We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holguin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
Save
You added Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Esmeralda, Crta Guardalavaca, Holguin 007, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Holguin
kitchener ontario
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We just came back from a wonderful week at the Paradisus de Oro . It was our 4th trip to Cuba, but our 1st trip to Holguin. It didn't start out well, with a 5 hour (strangely unexplainable) delay in our flight, which meant we didn't arrive at the hotel until after 2 am. We were greeted with a swift and friendly check-in and a soothing glass of champagne. We also had a drink at the all-night bar, as well as food and chatted with the always friendly night staff...what a great way to start a vacation!
The room was lovely, a little dated maybe, a few dents in the floor and some deterioration in the bathtub, but large and comfortable, with a huge balcony. However, we spent very little time there, preferring to take in all the sights and sounds that were available...and there were many!
The beach at the Paradisus is beautiful, very clean, and always a chair available. We took advantage of the available watersports, particularly the Hobie Cats...once again, the staff was friendly, courteous and helpful.
Like the beach, the pool area was also clean and lots of deck chairs. Yes, there is a little paint peeling in the pools, but if you have the time to notice and frown at something like that, you really need to visit a wealthier country than Cuba! The bar staff was a lot of fun, and there was always an activity available if you get bored soaking up the sun.
The food...mmmmmm.....in a word, fantastic!!!! Always an amazing selection, always hot and fresh, and lots of options ready to be made right in front of your eyes. This refers to the buffet. We only tried 2 a la cartes, but highly recommend the Japanese restaurant, tons and fun and a great ambience.
We were lucky to link up with one of the wonderful horse and buggy "cowboys", Fidel, that are available at the front of the resort. He took us on 2 excursions to some of the small towns and villages that surround the resort areas as well as an amazing hike to the Indian caves buried deep in the Cuban forest. I would highly recommend this type of adventure, and this particular guide! We also visited an amazing off-site restaurant, one of the many small businesses that have been initiated by Cubans since the rules have loosened. La Maison is well worth the trip!
One of the highlights of our stay was the Beach Party , very well run by the Activity staff at the Paradisus. Nothing quite compares to dancing under the stars, next to the ocean, to an enticing array of authentic Cuban music.
We took this vacation with another couple, all of us in our late 40's-50's. We loved the resort for many reasons, it isn't a huge party spot, but if you are looking for music and fun, it is certainly available. We all fell into our beds each night, pleasantly exhausted from sun, fun and adventure.
I have read some of the other reviews and yes, the resort is aging and needs a little TLC but that is a small issue from my perspective. If you are looking for sumptuous surroundings and being pampered hand and foot, maybe try Hawaii instead of Cuba. We met people who were at the resort for the 14th time and I totally understand why they keep coming back. The staff, the ambience, the food, the energy, and especially the utter beauty that surrounds you keeps people coming back.
And oh yes, I almost forgot, make sure to visit the spa while you stay, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Sandralyn,

We are so grateful for your review in TripAdvisor. As you said our guests ´satisfaction is the most important thing for us. We would like to inform you that we are already making some refurbishment in our Junior Suites ´bathrooms. The swimming pool will be renewed between the 9thJuly to 18thAugust. We feel very happy, because we were responsible for your enjoyment in Paradisus and that is the reason we work for. We would be delighted to have back soon.
Best regards,

Lorenzo Rubió
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,803
    659
    210
    69
    29
See reviews for
252
2,665
80
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (848)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We have just returned from the Paradisus. The best all inclusive hotel we have been to in Cuba, in fact the best one we have been ever to anywhere. The staff were wonderful, nothing was too much trouble for them. The food in the main restaurant was great, only beaten by the food and service in the four speciality restaurants. All branded drinks, none of the poor quality spirits sometimes found. I drink red wine and was often offered the choice of up to four, all Spanish and of good quality. The restaurant by the large pool complex had a full menu not just the usual burgers and pizzas. You could order a variety of snacks and meals delivered to your room 24/7, no extra charge. Lost of little extras during the day and evening, wine and cheese tasting, sushi tasting, hog roast. There is a bar and restaurant on the beach, again not just snacks but a good menu. Lots of professional entertainment, early and late evening. Adult only hotel so quiet and peaceful in the restaurants and pool. Try the sunshine criuse, great day, great value. Cruise on a large catermaran, snorkel on a reef with lots of colourful fish, then swim with the dolphins, free drinks all day and choice of lunch. I choose the lobster and got a whole one !. Went into the market in Guadalavaca in a pink and white 1956 Buick taxi, only 15 cuban return. Spoke to many people during our stay, so many were on repeat visits, did not hear any complaints, just compliments on the service and quality of everything. To sum up our visit it was great and If you go to this hotel and don't like it I suggest you stay in England.

