pool was very nice, clean, with lovely views of the ocean, although it could use a little paint refresh. No problem ever getting a lounge chair in either the sun or shade. The bartenders were great and took good care of us at the swim up bar. The beach was also amazing - clean with beautiful white sand beach. Everyday staff helped us procure loungers under an umbrella and we spent hours in the crystal clear, warm water swimming, looking at all the colourful fish and occasionally feeding them bread. Lots of coral, so great for snorkeling, but also lots of sandy areas for swimming. The food was also very good. The first day we arrived at noon and they were having a pig roast on the beach, which was amazing. We loved the a la cartes - the food and service was very good and we also had no trouble and enjoyed the service and food at the buffet as well. Lots of variety and the wait staff was very friendly. The nightly entertainment was also very well done. The young entertainers worked so hard and were very talented. We enjoyed a couple of water ballet events which were amazing and one night there was a circus, which was very entertaining. We also went to the YHI Spa and enjoyed a very relaxing couples massage by the ocean, which was amazing. The staff took very good care of us and pampered us with drinks and a lunch by the ocean on the deck. Our Sunwing Rep Madeline was also wonderful, answered all of our questions, and helped us connect with our daughter who was on vacation in Holguin at a resort about five minutes away. On a daily basis we would run into Carlos, who seemed to be a customer service manager, and he would greet us warmly and ask us if we were enjoying ourselves and if we needed anything. The extra special touches we received at Paradisus Rio de Oro really made this a special vacation to remember and I would definitely recommend it and go back again. However, I would like to try the Royal Service next time as I heard so many good things about it and perhaps go for nine days in order to really feel relaxed. Thank you Paradisus Rio de Oro for an amazing vacation!

Room Tip: Second floor suites experience less bugs. Corner suites have larger balcony and additional window w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear pellewis25,

We are very glad to read you had such a fabulous stay with us recently, thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers in TripAdvisor. We appreciate your suggestion, and we truly hope to have you back, so please, do not hesitate to let us know as you make plans to repeat your holidays as we will love to help in any arrangements you might need.
Receive our warmest regards, especially from your maid Yolangis, the team of bartenders, of entertainers, Carlos and your Rep. Madelaine. We will all be waiting for you!

Sincerely yours,
Lorenzo Rubio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa

Address: Playa Esmeralda, Crta Guardalavaca, Holguin 007, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Holguin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Holguin
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Holguin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Bahia de Naranjo Natural Park, in Playa Esmeralda, on the northern coast of Holguin province. Five-Star Ultra All Inclusive Eco-Resort with 354 rooms. Conceived only for adults aged 18 years or more. Maximum comfort and perfection in its private Royal Service area for a fabulous experience in a world apart. Recommended for weddings, honeymoons, incentive trips and wellness/spa.Guest Rooms 354 rooms: 254 Junior Suite, 24 Junior Suite Deluxe, 16 Junior Suite Deluxe Ocean View, 2 Suite Deluxe, 36 Master Junior Suite Royal Service, 14 Master Junior Suite Ocean View Royal Service, 6 Master Junior Suite Luxury Royal Service, 2 Garden Villa Royal Service. Dining: 8 Restaurants (A la Carte, Buffet), 5 Bars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paradisus Rio De Oro Resort And Spa
Paradisus Rio De Oro Hotel Holguin
Paradisus Hotel Guardalavaca
Rio De Oro Paradisus
Paradisus Rio De Oro Cuba
Hotel Paradisus Rio De Oro
Paradisus Rio De Oro Resort & Spa Cuba/Holguin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.