Room Tip: Dont pay for any upgrades before you go, if you want to it is cheaper to do it directly with the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Chris A,

It is a great pleasure for us to know that we made special your holidays in Paradisus Rio de Oro. We are very happy that we accomplished your expectations. We would like to thank your review in TripAdvisor and help other travelers to decide coming to us. Our clients `satisfaction is our priority. We would be delighted to have you back soon.
With very best regards,

Lorenzo Rubió
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Ok, short review. Loved our stay in a Junior Suite in March 2014. Bathroom in room could do with an upgrade (not a fan of clingy shower curtains) and the pool bottom needs painting (planned shortly) but both were clean well maintained. Otherwise Excellent, A1, beautiful grounds, spacious well appointed rooms, plenty to do, great beach, fantastic staff throughout and hugely varied food. You can't go wrong.

The @rse who got upset as his favourite Chilean red wine wasn't available, and the couple who were looking for 'gluten free' bread were probably not impressed.

But we loved it. It's Cuba!

Check out the local culture / economy and you'll see that you are privileged to be here spending your convertibles. Ignore the shower curtain and enjoy!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Laetabi

We appreciate your review in TripAdvisor. As you said our swimming pool is planned to be refurbished from the 9th July to 18th August. As well as our Junior Suites ´bathrooms are being renewed step by step. We have already upgraded more than 50 but still there is work to do. We are also making some changes in our restaurants menus. We are always trying our best to fulfill all of our guest’s requests. We truly hope to welcome you back soon.
Warm regards from Paradisus Rio de Oro,

Lorenzo Rubió
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

As two of the fussiest travellers in the world we were dreading the holiday due to all the adverse reviews, and even considered cancelling just 2 weeks before our departure.

However, we realised right away that the hotel, staff, food, entertainment and the beautifully landscaped grounds were just wonderful.

The food was superb and the choices were unlimited. I had emailed ahead and asked for an upper floor room and the management kindly allocated just that with a renovated bathroom. Everything kept spotlessly clean, apart from the toilets near to the restaurant.

The hotel is tired but they do seem to be doing their best to carry out the necessary refurbishment, and their standards are very high.

Couldn't have asked for more, in spite of all the awful reviews. All the staff at every level were so friendly, helpful and so keen to please the guests. The hotel is lucky to have such a committed team throughout. Everybody asked if we would return and we will certainly be there next year.

One huge problem is the saving of sun beds from 6.30 am on the beach - every nation involved, but mainly Brits! The pool area is even worse where guests claim beds in the sun and then more in the shade. Pathetic!

Our número uno member of staff - Missaledies in the main restaurant.

Go forth and enjoy.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear cleonile1,

We really appreciate your comments in TripAdvisor. They are very use for us. As you said we are already making some renovations in Junior Suites ‘bathrooms. Also the swimming pool will be renewed between July and August. We are very glad that we accomplished your expectations of Paradisus Rio de Oro. The main reason for what our resort staff works is our clients’ satisfaction. The issue with saving sun beds is something that we are dealing with. We have already put signs forbidding reserving sun beds in the pool´s area and also in the beach. Anyways we keep studying some other options to avoid this inconvenience.
We would be delighted to welcome you back soon.
With best regards,

Lorenzo Rubió
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Spent 2 weeks here in January. Thought the hotel is very tired tables at the lobby bar were very sticky and grubby. The rooms are a great size but bathrooms are so old and need repair ASAP I know some have been done ( our shower head wouldn't stay on the bracket and the plug wouldn't stay up) they did came quickly when reported. Won't repeat about the pool but not good

Cuban restaurant was nice and the Japanese but not overly impressed with others buffet was ok but none of the food was hot just warm. Cooking stations were good!

We took a taxi to holguin would recommend this felt a very safe city to walk round and craft items were better than the local craft market near the the hotel.

Some of the staff are very friendly so not so ( same as everywhere ) but on the whole felt a nicer place to visit than Jamaica/ Mexico would go back but unless could guarantee a room that has been renovated would be a different hotel

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Honeybun78,

We appreciate your comments, they are useful to us. I would like to inform you that have already renewed all the furniture in the lobby. We have renovated more than 50 of our Junior Suites´ bathrooms. Our swimming pool would be refurnished between the months of July 9th and August 18th. We are also making some changes in all of our restaurants ´menus. We are always improving ourselves to provide our guests with the best service. We truly hope to welcome you back again and prove you that we take very seriously our clients suggestions and requests.

Sincerely yours,
Lorenzo Rubió
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Returning guests. Travelled to Cuban 7th of March till 21st with Thomas Cook. Our flight was really good and travel staff were friendly and good entertainment on the tv's opn the plane. The seats were comfy with more leg room then the standard flight. Arrived at Paradisus to be greeted with singing, cold facecloths and champagne. We got the room we requested as we emailed before hand. Block 11 is the closest to the lobby and restaurants and has been refurbished. Being close to the lobby bar we thought we would be able to hear some noise, but nothing, which was excellent. The room was fantastic, very nicely decorated. The corner rooms have a wrap around balcony so are a bit bigger. Maids come daily. Beds and pillows are very comfy. The food was great, advise the restaurants. The buffet was also good, with plenty of choice. People who complain about the food have to be really picky. The pool and beach restaurants were excellent. We are quite critical of food, but there was always something nice to eat. Recommend the shrimp and scallops. The house wines were ok, but if you are wanting something much better there is a charge. The netertainment was good, always a show at night, either a pianist or singers on in the day. Aggy and Annabel were very good. Made the day time activities fun. Recommend the archery, also the wednesday trip to Sama de Boca! So glad we did this trip as it gives you a taste of the real cuba, with a trip to the local school, farmers field and fishing village. The hotel have a cuban day ona friday, which involves a spit roast at the beach at 12.30. Very good! The staff in general make the hotel great. All are so friendly! Our special thanks to Manuel, Will and raymundo on the lobby bar who were great, also Yamile in the meditirranean who was very chatty and polite. Service in the restaurants and bar was quick. A little bit slow at breakfast as some tables were dirty, but staff always tried to clear as soon as possible. The beach does have some rocks on, but we did not find these a problem. In fact they were great for snorkelling. Only a few yards into the beach were swarms of fish!! Snorkels are free from the hotel. The spa beach is the best for snorkelling. Scuba diving is also free. The spa is very relaxing with a lovely beach. You can also use the royal service beach for free, but cant use the bar as this is for their guests. The weather was very hot, 30-32 degrees every day, and we didnt have any rain. If a day was cloudy it was always gone by midday. Would definitly return!!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are bigger. Chose block 11 for closeness to lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO_Managment, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear sarah c,

Thank you so much for your comments in TripAdvisor, which are very important and useful for us. We are very glad that you enjoy your stay in Paradisus Rio de Oro. I will personally give your greetings to Aggy ,Annabel, Manuel, Will and Raymundo. We would be very pleased to have you back soon.

With kind regards,

Lorenzo Rubió
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This was our first trip to Cuba and we loved it! The hotel was beautiful, the rooms were clean and well looked after. The hotel is a bit older, but we felt that it was well maintained.

The food was very good, with lots of selection at the buffet. The food was always fresh and delicious. The a la carte restaurants were good, but not outstanding. We preferred the buffet.

We really enjoyed the live music in the evenings. There was often live piano or violin to listen to while enjoying a drink before dinner.

One of the highlights for us was the kindness and helpfulness of the staff. Being looked after by helpful and pleasant staff made us feel completely comfortable and welcome. We did not hesitate to ask for anything and were happily accommodated each time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO_Managment, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Ed E,

We are delighted because we accomplished your expectations of Paradisus Rio de Oro.The main reason we work for is our guests’ satisfaction. Thank you so much for your comments in TripAdvisor and for sharing your experiences with other travelers. We truly hope your first stay with us be the first of many more to come. It would be an enormous pleasure to welcome you back soon and arrange everything for you.
With very best regards,

Lorenzo Rubió
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa

Address: Playa Esmeralda, Crta Guardalavaca, Holguin 007, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Holguin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Holguin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Bahia de Naranjo Natural Park, in Playa Esmeralda, on the northern coast of Holguin province. Five-Star Ultra All Inclusive Eco-Resort with 354 rooms. Conceived only for adults aged 18 years or more. Maximum comfort and perfection in its private Royal Service area for a fabulous experience in a world apart. Recommended for weddings, honeymoons, incentive trips and wellness/spa.Guest Rooms 354 rooms: 254 Junior Suites, 24 Junior Suites Deluxe, 16 Junior Suites Deluxe Ocean View, 2 Suites Deluxe, 36 Master Junior Suites Royal Service, 14 Master Junior Suites Ocean View Royal Service, 6 Master Junior Suites Luxury Royal Service, 2 Garden Villas Royal Service. Dining: 8 Restaurants (A la Carte, Buffet), 5 Bars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paradisus Rio De Oro Resort And Spa
Paradisus Rio De Oro Hotel Holguin
Paradisus Hotel Guardalavaca
Rio De Oro Paradisus
Paradisus Rio De Oro Cuba
Hotel Paradisus Rio De Oro
Paradisus Rio De Oro Resort & Spa Cuba/Holguin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.